How fast is Caldina GT4 ?

Hi har1th7

May I know are you driving GT-4 or ZT version. Your Caldina seem to be very Fuel Save.

I also would like to know any problems that you pumping RON95 in your Caldina?

My GT-4 Full Tank can last until 450 or 480 with RON97.

mine is gt4... and with ron95, i don't boost alot, just city driving (rpm 3k and below)... just sometimes when going back LPT, then i'll fill up ron 97...

try to make it clear...

Top speed is determine by the ratio of your gearbox....
the power of your engine shows how fast you can reach it....

It's a simple question, bro. Is the top speed of the Caldina GT4 210 km/h ? Aiyor, What's with the rocket science explanation ? Either yes, it's true or I don't know; like BE5RSK said, his is 180 km/h still with the speed cut intact.

Nop... Top speed is 250 - 260 kmh...

Quote:
Originally Posted by har1th7
Nop... Top speed is 250 - 260 kmh...
Wow, that's fast...

No offence but I think that is more of an estimation than an actual fact. Har1th7, is that the top speed you personally tried on your car ? Just to clarify.

mine is gt4... and with ron95, i don't boost alot, just city driving (rpm 3k and below)... just sometimes when going back LPT, then i'll fill up ron 97...

Do you encounter any issue on the engine, since you are using RON95? I heard some people said the engine will encounter issue for long run and some people mentioned that stock engine should not be any issue.

260hp with a 4wd 4spd autobox will feel more like 200hp. Plus, Toyota always over rates their engine based on the crank HP, or perhaps that was with RON100.
Well, the Rocco should smoke Caldina easily thanks to its super fast DSG and TSI, but do take note that the Rocco (despite its 2 door nature) also weighs in about 1400kg. With that being said, a stock FD2R should smoke Rocco as VW claims the Rocco takes 6.9s from 0-100km/h. FYI, stock FD2R takes about 6.3s to 100km/h.

So if your 2.0 NA makes out to about 190whp in a lightweight chassis and close ratio gearbox (6spd maybe), I think you can give a run for their money =)
Perhaps this is why ppl always say "NA is better!"

...just my 2cents

260hp with a 4wd 4spd autobox will feel more like 200hp. Plus, Toyota always over rates their engine based on the crank HP, or perhaps that was with RON100.
Well, the Rocco should smoke Caldina easily thanks to its super fast DSG and TSI, but do take note that the Rocco (despite its 2 door nature) also weighs in about 1400kg. With that being said, a stock FD2R should smoke Rocco as VW claims the Rocco takes 6.9s from 0-100km/h. FYI, stock FD2R takes about 6.3s to 100km/h.

So if your 2.0 NA makes out to about 190whp in a lightweight chassis and close ratio gearbox (6spd maybe), I think you can give a run for their money =)
Perhaps this is why ppl always say "NA is better!"

...just my 2cents

I'll have 1 of those, please. :laugh: Can anyone help me to transfer the BT's 6 speed internals into the 3S g/box housing please ? I'd be a very happy man if that could be done :driver:

Heavy car,stock turbo,auto box = no fun..hehe
Light car,8000rpm N/A,6spd manual...= fun...

No la, I think the Caldina is still a nice car, it's just not an extreme kind of car. It's more focus towards the family man who thinks that the average car is too tame. So the Caldina should be just nice for that duty. It's not meant for Hot Version Touge Battle contender mar..

No la, I think the Caldina is still a nice car, it's just an extreme kind of car. It's more focus towards the family man who thinks that the average car is too tame. So the Caldina should be just nice for that duty. It's not meant for Hot Version Touge Battle contender mar..

Correct!

That's the main reason I bought Caldina...
I need 4 doors, comfortable ride for my family, some spacious of luggage area, stylish design, and some "adequate" power for cruising and naughty time. Unfortunately, GT4 is only in autobox. If they had manual version, I really dont have anything to complaint :proud:

That's the main reason I bought Caldina...
I need 4 doors, comfortable ride for my family, some spacious of luggage area, stylish design, and some "adequate" power for cruising and naughty time. Unfortunately, GT4 is only in autobox. If they had manual version, I really dont have anything to complaint :proud:

I'd suggest you get yourself a piggyback ECU to make yr baby more lively (improve response). No point going for major mod coz being auto trans. The g/box even if it can take the extra horsies, it won't last very long,

That's why I also added an e-manage to my wife's BT auto for better response. Actually I I do enjoy driving the auto, now more responsive with the piggyback.

Worth giving it some consideration, bro.

I'd suggest you get yourself a piggyback ECU to make yr baby more lively (improve response). No point going for major mod coz being auto trans. The g/box even if it can take the extra horsies, it won't last very long,

That's why I also added an e-manage to my wife's BT auto for better response. Actually I I do enjoy driving the auto, now more responsive with the piggyback.

Worth giving it some consideration, bro.

Thanks for the "poison" bro.. :nurse:
Anyway, for the time being, I would let it stock as it is. Furthermore, this is my wife workhorse :biggrin:
Don't want to start "cuit sana cuit sini", later on merebak... That's why that depression speed cut still intact.

All my adrenaline would be channeled out via my Accord only. That's enough already. :adore:

My personal opinion based on my frens caldina is that the car stock horsepower is 260 low boost but after putting emanage the power increased to 300hp on high boost @1.2bar, but that is enough to follow and cut a subaru impreza on a highway. :proud:

Wow, impressive but I think no need to go so high boost la, maybe 1 bar max should be quite nice to drive already. So high boost, g/box also very fast bye-bye leh coz auto pulling 4WD some more...afraid won't last.

300 hp on wheel or crank ?

i'm driving 1st gen caldina with 2nd gen engine...manual turbo 4wd....4wd on dyno loss more than ff.....around 30% loss, ff around 20% loss on wheel. and 4wd heavier coz bigger gb,long shaft & rer axle..... mine engine is also rated t 260hp

I tested my caldina with extra 100kg load at the back with 2drs AE111 levin 6sp. i start to pull away from AE111 at 1st gear....in my car i dun feel the power coz of 4wd n heavy car....

Caldinas are quite versatile. Had a ST246W, used it for trackday, touge, gymkhana, carry tyres to events (with the rear seat folded it can fit 8pcs of 255/40/17s) and even brought it sideways. Hehehe.

Not meant to be driven really hard though. Blew 2 automatic transmission in 3 years time even with ATF cooler installed. Engine is stock standard, only brakes and suspension upgrade. If the driver is hardcore, it's good enough to kick some ass. With speed limiter removed it went up to 240+kmh.

Tom's Caldina is an antique. Muahahaha. :adore: