RIMs and suspension...

noty.cendol

From Facebook

hey guys....i'm new here...can u guide me, 18"X7.5jj @ 18"X8jj @ 18"X8.5jj rim, which one better for INSPIRA? In term of handling and stability. Is it necessary for me to upgrade my suspension at the early stage due my standard 2.0 engine? n for info, when i run nearly 185km/h n over my car rocking... thanx all....

Depends on what size of tyres you are using.
215 width, I suggest 7.5, 225 use 8, and 235 use 8.5

Normal suspension tuned for in between comfort and performance. At 185km/h that is high end performance therefore your suspension not stiff enough to tackle the high speed movement, thereby giving you the floating/rocking sensation.
However making your suspension stiff to overcome this, in town drives you may feel it will be bumpy, means harsh ride when running on uneven, pothole roads.....Choose carefully.....:confused:

You can also use 225 on 8.5jj rim.. i think inspira should able to eat up to 9jj at the rear.. using 235 tyres.. you need to opt for a stiffer suspension.. maybe look for those aftermarket adj sus.. Tein might be a good choice for high speed as i'm using it now for my perdana.. but for town driving, those yellow speed eliminator lines can give you bumpy rides.. :banghead:

But use different size tyres, cannot rotate leh!

I mean use narrower tyre on wider rim.. it's ok.. unless is smaller tyre in bigger rim la..haha..
So 225/40/18 on 18x8.5jj is doable.. if you dare, 215/40/18 also can use on 18x8.5jj...:love:

I mean use narrower tyre on wider rim.. it's ok.. unless is smaller tyre in bigger rim la..haha..
So 225/40/18 on 18x8.5jj is doable.. if you dare, 215/40/18 also can use on 18x8.5jj...:love:

Narrow is considered smaller already. Narrow tyres on wider rims, the sidewall gets stretched (pushed out). Contact patch not good and shoulder pattern tents to wear faster due to the stretch...
Not really bro.. i use stretch tyres for both cars.. the shoulder pattern still ok.. as long as the alignment do properly.. it can last.. unless you play camber..

Fyi
My perdana on 225/35/20 Nankang NS2 for 20 x 8.5jj
Picanto previously on 165/45/16 Nankang NS2 for 16 x 7jj now on 195/40/16 Toyo T1R

But anyway it's up to ones preference, as i like my tyres stretched because it can produce bigger rim effect.. wider rim, lesser contact, lesser friction & drag and lower stability sometimes.. haha.. :burnout:

Not really bro.. i use stretch tyres for both cars.. the shoulder pattern still ok.. as long as the alignment do properly.. it can last.. unless you play camber..

Fyi
My perdana on 225/35/20 Nankang NS2 for 20 x 8.5jj
Picanto previously on 165/45/16 Nankang NS2 for 16 x 7jj now on 195/40/16 Toyo T1R

But anyway it's up to ones preference, as i like my tyres stretched because it can produce bigger rim effect.. wider rim, lesser contact, lesser friction & drag and lower stability sometimes.. haha.. :burnout:

But 225 is closer to 235 which fit 8.5JJ, and more over yours is 35 series, less to stretch.
If fact the lower the series the wider the rims.
For example 225/45/R18 fit 8JJ, can use 7.5JJ or 8.5JJ
225/35/R20 fits 8JJ and 8.5JJ, can use 7.5JJ or 9JJ

But 225 is closer to 235 which fit 8.5JJ, and more over yours is 35 series, less to stretch.
If fact the lower the series the wider the rims.
For example 225/45/R18 fit 8JJ, can use 7.5JJ or 8.5JJ
225/35/R20 fits 8JJ and 8.5JJ, can use 7.5JJ or 9JJ
You are right, but i couldn't find 215/35/20 that time.. now only recently came out this size.. haha.. but how about 165/45/16? actually that's nothing to shout about in fact.. in japan, they use 215 on 10jj rims.. they tyre also looks like benjol already..haha..

I still prefer correct fitting, neither fatter tyres or thinner tyres.......