Need advice - Wira SE change exhaust system

archsaviour

Dear Sifus,

Please give me your advice on the situation below:-

I'm driving a Wira SE 2005 original settings. Recently, my muffler has eroded and when I sent it for inspection, they tell me that even my mid-box/silencer needs to be replaced. (I also got a 2nd opinion to verify this)

My main priority/intention is to upgrade the exhaust system to maximise my engine’s potential legally. Also, I’ve always been fascinated by cars with 2 mufflers and was wondering if it’s possible without reducing the performance.

I just dropped by JFA at Sunway today to get some advice and the boss advised me gave me the following 2 options:-

A RM1230
– Keep the extractor
– Remove the Cat. Convertor
– Change all piping to 2” stainless steel. RM500
– Change the mid box/silencer to a 12” stainless steel oval one with “teeth” in it RM250
– Change the muffler to a stainless steel full sized straight flow RM480

B RM1510
– Keep the extractor
– Remove the Cat. Convertor
– Change all piping to 2” stainless steel, split it after the silencer into 2. RM700
– Change the mid box/silencer to a 12” stainless steel oval one with “teeth” in it RM250
– 2 stainless steel small sized straight mufflers. RM 280 x 2 = RM560

My thoughts are:
1. Is 2” really the optimum size for the piping? (currently I believe it’s 1.6/7”)
2. Should I change my extractors as well to achieve maximum effect? It comes in the 4-2-1 configuration already albeit is just normal steel.
3. Will having 2 mufflers have a negative impact on my car?
4. Is there any ways for calculating the optimal pressure for my engine(4G15)?
5. Please don’t advice me to change car or engine. :adore:

• P1030366.jpg
    P1030366.jpg
    42.6 KB · Views: 626
  • P1030367.jpg
    P1030367.jpg
    55.3 KB · Views: 1,096
Today, I visited another shop in Cheras. He recommended the setup below:

- Remove Cat convertor
- Change piping from extractor to mid-box to 2”
- Change mid-box to a bullet shaped one
- Leave the original piping from mid-box to muffler (1.6”)
- Change to full sized, straight flow muffler.

Sifus, any advice?:confused:

my advice is ...extractor and piping stay stock ..remove cat con ...change to a straight flow muffler ...stock diameter piping is sufficient enuff for stock car ..2" piping will only make your car noisier and suffer at low end..only helps you in top speed but meter cruising slow ..whats the point..and its a wira se piping ..you dont want ..you sell it to me ..its a mandrel bent piping ..wira se extractor ..mandrel bent extractor ...better than those cap ayam 4-2-1 extractors out there ...unless you get hotbits extractor ...

Thanks for your advice,:adore: I just came back from hotbits after reading your comment and they advised me to change the whole system including the extractor for RM 1180, it basically includes:-

1. Stainless steel extractor 4-2-1
2. Bullet mid box – mill steel
3. Full sized straight flow muffler – mill steel
4. 1.75” piping all the way – mill steel
5. All mill steel parts will have some form of heat coating (not sure if it’s ceramic coating) but not the extractor:confused:

When asked for a customized set(ie. To change all parts to stainless steel/ keep extractor and piping), he was quite reluctant to quote saying it’s not worth it. Not too sure if this set-up is worth it.:stupid:

Do you have any other brands/workshops to recommend? Preferably can do mandrel bending as you mentioned. Thanks!:love:

for that price, must as well go for hotbits exhaust system.

Thanks for your advice,:adore: I just came back from hotbits after reading your comment and they advised me to change the whole system including the extractor for RM 1180, it basically includes:-

1. Stainless steel extractor 4-2-1
2. Bullet mid box – mill steel
3. Full sized straight flow muffler – mill steel
4. 1.75” piping all the way – mill steel
5. All mill steel parts will have some form of heat coating (not sure if it’s ceramic coating) but not the extractor:confused:

When asked for a customized set(ie. To change all parts to stainless steel/ keep extractor and piping), he was quite reluctant to quote saying it’s not worth it. Not too sure if this set-up is worth it.:stupid:

Do you have any other brands/workshops to recommend? Preferably can do mandrel bending as you mentioned. Thanks!:love:
Contact Drexchan or khguan from EA Autoworks for the Hotbits stuff.

2" is a bit overkill for stock WiraSE (assuming manual). 1.75" apparently is ideal. Keep the header, remove the cat, use a big resonator instead of a 'bullet' and use a straightflow and hopefully you'll get a good setup minus all the bloody irritating noise.

Contact Drexchan or khguan from EA Autoworks for the Hotbits stuff.

2" is a bit overkill for stock WiraSE (assuming manual). 1.75" apparently is ideal. Keep the header, remove the cat, use a big resonator instead of a 'bullet' and use a straightflow and hopefully you'll get a good setup minus all the bloody irritating noise.

Thanks, I'll check them out tomorrow! :)