200hp Auto/Tiptronic/Shiftronic Sedan?

teo1957

I'm looking to buy a sedan with a bit of power (upwards of 200hp), with auto transmission preferably tiptronic/shiftronic, below RM100k. Any recommendations?

1. Mitsubishi Galant VRG - cannot find in Malaysia?
2. Mitsubishi Evo X - RM100k more expensive.
3. Toyota Altezza - not quite torquey.
4. Mercedes Benz C270 CDI - monster torque, superb fuel economy, but more maintenance points than a JDM.
5. Toyota Caldina - not a sedan.
6. Mitsubishi Evo GTA - too boy racer.

Last edited by a moderator:
my choice would be Galant VRG or the Evo X auto.
i know the galant vrg is not available here, but can u get the evo auto here?

I'm looking to buy a sedan with a bit of power (upwards of 200hp), with auto transmission preferably tiptronic/shiftronic, below RM100k. Any recommendations?

4. Mercedes Benz C270 CDI - monster torque, superb fuel economy, but more maintenance points than a JDM.

caldina is bigger than sedan..

category wagon

:biggrin:

my choice would be Galant VRG or the Evo X auto.
i know the galant vrg is not available here, but can u get the evo auto here?

Evo auto quite a number in the market: whether Evo X SST or Evo 7.5 GTA.

---------- Post added at 02:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:17 PM ----------

how bout volvo s80? 280bhp though

I'm hearing only good things about Volvo. Personally I remember being smoked by a S80 at NKVE when driving my Perdana V6 twin turbo last 4 years... is the S80 any good bro?

---------- Post added at 02:25 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:20 PM ----------

caldina is bigger than sedan..

category wagon

I have a Airtrek now which I don't think is a wagon, but a SUV or crossover. My wife didn't complain, but I can see that she's a bit reluctant to drive it: the confidence and fun factor is not there.

So, I'm looking for a bit of a tourer sedan: a quiet ride that I can drive without stress in the city and still can tour for long journeys down the highways. Think of it as the poor man's Maserati Quattroporte... :biggrin:

Evo auto quite a number in the market: whether Evo X SST or Evo 7.5 GTA.

---------- Post added at 02:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:17 PM ----------

I'm hearing only good things about Volvo. Personally I remember being smoked by a S80 at NKVE when driving my Perdana V6 twin turbo last 4 years... is the S80 any good bro?

---------- Post added at 02:25 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:20 PM ----------

I have a Airtrek now which I don't think is a wagon, but a SUV or crossover. My wife didn't complain, but I can see that she's a bit reluctant to drive it: the confidence and fun factor is not there.

So, I'm looking for a bit of a tourer sedan: a quiet ride that I can drive without stress in the city and still can tour for long journeys down the highways. Think of it as the poor man's Maserati Quattroporte... :biggrin:

Airtrek is a SUV.. because u have to tiptoe (jengket) to get in.. right?

while Caldina.. open door & just sit down..

i think evo x is way out from his budget right unless you do loan then no problem lah
but i think evo 7.5 gta is the way to go can pay cash and just drive no commitments :biggrin:

Airtrek is a SUV.. because u have to tiptoe (jengket) to get in.. right?

while Caldina.. open door & just sit down..

Tiptoe? You mean walk like ballet? Maybe corner a bit ballet... sedan body better...

---------- Post added at 04:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:36 PM ----------

i think evo x is way out from his budget right unless you do loan then no problem lah
but i think evo 7.5 gta is the way to go can pay cash and just drive no commitments :biggrin:

Yes Evo 7.5 GTA is inside my budget but it's a tad harsh to be a grand tourer car. Any other recommendations bro

Tiptoe? You mean walk like ballet? Maybe corner a bit ballet... sedan body better...

---------- Post added at 04:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:36 PM ----------

Yes Evo 7.5 GTA is inside my budget but it's a tad harsh to be a grand tourer car. Any other recommendations bro

actually i think its quite smooth i mean in factory form and super comfortable has all the comforts of most sedan cars you can find out there
which part of the cars attributes do you feel are a tad harsh??

actually i think its quite smooth i mean in factory form and super comfortable has all the comforts of most sedan cars you can find out there
which part of the cars attributes do you feel are a tad harsh??

Comparing it with executive sedans, I think noise level is higher and similar to the Airtrek which I own now. In time, long distance driving will be loose comfort...

if your referring to exhaust noise level then that can be reduced quite easily by changing muffler or reducing the diameter of the exhaust piping or by adding mid mufflers can make it really really quiet
for engine noise i guess you can improve on the soundproofing of the car
basically where there is a will there is a way but i can tell thats not the kinda car your looking for seeing as how you already have an airtrek
how about a honda accord very very nice and smooth quiet drive :driver:

if your referring to exhaust noise level then that can be reduced quite easily by changing muffler or reducing the diameter of the exhaust piping or by adding mid mufflers can make it really really quiet
for engine noise i guess you can improve on the soundproofing of the car
basically where there is a will there is a way but i can tell thats not the kinda car your looking for seeing as how you already have an airtrek
how about a honda accord very very nice and smooth quiet drive :driver:

I really really love the new CL7 but it comes with a manual. Need suggestion for 200hp+ auto. I have an EG6 also and love it but I don't think I want it if it comes with an auto, it's just not the same.

sorry teo, i think should be s60 not s80....s60 got 280 bhp under the hood....

if u could get hold of HYPERTUNE mag 2011 volume 113.
there is a s60 turbocharged u could read about it.
the front page is a model in purple outfit posing with an audi R8

---------- Post added at 10:28 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:25 AM ----------

volvo s60 T5 2.4L 5 Cylinder DOHC turbocharged.
the mods are garrett GT2871R turbocharger, HKS air filter, custom SS pipings, ARC IC, RC7500CC injectors,
custom made 3" downpipe, sport cat, heico catback exhaust system

able to produce 400bhp with 500nm of torque

---------- Post added at 10:33 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:28 AM ----------

how bout toyota mark x? now the cheapest is about rm118k
price should reduce by early next year to below rm100k.....

2nd choice toyota aristo :)

tiptoe.. bahasa malaysia nya jengket kaki masa masuk keta.. coz the seat is a bit high..

sorry teo, i think should be s60 not s80....s60 got 280 bhp under the hood....

if u could get hold of HYPERTUNE mag 2011 volume 113.
there is a s60 turbocharged u could read about it.
the front page is a model in purple outfit posing with an audi R8

---------- Post added at 10:28 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:25 AM ----------

volvo s60 T5 2.4L 5 Cylinder DOHC turbocharged.
the mods are garrett GT2871R turbocharger, HKS air filter, custom SS pipings, ARC IC, RC7500CC injectors,
custom made 3" downpipe, sport cat, heico catback exhaust system

able to produce 400bhp with 500nm of torque

---------- Post added at 10:33 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:28 AM ----------

how bout toyota mark x? now the cheapest is about rm118k
price should reduce by early next year to below rm100k.....

2nd choice toyota aristo :)

Slurppp S60 sounds niceee... last 2 weeks went to Pavillion saw this S60 red, don't know if 'R' or not... really nice...

Toyota Mark X and Aristo, thanks for the suggestion, why didn't I thought of those two, really like Mark X looks, going to do research abit... thx thx

---------- Post added at 11:07 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:51 AM ----------

tiptoe.. bahasa malaysia nya jengket kaki masa masuk keta.. coz the seat is a bit high..

Ohhh I think you mean Airtrek need to climb to get inside coz too high? No need leh... Airtrek not modified off-road Hilux Surf... summore mine lowered with adjustables but when cornering it's just not the same with sedan... somehow I feel if I love cornering I won't be able to get the same feeling with an elongated car... what is it called... body roll?

u may consider the aristo JZS161 running by 2jz-gte,have a look in mudah or carlist,i guess there are few units on sales now.

happy hunting

saw 1 in mudah within 100k http://www.mudah.my/Toyota+aristo+3+0cc+turbo-10360267.htm