New Honda user here

ddv_nk12

Hello everyone, as the title above, i hv got an integra db8 that i bought recently. its totally different than my 2nd gen accord. so i am very lost. need lots of help here. firstly, on the grant, no changes to the engine. but i was told that the engine block is b20 and head is b16. how can i verify this? i believe there should be the engine code somewhere. where can i look for it without too much problems? next, i was also told its a lsd gearbox. how to confirm? i know some honda lsd gb has LSD stamped on the gb such as the S80. mine does not have that. but if i am not wrong there r also some honda lsd gb without the stamp. how do i check for this. if i were to service the car, what type of engine oil would it be suitable. prefer a semi synthetic one. but need to know the brand and also the specs. is it 5w40 or 20w50. u know those figures.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi.. Engine code and gearbox code locations as per the pics.. but this is US model.. think should be same or similar.. :hmmmm:

• identification1.jpg
    identification1.jpg
    81.3 KB · Views: 134
  • identification2.jpg
    identification2.jpg
    58.7 KB · Views: 136
if on the grant theres no changes to the engine, then most likely the B20 block has had B18C stamped on it (to follow the geran and to keep the current road tax)...JPJ would call this "tempering" but i wouldnt worry too much about it.

the location of the engine number is very easy.. stand in front of ur car.. open the hood... and look right to the LEFT of ur extractor.

there is a way to visually verify the B20 block against other B series block.. but hard to explain.. its something to show.

easiest way to verify LSD.... jack up the front of the car, make sure both tires are off the ground. make sure gear is in neutral. spin the tires (same direction as if the car is moving forward) if one side tire moving..no LSD.. if both tires moving means LSD.

as for servicing the car, engine oil is up to u and ur preference..,. for me i always use fully synthetic. currently on Q8. but in 1.2k kms more.. might try the Honda fully synthetic which is 5W/40 or mebbe the Cusco fully synthetic which is is also 5W/40

easiest way to verify LSD.... jack up the front of the car, make sure both tires are off the ground. make sure gear is in neutral. spin the tires (same direction as if the car is moving forward) if one side tire moving..no LSD.. if both tires moving means LSD.

the above may refer to LSD on the stock EG6/EG9/EK4.... but for Type R (EK9 or DC2R), the LSD is based on torque....mean cannot verify by the above method....

p/s: correct me if i am wrong... tq

Hi.. Engine code and gearbox code locations as per the pics.. but this is US model.. think should be same or similar.. :hmmmm:

Thanks bro. I also managed to get this owner's manual from the net. But i dont know which is the gearbox code. Btw, what integra are you using?

---------- Post added at 11:00 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:47 PM ----------

if on the grant theres no changes to the engine, then most likely the B20 block has had B18C stamped on it (to follow the geran and to keep the current road tax)...JPJ would call this "tempering" but i wouldnt worry too much about it.

the location of the engine number is very easy.. stand in front of ur car.. open the hood... and look right to the LEFT of ur extractor.

there is a way to visually verify the B20 block against other B series block.. but hard to explain.. its something to show.

as for servicing the car, engine oil is up to u and ur preference..,. for me i always use fully synthetic. currently on Q8. but in 1.2k kms more.. might try the Honda fully synthetic which is 5W/40 or mebbe the Cusco fully synthetic which is is also 5W/40

Hello madman,

u were saying that u wouldnt worry too much bout the tempering rite? may i know why is that so and also what could happen if i get caught? or is there any chance of me getting caught? yes i paid for 1.8 r/tax. but to be safe, is there anyway i can register with jpj bout my engine transplant?

i checked my grant and the engine code as u told me, it was the same. so there r 2 possibilitites. 1st the engine was tempered or 2nd, the engine was not changed. can i say that? just for confirmation, i took my car to a w/shop to verify the engine. he told me its a b20 block with b16 head. meaning that the chances of it being tempered is higher.

bout the lsd, i still cant confirm anything. the same foreman i met earlier said its hard to say. he needs to open it up to check. i dont know bout this, but i find it a little ridiculous to open up the gb to check whether or not its lsd. i even tried jacking my car at home just now. but unfortunately my jack couldnt go high enough to lift both tyres.

is there any way i can tell if its lsd by driving?

---------- Post added at 11:03 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:00 PM ----------

the above may refer to LSD on the stock EG6/EG9/EK4.... but for Type R (EK9 or DC2R), the LSD is based on torque....mean cannot verify by the above method....

p/s: correct me if i am wrong... tq

i really wouldnt know this. i hope others can give some feedback on this. thanks

nice vid.. good info. so this proves that helical lsd or ctr or itr gb is based on torque.

i found out that helical lsd is easily identified. honda has stamped lsd on the gearbox itself. meaning that mine is not a helical lsd because i dont see anything stamped on my gearbox. unless i am not looking at the right place? its supposed to be able to be seen when u r standing in front of the car near where the gb meets the block rite?

Hello madman,

u were saying that u wouldnt worry too much bout the tempering rite? may i know why is that so and also what could happen if i get caught? or is there any chance of me getting caught? yes i paid for 1.8 r/tax. but to be safe, is there anyway i can register with jpj bout my engine transplant?

i checked my grant and the engine code as u told me, it was the same. so there r 2 possibilitites. 1st the engine was tempered or 2nd, the engine was not changed. can i say that? just for confirmation, i took my car to a w/shop to verify the engine. he told me its a b20 block with b16 head. meaning that the chances of it being tempered is higher.

bout the lsd, i still cant confirm anything. the same foreman i met earlier said its hard to say. he needs to open it up to check. i dont know bout this, but i find it a little ridiculous to open up the gb to check whether or not its lsd. i even tried jacking my car at home just now. but unfortunately my jack couldnt go high enough to lift both tyres.

is there any way i can tell if its lsd by driving?

no need to worry coz in order for them to test the engine code they need some to use some form of chemical if i remember correctly.. and i doubt theyll bring it to roadblocks etc. also the B18C and B20B block looks very similar and most people dont know how to differentiate them. there are even hardcore honda kakis who wouldnt know how to differentiate them just by looking at it. like i said earlier, theres a way to tell...but hard to explain here.

unfortunately ur current block is not able to make 100% legal anymore coz its already been tempered with...if u want, ur gonna have to buy another block, with all the proper paper work and install that new block and register it. of course...dont temper with the engine number of the newly bought block la

for the LSD, yeah, some stamped and some arent. even my old car had LSD gearbox but no stamping on it. if u can jack it up one day, try and do the test i recommended. but like the post above. its only for the normal stock non-type r b series (not sure about this though)

or if u dare.. jack both wheels up...start the car.. put in first and JALAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANNNN...haahahhaha

bro DDV,

on the block b18 vs b20...b18 will have something call rib cages if im nt mistaken.. and a b20 would not have...now that the change name process is alr completed with a b20 block...just leave as it is...don worry like bro madman said...there are TONS of ppl that have done it with no issues even at roadblocks and inspections... so relax bro... you don wanna be doing a b20 inspection only to let ur car fail and worst start paing2L roadtax...

if you want me to confirm your block if its a 2l you can just snap photo of the block but make sure to take from the side abit cause ur extractor will be blocking. but if ur mech had a view and confirmed alr ...i think you should be ok la..

its gonna cost a bomb to if i have to change the block. honda parts are extremely expensive compared to toyota and nissan. i'd rather use it as it is first since i've already spent quite a lot purchasing the car.

i guess i will need to check the lsd when i visit my foreman next. need to borrow their jack. haha. have to be patient till then. i dont dare jacking both wheels and try jalan la bro. dont know whats the outcome but correct me if i m wrong. it will be the same right? if its lsd both wheels will spin the same direction at the same time?

since its a newly acquired car, being a used car, being modified. are there anything i need to do for now? like check this n that just to ensure that i dont face bigger problems in the future?

i have 2 trusted foreman. one is in my hometown and the other is where i work now. both of these men are old, probably in the 60+s. i prefer to see them because they are honest, experienced and good at their work. i like them more compared to younger foremen because of the car i have, the 2nd gen accord. most foremen, the younger ones especially, will screw up the car. they think its a new car and apply their ne car knowledge to it and i dont get the result i want. and also if a part is spoilt, they ask to change the whole thing. whereas, these old men, have the patience to open the parts and fix whats wrong.

but what do u think? are these old men still the better choice for my db8? i mean do u think they can attend to my car's needs without asking demoding everything that has been done and thus, bringing my car's performance down? or should i just go to a young, so called vtec expert to fix my car?

another thing, i think i m using dc2 type r dashboard. if any dc2 users here are familiar with it, u will see a round button "TCS" on the right hand side of the steering wheel. any idea whats that? tried pressing but no difference.

---------- Post added at 10:26 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:45 AM ----------

bro DDV,

on the block b18 vs b20...b18 will have something call rib cages if im nt mistaken.. and a b20 would not have...now that the change name process is alr completed with a b20 block...just leave as it is...don worry like bro madman said...there are TONS of ppl that have done it with no issues even at roadblocks and inspections... so relax bro... you don wanna be doing a b20 inspection only to let ur car fail and worst start paing2L roadtax...

if you want me to confirm your block if its a 2l you can just snap photo of the block but make sure to take from the side abit cause ur extractor will be blocking. but if ur mech had a view and confirmed alr ...i think you should be ok la..

thanks for the help u offered bro. i will snap a few pics to let u check just to confirm.

As the torsion lsd try to rembat the car, during the gear shifting let us say 1 to 2 you could feel strong vibration if you have the lsd.

on the block b18 vs b20...b18 will have something call rib cages if im nt mistaken.. and a b20 would not have...

yeah this is the diff i was talking about but not sure how to explain in words.. easier to show.

B20 will have 1 rib missing.

and seriously..no worry... my car is B20 with B16A stamped on it which was done by the ex-owner... even passed puspakom check when i was buying the car ehehehhehehe

yeah this is the diff i was talking about but not sure how to explain in words.. easier to show.

and seriously..no worry... my car is B20 with B16A stamped on it which was done by the ex-owner... even passed puspakom check when i was buying the car ehehehhehehe

Hehehe yup..

its gonna cost a bomb to if i have to change the block. honda parts are extremely expensive compared to toyota and nissan. i'd rather use it as it is first since i've already spent quite a lot purchasing the car.

i guess i will need to check the lsd when i visit my foreman next. need to borrow their jack. haha. have to be patient till then. i dont dare jacking both wheels and try jalan la bro. dont know whats the outcome but correct me if i m wrong. it will be the same right? if its lsd both wheels will spin the same direction at the same time?

since its a newly acquired car, being a used car, being modified. are there anything i need to do for now? like check this n that just to ensure that i dont face bigger problems in the future?

i have 2 trusted foreman. one is in my hometown and the other is where i work now. both of these men are old, probably in the 60+s. i prefer to see them because they are honest, experienced and good at their work. i like them more compared to younger foremen because of the car i have, the 2nd gen accord. most foremen, the younger ones especially, will screw up the car. they think its a new car and apply their ne car knowledge to it and i dont get the result i want. and also if a part is spoilt, they ask to change the whole thing. whereas, these old men, have the patience to open the parts and fix whats wrong.

but what do u think? are these old men still the better choice for my db8? i mean do u think they can attend to my car's needs without asking demoding everything that has been done and thus, bringing my car's performance down? or should i just go to a young, so called vtec expert to fix my car?

another thing, i think i m using dc2 type r dashboard. if any dc2 users here are familiar with it, u will see a round button "TCS" on the right hand side of the steering wheel. any idea whats that? tried pressing but no difference.

---------- Post added at 10:26 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:45 AM ----------

thanks for the help u offered bro. i will snap a few pics to let u check just to confirm.

No worries bro. And about the mechs.. My honest opinion doesn't matter the age .. Most important is experience.. As long as he has been around bseries he should be good... For fixing.. But when comes to modding ah bro.. They might not be too familiar bro.. So it really depends la.. On what u planning to do or check..

As the torsion lsd try to rembat the car, during the gear shifting let us say 1 to 2 you could feel strong vibration if you have the lsd.

strong vibration from where? the dashboard.... shifting @ RPM 8200??? :-)

mind to tell where i will feel the strong vibration? i need detailed explanation cuz i m still learning...

---------- Post added at 10:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:31 PM ----------

mine also passed puspakom when i sent it for inspection b4 buying it. mind to share whats ur ride?

---------- Post added at 10:38 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:33 PM ----------

Hehehe yup..

No worries bro. And about the mechs.. My honest opinion doesn't matter the age .. Most important is experience.. As long as he has been around bseries he should be good... For fixing.. But when comes to modding ah bro.. They might not be too familiar bro.. So it really depends la.. On what u planning to do or check..

bro, u r in rosmerah? i m so near u. i should just pay u a visit. maybe u can advice me on this ride and check if its really a b20 block. for free? can ah? haha. maybe u can tune my car in future to make it like the one i saw in ur blog. n i can also test power at pasir gudang track with u all. lol..

---------- Post added at 10:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:38 PM ----------

Thanks bro. I also managed to get this owner's manual from the net. But i dont know which is the gearbox code. Btw, what integra are you using?

I am using a 4 door teg also but it is a DB6.. now it is in workshop.. :bawling:

oo.. so what r u doing for ur ride now? maybe i can copy u a little.

mine is an EG Hatch bro...which i bought from a friend's friend in JB

and the ex-owner of my car also did some work at XH Racing before....i got XH Sticker on my windscreen hehehehhe

nice ride bro. my childhood dream car. wanted to get it but had to give in for my db8 cuz thats a 3 door car. leceh for someone like me with family n stuff. haha. what do u think of this shop? i seriously need some more power for my car. hahaha.

mind to tell where i will feel the strong vibration? i need detailed explanation cuz i m still learning...

---------- Post added at 10:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:31 PM ----------

mine also passed puspakom when i sent it for inspection b4 buying it. mind to share whats ur ride?

---------- Post added at 10:38 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:33 PM ----------

bro, u r in rosmerah? i m so near u. i should just pay u a visit. maybe u can advice me on this ride and check if its really a b20 block. for free? can ah? haha. maybe u can tune my car in future to make it like the one i saw in ur blog. n i can also test power at pasir gudang track with u all. lol..

---------- Post added at 10:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:38 PM ----------

oo.. so what r u doing for ur ride now? maybe i can copy u a little.

Hi bro,

Of course.. You can come over to check FOC.. didn't know u were located in jb.. If not would have offered at the beginning... Come over.. Look for the boss Ah Tiong, say u r Ah Dev friend.. Tell and ask him what u need.. We even open on Sunday. Will be happy to have another teg in the family

mine is an EG Hatch bro...which i bought from a friend's friend in JB

and the ex-owner of my car also did some work at XH Racing before....i got XH Sticker on my windscreen hehehehhe

Hehehehehe yup.. This car is a monster....

nice ride bro. my childhood dream car. wanted to get it but had to give in for my db8 cuz thats a 3 door car. leceh for someone like me with family n stuff. haha. what do u think of this shop? i seriously need some more power for my car. hahaha.

i cant comment on XH bro coz ive never been there before...im actually in KL.

ex-owner of my car did the car at XH and Tung Chun.

Hehehehehe yup.. This car is a monster....

no more monster la bro... all the go fast bits taken out when i bought the car. now car is stock liao.

eh bro... the sideplant exhaust on my car XH did right?