Half Cut from HV racing in Johor JAya

thanks for the advice bro. thinking bout it and i actually realised that what u said is really true and its the best thing to do. maybe a llittle advice from u would help me. i currently have a b20 block and b16 head. so i dont intend to do anymore swaps. i just want to work out something from here. what would u suggest? about the 3 shops i mentioned. i have never been to any of them. just surveyed the net n found them to be near where i live. i dont know how good they are. i m sorry for giving u an impression that xh is on par with the other two. i must have put it wrongly. had any encounters with any of them? any recommendation?

Hi Calvin, what is the advantage of B20B? I don't quite like the idea of hybrid like B16 head with B20 block; i like to be able to buy / source for spares easily... hybrid gives me the impression of spare parts confusion....(had problem even getting ori parts from spare part shop....) :)

Your advise of not getting the entire half cut is good, I want to use my EG dash and most interior parts....

The radiator from B18C Type R is not suitable to be used on EG? that's the example of points and things I would like to find out prior the starts of the project :) Thanx

my rought plan is to have the B18C then convert the interior as close to EG6 as possible, especially like the ori EG6 trunk (fish tank, someone calls it..... :))

ohh yeah... can I have the address for XH, Tung Chun and T power..

bro ddv and x363... i dun really hav experience wif vtec la... playing mitsu engine....

to answer bro ddv... perhaps u can drop by tungchun... i had 2 frens playing b20b last time... on on a EG 2 door... another on a EK4 door... from wat they told me.... stock b20 block wif pistons... head with some work on it.... running type-r cams... n a bit here n there.... using VAFC for tuning only.... never really run wif the EG before... run wif the EK in pasir gudang before... cant catch him wif my 4g63.... his car jump off the starting line n hav 1 car lead.... n all the way till finish line.... btw... both cars hav gear ratio.... n both cars did in tungchun....
lets say u edi hav the block n head done... if following my fren's recipe... would b type r cams, skunk2 intake, s90 throttle body, gear ratio (the car just pull pull pull n PULL from 1st till 4th... never drop out of vtec range!!!)... guess dat's abt it....

for bro x363... i intro my fren to convert b18cr at my mech place... his car was an EG8 auto... total transplant cost with halfcut is around 12k... n dat's abt 1.5yrs back.....
from wat i see... the b20 block wif b16 head hybrid is pretty straightforward n these tuning house had done lots of them... they hav the experience la.... somemore the parts for b series engine are all inter-usable wat....
basically, like i mentioned earlier... the only thing u can use from the b18cr halfcut r the engine+ecu+gearbox+shifer+brakes+suspension... radiator confirm cannot (u'd change to aluminium oso la)... dash will go to the dustbin as its not a hot item dat ppl will source for....
the oni diff between this 2 engine dat i know off is.... b18cr is more rev friendly as compared to the b20 hybrid... but the b20 is a torque machine... i got a feeling my 4g63 boosting at 1bar oso dun hav such torque....

sorry dat i dun hav their address.... perhaps u can try searchin online la....
HV n TungChun hav establish themselves in JB tuning scene la... but HV now u can see more n more sg cars there... evos n subarus.... seldom see smaller cars there d... n there's a number of their old customers going over to Saint Performance (the turbo gangs).... TungChun still doin the normal B series together wif the K series.... whole workshop is all abt honda oni.... lolz....
as for XH n T-power.... i got no comment.... there's also quite a new workshop near TungChun which is actually open by my fren... eXtreme motorsport... i'd say he's not as famous as tungchun... but oso playing wif VTEC.... at least he does hav some achievements in night sprints... perhaps u all wanna pay him a visit as well... but of course... if u ask me.... TungChun still the one la... after seeing both my frens car.... power got... can race... can drive daily.... durability is there!!!

Thanx Bro Calvin, i will surely pay a visit to Tung Chun and etc...

my concern about the parts useable on my civic is actually on the line that my car is 93 model and if I go B18C, I like to get the 98spec type R, hence I think those parts (if useable), like steering rack, brake pumps, even the wiper motor and such should be "newer" and has lesser mileage on them.... hence the halfcut... to get as many parts replaced with "newer" parts as possible.... however, if I can confirm what are the parts can be use on Civic and what's definately not, then I can make a more economical sense decision :)

When I mean easier to get parts/ spares is like imagine I am in the middle of NS highway and car breaks down... I want to be able to tell those random mechanics that go ask the spare parts shop the distributor for B18C / intergra DC2 tyre R... without having to source for parts from those with modified engine experience mechanics....

I had bad experience on the distributor even my car is ori local 1.6 manual... they keeps coming back with different distributor cap from scrap yard, from whichever VTEC or non-VTEC engines saying that it fit and eventually they don't... that's the same kind of scenario i'm trying to avoid :)

Ultimately, I want fast and reliable enough for daily drive :)

I am looking for around 230 - 250 hp with B18C without turbo... ori B18C already 210, right? do you think my aim of 230 -250 is possible.....? I remember reading from some "oversea" forum it is achievable :)

Thanx

hmm... steering rack n all the chassis stuff ok la.... if u get halfcut they'll change it... but u hav to tell them u wan those stuff in... coz mayb some parts which are the same, some workshop wont change if the current one in ur car is working properly.... make this a point of discussion when u visit them la.... as for wiper motor all.... i dun see ppl changing oso if the one in ur car is working... unless u specifically tell them to lo....

for B series... as long as u know wat stuff u r using then it wont b a prob... i believe those SOHC engine r more complicated as i've oso seen my mech keep on test when need to replace distributor/etc... normally they just take sample n source it.... but for such things... once u got the experience... u'll know wat r useable... if not u can always call ur mech/tuner when ur car broke down.... ask them wat model of alternator/distributor u r using n then u can proceed to source it....

hmm... a stock b18cr would giv u around 200hp... but hp is not the main thing... torque is fairly important as well... i remembered my fren tellin me dat his b20 has lower hp compared to his b18cr.... but the torque increases.... n dat's wat makes u feel the power n win races....

well... as i said... i oni giv my own opinion.... n i'm not a vtec player oso.... perhaps more sifu can come in n shed some lights???

TungChun n HV is famous... Din know XH now is on par wif them d... Lolz...

man man lai :adore:

bro ddv and x363... i dun really hav experience wif vtec la... playing mitsu engine....

to answer bro ddv... perhaps u can drop by tungchun... i had 2 frens playing b20b last time... on on a EG 2 door... another on a EK4 door... from wat they told me.... stock b20 block wif pistons... head with some work on it.... running type-r cams... n a bit here n there.... using VAFC for tuning only.... never really run wif the EG before... run wif the EK in pasir gudang before... cant catch him wif my 4g63.... his car jump off the starting line n hav 1 car lead.... n all the way till finish line.... btw... both cars hav gear ratio.... n both cars did in tungchun....
lets say u edi hav the block n head done... if following my fren's recipe... would b type r cams, skunk2 intake, s90 throttle body, gear ratio (the car just pull pull pull n PULL from 1st till 4th... never drop out of vtec range!!!)... guess dat's abt it....

for bro x363... i intro my fren to convert b18cr at my mech place... his car was an EG8 auto... total transplant cost with halfcut is around 12k... n dat's abt 1.5yrs back.....
from wat i see... the b20 block wif b16 head hybrid is pretty straightforward n these tuning house had done lots of them... they hav the experience la.... somemore the parts for b series engine are all inter-usable wat....
basically, like i mentioned earlier... the only thing u can use from the b18cr halfcut r the engine+ecu+gearbox+shifer+brakes+suspension... radiator confirm cannot (u'd change to aluminium oso la)... dash will go to the dustbin as its not a hot item dat ppl will source for....
the oni diff between this 2 engine dat i know off is.... b18cr is more rev friendly as compared to the b20 hybrid... but the b20 is a torque machine... i got a feeling my 4g63 boosting at 1bar oso dun hav such torque....

sorry dat i dun hav their address.... perhaps u can try searchin online la....
HV n TungChun hav establish themselves in JB tuning scene la... but HV now u can see more n more sg cars there... evos n subarus.... seldom see smaller cars there d... n there's a number of their old customers going over to Saint Performance (the turbo gangs).... TungChun still doin the normal B series together wif the K series.... whole workshop is all abt honda oni.... lolz....
as for XH n T-power.... i got no comment.... there's also quite a new workshop near TungChun which is actually open by my fren... eXtreme motorsport... i'd say he's not as famous as tungchun... but oso playing wif VTEC.... at least he does hav some achievements in night sprints... perhaps u all wanna pay him a visit as well... but of course... if u ask me.... TungChun still the one la... after seeing both my frens car.... power got... can race... can drive daily.... durability is there!!!

:adore: sifu.

hahah... good good.... so my goal of 250hp is not a record breaking goal... :)

may be I should aim higher...

btw, this 300bhp NA VTEC in Malaysia? or go any link to read about it? :) like to use it as my case study :)

ohh... I shall pay them a visit...

anyone here know who should I talk to.... I like to "being introduce by XXX"; instead of me walking in like a dumb ass and noone bother talking to me or start bringing out "water melon parang" and start quoting me crazy prices..... :P

Maybe you can bring along yr check book. Telling them what is the figure you should fill in if you wanna 300bhp VTEC. Lol

Sifu normality... U ONI sifu le... Super old timer wei... I share my .2 sen ONI....

VTEC sifu ED_EG is here... Perhaps u all can ask him la....

I better Siam.... Dun wanna b clown here d....

fellow sifus here, can advice what else to get done before the transplant in being put on my car... like do I need to port & polish, change the cam & crank or etc...

I would like to get those done so don't need to keep going back and taking the engine apart every now and then... :)

what are the usual things we should get done wen modifiying a B18C R? may be I should start browsing for Intergra B18C R modification as reference? :)

YEN96... Ngah is old timer... But engine management tuning is a prob...
No doubt his cam setting is chun!!!!

X363... Y not do slowly one step at a time??? If u were to go for halfcut transplant... Just replace wear n tear parts (timing belt, water pump) n use it first.... After transplant sure will face some minor probs de... Its an old/used engine anyway... So once settle all the probs n once the engine is running properly then ONI start wif mods... This is wat I feel la... No point to start molding before ensure engine is healthy....

bro calvin... can't we determine this healthyness of the engine before it gets in to my car... can't do any bench testing or something like that... like how race car team do their building and research ma.... i think they do put an engine (stock) then test with the car in the race and find out not only the lose the race... then go back and mod again... right? :)

Precisely, it is going to be old engine, so if anything needs to get done to bring it back to "NEW", I prefer to get it done when the engine is still on the floor.... taking the engine in and out is not going to be cheap affair :)

X363... If dat's the case... Then u'd hav to full rebuilt ur engine d.... Open up everythin... Change bearings, piston rings, gasket, seals, etc... Only by this u can b sure it's healthy...