Advice for Rim Off Set

Cheongxp

Dear all A32 Sifu,
I need you guy help to advice :
My A32 was VQ2.5 with 1 way LSD Gear Box.

Previously fixed with Taiwan Rim 17 inch x 7.5JJ off set +38 with install Spacer at rear.

I just get myself at Used Rim with 17 inch x 8 JJ Off Set +35 & take out the Spacer at rear side.

Both rim fix with 215 x 50 x 17, I knew for 8JJ 215 series type was a bit small.

My confuse was below now :
1. The road feel was different for this 2 sets of rims, For the new rim I feel not that Solid from front side & road feel was less especial those uneven road.
2. With off set +35 will it damage my front driver shaft & other things ?

It's A32 with 17 inch x 8JJ Off Set +35 was too much ????

Having incorrect offset would only damage your wheel bearings in the loooong run and not immediately. If you slam down the car too low , then your driveshaft would not last especially LSD ones.Yes other vehicle makes do not share this problem but for the A32, the problem is very obvious. (Why? I don't know, Maybe our V6 drivetrain sits very low even fitted with ori springs..).

Bro Sb3,
Thank for you inpurt.
But the way did you think 17 x 8 JJ x +35 Off set was too much for A32 ?
Too much off set will damage my Lower Arm also ?
The feel was not nice now, think switch another rim with off set +42 ~ +38.

Bro Sb3,
Thank for you inpurt.
But the way did you think 17 x 8 JJ x +35 Off set was too much for A32 ?
Too much off set will damage my Lower Arm also ?
The feel was not nice now, think switch another rim with off set +42 ~ +38.
The rule of thumb for ff cars, adviseable dont go for anything less +38. But if your car is fr, you can even go for +28 ! And yes, too much offset be ready to replace the lower arm. Still oklah, secondhand only RM80.00.:biggrin:

Ok , there will be alot of flaming and argument on this issue, so i leave it to you to judge..

Cheers!

SB3.

Bro Sb3,
Thank for you valuable advice.
RM80 look nice, but every 6 month change will die also !!!!!!!!!

Do you think if I arrange alignment job once again with KeeHing/OKR can make it better ?
Somebody also said my new tyre need to run in, later will be better feel.

Looking forward to have T/T session with you guy !!!

Kee Heng /OKR can do a good alignment job. But very long q , bro. Be sure to be there early..

Bro Sb3,
Thank for you advice.
Will try later if feeling still not nice.
Recently drop the tyre pressure with Front 32psi & rear 30psi.
The feeling is better, more grip.

Those tyre simple pump the air so high for what purpose ?
I found the pump the Front with 34psi.

Btw, I got another question at another thread for HID, can you advice me ?

When you guy have T/T at Klang Valley area ???

Bro Sb3,
Thank for you advice.
Will try later if feeling still not nice.
Recently drop the tyre pressure with Front 32psi & rear 30psi.
The feeling is better, more grip.

Those tyre simple pump the air so high for what purpose ?
I found the pump the Front with 34psi.

Btw, I got another question at another thread for HID, can you advice me ?

When you guy have T/T at Klang Valley area ???
HID mmm.... Do not install if your area are full of cops or JPJ coz this (HID) is the 1st item they will disturb you. But very clear vision during the night.

Bro sb3,
KL valley full of cop lah, somemore my car travel a lot !
Any comment about my question about HID ?
Im those want nice but scare front/rear ?
Beside HID any other choice ??
Thank in advance becos all kacau sifu here !!!!

Bro sb3,

put many many hella spotlight :idea:

Aiyo! Paris Dakar Rally kah??:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 06:27 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:18 PM ----------

Bro sb3,
K If you really want to install the HID go for d 4300k ones with yellowish lights instead of White lights. Make sure its H4 , so when you see a road block ahead switch it back to normal head lights (halogens). And to avoid other drivers swearing and cursing at u, its better to install projectors as well, projectors will focus the beams to the roads and not to other ppl's eyes.

Oh yes! Make sure you keep the ballast well hidden. Authorities will 1st look for this item to book you. If they can't find it, they can't book u.

Good day!

SB3.:biggrin:

Bro Sb3,
I install White HID for Sport Light instead of Headlight.
Luckly I did so, because too bright even 4,300 power.

But the way Yellowish HID is more expensive than White HID ?
About how much different for those China Made ?

Btw, my ride alignment lari again, getting serious slide to Left Side, I heard A32 have this problem, but I wonder my ride it's too much ?
I also feel my tyre balancing still not nice enough.

Plan to re-do again either at KeeHing/OKR or Weng Tat/Subang for both alignment & balancing.
Which is best choice ? I heard Kee Hing charge is double than usual. it's real ?
Do you have experience with Weng Tat/Suang ?

One more, my rear screen V-Kool is damage, getting blur & hard to use.
Plan to change new one ?
But i heard even China Screen cost RM300++, Rubber RM300++ & labour RM200.
It's a bomb again !!!

Any suggestion for this ??

Bro Sb3,
I install White HID for Sport Light instead of Headlight.
Luckly I did so, because too bright even 4,300 power.

But the way Yellowish HID is more expensive than White HID ?
About how much different for those China Made ?

Btw, my ride alignment lari again, getting serious slide to Left Side, I heard A32 have this problem, but I wonder my ride it's too much ?
I also feel my tyre balancing still not nice enough.

Plan to re-do again either at KeeHing/OKR or Weng Tat/Subang for both alignment & balancing.
Which is best choice ? I heard Kee Hing charge is double than usual. it's real ?
Do you have experience with Weng Tat/Suang ?

One more, my rear screen V-Kool is damage, getting blur & hard to use.
Plan to change new one ?
But i heard even China Screen cost RM300++, Rubber RM300++ & labour RM200.
It's a bomb again !!!

Any suggestion for this ??

I understood that A32 suffers from Caster mount problem which affects alignment too.
It's not for 100% sure but if you have done all alignment and still the car goes one side, then can look into adjusting the caster mount.
http://www.townfair.com/techpage_5.shtml

Hope this helps..

Thank for you input Bro dream tent,
Yesterday sent for alignment & balancing for front wheel with Weng Tat Subang.
Before their start the work i explain them my problem & rim offset problem with them.

Their listen patient & advice me with countermeasure.

Alignment & balancing job carry by Weng Tat boss instead of him son.
Test drive twice to verify the problem.

So far result is ok for me, but Cefiro Bad habbit slight to left still have, but minor.
I believed them adjust something at my lower arm, now feel the grip is much better & the steering feel nice/solid.

But 1 thing i not satisfy was I changed new tyre at Sunway just about 2.5 weeks ago, when out from shop i already feel the alignment & balancing didn't perfect, but just not bother so much.
Yesterday check by Weng Tat, both balancing have out by 1.5 & 2.0.
Alignment also very serious.

During this period i'm sure drive carefully not hinting the hole or heavy corner.

Will carry on careful for next 2 week monitor after done by Weng Tat will happen same or not.
If remain same, again big headache for me.

The alignment part is quite true . A32 alignment will run towards the left after some time. But it is not impossible to get the alignment correctly done by a skill tech. But it will take patients to retest vehicle a couple of times and walaaah! It will run straighter than laser beam. And yes you need to pay a little bit more for a good alignment job.

I can't comment on the v-kool coz i don't use em (too expensive). But its been 5 years already, I ve been using the cheaper tint , so called USA film , no prob with it.

Yellowish HID cost more because ppl think that they won't get caught by authorities. Wrong! Nowadays the authorities themselves are also car enthusiast, hence they know what u are up to.

The only difference between the cina and the Mat Salleh HID is the price and quality. Just think of DVD player between chinese and Mat salleh.

Hope this will help you to decide on the mods you are planning to do..