What MTB to get with a budget of RM1,500

I see some very nice brain buckets around. What brands are recommended?

There are many brands out there Scott, Bell, Giro, etc... Thing is each manufacturer produces different sizes and shapes. Just get one that suitable your budget, fits well, have sufficient vents for cooling. Don't straight buy, try and check fitting properly. Looks comes with a price...

I have problem finding a good fitting helmet. Both here and when I was in the states last year.

Hmm yeah I think getting a right fit is the most important criteria. Can't wait to survey more shops. Don't know got any bike shops at Negeri Sembilan. Will be there for a few days.

There are many brands out there Scott, Bell, Giro, etc... Thing is each manufacturer produces different sizes and shapes. Just get one that suitable your budget, fits well, have sufficient vents for cooling. Don't straight buy, try and check fitting properly. Looks comes with a price...

I have problem finding a good fitting helmet. Both here and when I was in the states last year.

You find until overseas also. But in overseas you have to find like kid size.....

Just spotted a bike shop at senawang. Closed today. Want to check it out tomorrow.

You find until overseas also. But in overseas you have to find like kid size.....

No size difference between overseas and here. Between manufacturers yes even when there is a sizing S, M, L. Some manufacturers product longer helmets, some wider, some more head room, etc. Need to find the right fit. Can compensate a little with the sponge padding in the helmet.

Oh yeah, usually the helmet is rated to last a couple of years. If you ever knock the helmet somewhere (fall, etc) need to replace for safety.

Eohl, I went to senawang bike shop just now. Go look see look see and the friendly owner said the mongoose salvo comp is not too bad. It's a full suspension. What is your take on that? Is it a good buy?

DSC02156.jpg

My cheapo bike....

DSC02155.jpg

My daughter's bike

---------- Post added at 05:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:30 PM ----------

DSC02158.jpg

Cheapo paddle that came with the bike. My kids actually broke quite a few.....

DSC02157.jpg

Then fitted Shimano ones, lasted quite a few years already, did not break even one....ha! ha!

DSC02159.jpg

My son's weight even broke the gear, so change to Shimano one also and use many years already.
If buy cheapo ones, don't know need to change how many??
He never take care, change also rusty liao.....:bawling:

Yup, that is the max height, with minimum amount to lock on the bar at the bottom.......
Lucky was just enough, now leg cycling position just nice.....

Spoofing unker VR... :biggrin:

Here is my natural aspirated rig. It is powered by a 0.01 BHP dual rotary engine which is very silent and quiet! Exhaust sounds depends on what dinner I have and people tend to keep their distance - no kissing my back. Your car got 6 or 7 speed transmission... hahaha I got 27 speed! All round disc brakes too and no servo master pump to worry about! Got Kenda shoes summore. More efficient than electric, hybrid or the newer turbo charge compact engine... just feed me!

https://lh3.googleusercontent.com/-A4JTbeoJWl8/Ts73K3gFfQI/AAAAAAAAAyI/uU56C6u1IH8/s400/IMAG1150.jpg
My cheapo bike....

https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-w9w2d3QxpcQ/Ts73Nzx27fI/AAAAAAAAAw8/XFBCSqNR8M8/s400/IMAG1156.jpg
Time ATAC Alium clipless pedals. lasted 8 years of abuse already... indestructible even after going through river crossings, mud, sand, bash against rocks, kicked upon...

https://lh5.googleusercontent.com/-WKw7jd7U0S4/Ts73MgMMH6I/AAAAAAAAAwk/fsUTN2edSQg/s400/IMAG1152.jpg
SRAM PG990 cassette looking strong, shiny, anodize spider finish still good after 2 years of abuse... chains needs degreasing with diesel though then recoat with chain lube, slight rust at the edge of links but not a problem.

Want to upgrade my bike in the near future... need $$$ though... :bawling:

Haha. Just an update. Was telling you guys that I was going to Senawang for a few days. Anyway I visited Bike Station and was greeted by this Jefferee. Hope i got his name right. He was very acommodating and helpful. Never once thought I asked to much noob questions. He told me the need to get a hard tail or full suspension bike. Pros and cons and advantages and disadvantages. He recommended me a few hard tail that he thinks is worth buying and within my budget. I also did ask about a Mongoose full sus that I saw someone sell online. He said he has one. So I ask him whether I will be able to try the hard tail, full sus and the hybrid bike before i made my decision.
He got the mongoose full sus from his other shop and on the 2nd day went to try it out. The full sus is cimfortable but on the heavy side when cycled. The hard tail, well it's a bit hard to my liking. Ride comfort I mean and furthermore it's a specialized brand. I did not try the Focus bike which was made in Germany as it was heavier than the specialized. Suprisingly the hybrid bike feels so comfortable and fast. I might get one in the future.Hehe. Ended up I purchased the Mongoose Salvo Comp.
Will post up some pictures when I get the bike as I ask him to courrier it up to me. Bought a brain bucket and glooves too.

So what's the total damage like... Kekeke... Welcome to another world of poisoning... There is no end to this really...

---------- Post added at 09:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:38 PM ----------

Mine only 18 speed, yours 27???

Now 30 speed already...

Ended up I purchased the Mongoose Salvo Comp.
Will post up some pictures when I get the bike as I ask him to courrier it up to me. Bought a brain bucket and glooves too.

Welcome to biking world......

---------- Post added at 09:57 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:56 PM ----------

So what's the total damage like... Kekeke... Welcome to another world of poisoning... There is no end to this really...

---------- Post added at 09:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:38 PM ----------

Now 30 speed already...

10 rear, 3 front?

Yes. There are also 14 speed internal gear hubs and CVT gear hubs for bicycles too... Gear hubs reminds me of antique bikes those days - hubs by Sturmey-Archer if you have heard about it before. Have one later model which I managed to get it from a very old dying bike shop in Penang many years back.

Maybe for you in your hill climbs, but for me on the road, normally use fix gear and change only for hill slope.....so no need so many gears.....ha! ha!

I paid less than RM 2,500 for the bike. RM 1,500 budget konon. Hehe. Over spent already.

So must make full use of it. That price includes the brain bucket and gloves, right?