VVT Pulley

sorry as i'm quite busy...
thanks chin for further explaining on this...

tapi kalu setting cun, it's better without VVT...
definitely vtec killer...:hmmmm:

bro chinozie, can pls pm me service details as well? I need to service liao!!

sorry as i'm quite busy...
thanks chin for further explaining on this...

tapi kalu setting cun, it's better without VVT...
definitely vtec killer...:hmmmm:

I am having trouble understanding your speach but are you saying you think it's better to not have VVT?

Bro chinozie sorry for misunderstanding. I meant where can i service it hehehe

hi sifu,
may i know within klang valley have any expert expert foreman for service this VVT pully because right now i tries to search within my location. but nobody know to service this VVT pully.haiz

and somemore, normally what are component need to prepare for service this VVT? i meant got any changing part? or just open "cuci" the VVT pully?

Keep your VVT if your engine is stock and if ur using stock ecu...it's better...if remove,u'll get lousy fuel consumption and part throttle response,also slight poor idle...

The mechanic a bit low profile, don't want his number to be published...requested by him...
but he's well known among Toyotarian, especially 20Valvers...

Anything...PM me..i'll give you the details...

any1 interested BT 20v vvt pulley ?
i have 1 extra up for grap
taken off halfcut
mint condition

meg_omen,
how comes to setting the 20valve without using the VVT? do u have any detail? have anything part need to prepare it? do u have set it before?

it's all depends on your usage...:hmmmm:
coz VVT actually to give better drive at low rpm, it's normally closed around 6800-7000rpm...
some people in http://clubae111.com/ disable it even while using stock cams...

you need adjustable intake cam pulley, then just unplug the VVT selenoid wire connector...

ps... VVT light seller will advise you otherwise...:love:

i think the VVT is to increase torque.. right?

if u disable it, torque would be lower..

so, not good for daily driving on normal road..

simple solution is this :

if u always rev around 2-5k rpm, u need the VVT..

if u always rev around 6-8k rpm, u dont need it..

Gudluck :burnout:

To be exact, VVT helps a lot in the lower rev range as the 20v was originally designed to have poor low rev torque. With VVT, it improves driveability and saves fuel as well due to increased intake timing when VVT kicks in. Unless if you're using hicams over 272 duration, there's no need to remove VVT unless you totally cant take the "diesel noise" anymore =)

Its best to retain VVT since one of the main feature of 20V is its VVT and Toyota spent tons of money doing R&D for the 20V. Luckily, for us in malaysia we get the choice to get it serviced professionally. Just so you know, VVT pulley is a wear & tear part which needs to be replaced over time & mileage.

does anyone of you 20v enthusiast know whether the VVT pulley can be serviced?? Or is it just a one time use item and must be changed to new one???

Yes ...it can be service...
go to previous page...I've put some information there...

Is my vvt pulley need to be service or kong already? Coz I notice when vvt kick at low range RPM (below 3.5K), the engine behave like choking, Instead of giving more output when vvt kick, if feel like it give lower engine power.

Then I disconnect OCV socket so that no more choking feels. Today, I've carried out few trouble shooting.
1-Connect OCV direct to battery and start engine --> VVT kick all the time but idling very bad. Idling drop to 500 rpm and battery voltage also fluctuated.
2-Dismantle OCV and wire direct to battery and start the engine (OCV port blocked to prevent oil leak)
-->OCV engage,vvt not kick and normal idling.

Is it this problem came from vvt pulley?
Did oil pressure give effect to vvt operation?