Carbon fiber hood wax/sealant

stuffx

First of all, apologize if i create a redundant thread. I already tried to find the right thread but didn't find the answer that i want.

Just would like to know if it is ok to apply carnauba wax or/and sealant regularly on top of CF hood? Do u guys have any recommendation of a good product for maximum protection for CF hood? It is quite scary to see some CF hoods turn ugly after few months.

yesyes you may apply wax and sealant on carbon hood. ive done and tried it before. its still in good shape now

mind to share what brand of wax and sealant that you've been using? and how frequent do you apply the wax/sealant?

one professional detailer advised me to use C-Quartz

C-Quartz is a coating which is permenant.

i use all Optimum Polymer Technology products. Sealant once every 4-6months wax every 3-4months. wash every 2 weeks

---------- Post added at 09:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:33 PM ----------

Zero 2 Hero Auto Detailing
there u go

permanent coating means i dont have to wax/polish anymore right? is it a better choice? the c-quartz is quite expensive but if it's better than frequent waxing/polishing then i dont mind..

sorry im totally noob in this detailing field.. kinda need opinions from experienced user T_T

permanent coating means i dont have to wax/polish anymore right? is it a better choice? the c-quartz is quite expensive but if it's better than frequent waxing/polishing then i dont mind..

sorry im totally noob in this detailing field.. kinda need opinions from experienced user T_T

If you opt for a coating, you first need to correct the current scratches, swirls and random isolated deep scratches. After that because carbon fiber hoods are abit delicate than normal aluminum hoods, you must be very careful in wiping the polishing oil off with alcohol. Then finally coat with either C-quartz or Optimum Coating. For me i choose Optimum Coating unlike other coating, Optimum Coating is not taflon, glass, diamond, nano or any other coating technology. It is a clear resin. Resin derives from tree sap. and if you had encountered any tree sap damage in your life, im sure you will know how strong is it. Optimum Coating is a clear resin which is applied to the clear coat. It will bond with the paint and give it an extra new layer of clear coat which is tougher and stronger and more durable to mother nature's wrath.

After coating you can still wax and apply sealant, but there is no need to polish or compound or correct it unless you really need to. Just a basic washing and maybe sealant will do good enought to protect the coating and have it last longer.

One of the big time sifus have spoken!

Josh, question : what about painted CF? Does the same apply? I'm only worried about heat cracks due to extreme heat from the bay