Tips to improve Fuel Economy

hi, when i got my car and b4 i do anything with it, avg FC was about 11.4KM/L

Tried to maintain driving condition as consistence as possible, drive to work only,
same road, same time, same as jam everyday. Pump full tank all the time, same
station near house, same pump no.5, next time pump full again, measure distance
travelled divided by litre filled to get full tank again. Avg 11.4KM/L +/- 0.6KM/L.

After 3 months using the car, i began making some changes to it.

First i change all 4 tires to new Continental and pump it hard to 300kpa,
still ok though a little stiffer, road grip is fine due to new tire ma, even
at 300kpa the rubber still soft. Then i throw away the mud guard to improve
aerodynamics, throw off the spare tire too, remove the back bumper and now
my Saga Aeroback looks like LMST.

And then all this while i have been hearing engine knocks, looking at the distributor
i saw it tilted to advanced. Each time at low rpm will hear it knocks, more and louder
when up a slope or hill but it goes away everytime when the car got up to speed
beyond 60km/h. At 80km/h knocks will be totally gone. Then i had this problem
that hot starting took a bit longer to crank compare to when cold in the morning.
Sometimes hot starting needed more than one crank.

Then i decided to back off the timing a bit, now could hardly hear a knock but
still got knocks la, just very very very seldom hear it which is a gd things coz
i scare if totally no knocks, i may ran the engine retard, at least now i know
timing is just right, feel good too. And amazingly, backing off timing has eliminate
my hot starting problem! Now hot or cold, crank the same, just one easy short
crank already got the engine to turn over.

And i throw away all plastics from the boot of the Saga, now open the boot and
only see bare metal, totally clean and clear. Now my Saga ratling noise has reduce
a lot, almost like a new car though this is a 21 years old car. And i forgot to mention
i changed all 4 shock absorbers too while changing the tires.

Now the FC, after done all that, it average to 13.6KM/L. I got nothing else to throw now,
weight reduction already near limit. Next i go for leaner tuning with water injection
and then HHO. Not as easy as throw things, but will try to do it somehow.

Do you ever try to fix a morey's power booster to your car?Morey Oil - Auckland based distributors and manufacturers of top quality lubricants, New Zealand
The morey's ucl not only can improve engine performance,reduced fuel consumption,it also cause the engine to be more responsive and lighter in accereration.A 250ml hdos pour into your engine makes it smoother and reduce the tappet noise.Do not need to take out the spare tyre ,with morey's product you will be happy to drive your pony everyday racing it to work & and back:biggrin:

If it's that good, care to give me a bottle to subjectively review with scientific gadgets and all? My car is due for service soon.

guys,

did you all heard about Qmax Dyno, that can save fuel and increase horsepower..
Is that true..?? I confuse on this product, any suggestion or advise from all of you..

TQ.

Great steps to lower FC...! How about AC ? How much % of fuel probably saved for turning off AC ? Just curious even I'm not gonna turn the AC off in Msia....

guys,

did you all heard about Qmax Dyno, that can save fuel and increase horsepower..
Is that true..?? I confuse on this product, any suggestion or advise from all of you..

TQ.

Unless there's a neutral party willing to do a test on their own car claims from the company have to be taken with a pinch of salt.

I'm currently testing a cable that claims larger spark and all that, supposedly improves power, FC and all. I've just done my pre-test dyno so after driving the car around a bit, I'll go for another dyno later.

I also heard, by using iridium spark plug we can reduce FC and increase HP also without any installation from Dyno products.. How perfect a iridium spark plug was..??

I believe one of the best affordable and proven plug cables around is the Borsch Super Sport. I just bought 1 set on the internet last week. There's an improvement in acceleration, especially in 1st, 2nd and 3rd gear and slight reduction in fuel consumption. They cost me RM100 + RM7 (poslaju charge).

What car is this if I may ask? Also how does changing it actually work, as in the science behind it.. Thanks!!

I drive an old honda from the 90s, hehe... Civic SO4. Well, my spark plug cables came with the car (obviously :biggrin:) since I bought it 2 years ago. I don't know how long they have been in the car. There's nothing wrong with them actually. Then I read somewhere in Lowyat forum about these Bosch Super Sport plug cables and there're many good testimonials about them. Since they're relatively cheap, I ordered them and installed them in my car.

The theory is like this:

Good spark plug cables have less electrical resistance. I notice that the Bosch cables are shorter than my old ones. The construction is better too, using carbon core etc. The manufacturer claims they have less resistance than most cables out there. Therefore, electric current can flow better to the spark plug. This enables the spark plug to generate bigger spark. Bigger spark means better combustion, which leads to better torque/power. With better torque/power, you do not need to step as hard on the throttle which in turn improves fuel consumption.

However, if you always 'tekan' the pedal to feel the improved pick-up, then FC might become worse..
:biggrin: :biggrin: :biggrin:

Waitaminute.. I'm currently doing a testing on a super low resistance cable with no RF interference. Check this one out :

http://www.best-itech.com/videos.htm

No results yet, I've already done a pre-test dyno and will do a post test dyno end of the month for comparisons sake. But the cable has a lot of ISOs and backup data to support their claims.

Anyway, let's discuss this, complete combustion does not change whether the spark is big or small right? The spark essentially is just electrical energy, what makes the combustion complete is how well the resulting fire burns everything in the combustion chamber. Correct? Whats useful is how fast the spark can be generated I think, so less resistance from the cable would mean faster electron flow and faster sparking?

Also, unless you have access to modify your fuel map, stock cars have a fixed fuel map and as long as your ignition timing is not disturbed, your FC should be consistent regardless of performance cable or not. More power? Again that's debatable.

So how la?

Waitaminute.. I'm currently doing a testing on a super low resistance cable with no RF interference. Check this one out :

http://www.best-itech.com/videos.htm

No results yet, I've already done a pre-test dyno and will do a post test dyno end of the month for comparisons sake. But the cable has a lot of ISOs and backup data to support their claims.

Anyway, let's discuss this, complete combustion does not change whether the spark is big or small right? The spark essentially is just electrical energy, what makes the combustion complete is how well the resulting fire burns everything in the combustion chamber. Correct? Whats useful is how fast the spark can be generated I think, so less resistance from the cable would mean faster electron flow and faster sparking?

Also, unless you have access to modify your fuel map, stock cars have a fixed fuel map and as long as your ignition timing is not disturbed, your FC should be consistent regardless of performance cable or not. More power? Again that's debatable.

So how la?

Correct me if I'm wrong, but my thinking is that, fuel/air mixture will still combust regardless of whether the spark is big or small. However, bigger spark will generate faster combustion, i.e the flame front will travel faster. If 2 persons light up a bunch of newspaper each, one using a match, the other using a flamethrower, which one you think will burn faster? I mean which one will burn the whole newspaper first? :biggrin:

True, but there's a flaw in your example. Those are flame-based sources, meaning the difference in heat between the flame thrower and the lighter is too significant hence the difference.

What we're talking about here is electricity, whether the spark is big or small, ignition will still happen and I think it'll depend on the fuel combustibility and compression from the pistons.

I think the more appropriate comparison would be a gas stove. U know how some stoves have those pilot lights to ignite the gas so the whole thing lights up? The "tak tak tak tak" thingy? That's electricity and is usually powered by a battery under the stove. Say you compare a good battery vs one that's about to die off, the spark will be smaller for the dying battery correct? But either way the spark ignites the stove the same way since the gas input is constant and fixed.

Why would a bigger spark be better then?

ps - this is purely discussion, I'm not saying beter plug cables are useless

Hey guys, just a quick question on fuel economy.

You know you are gonna stop in front because of a traffic light or traffic jam. Is it better to slow down, move slowly in gear or is it better to slow down, move slowly in free gear? I am asking for manual transmission cars. Not sure if it is the same for AT cars.

Or if there is any better way, let me know.

Hey guys, just a quick question on fuel economy.

You know you are gonna stop in front because of a traffic light or traffic jam. Is it better to slow down, move slowly in gear or is it better to slow down, move slowly in free gear? I am asking for manual transmission cars. Not sure if it is the same for AT cars.

Or if there is any better way, let me know.

The latter is better. The reason is, when you put your car in neutral and let it coast, your RPM will be lower (idling). If you put it in any gear, the rpm will be higher, thus increasing FC.

use public transportation, waste money, waste time... shoe worn out very fast...

shoe is more important yeah?huhu

---------- Post added at 03:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:18 PM ----------

The latter is better. The reason is, when you put your car in neutral and let it coast, your RPM will be lower (idling). If you put it in any gear, the rpm will be higher, thus increasing FC.

so better free up gear before stopping at trafffic llight..can try that....:)

True, but there's a flaw in your example. Those are flame-based sources, meaning the difference in heat between the flame thrower and the lighter is too significant hence the difference.

What we're talking about here is electricity, whether the spark is big or small, ignition will still happen and I think it'll depend on the fuel combustibility and compression from the pistons.

I think the more appropriate comparison would be a gas stove. U know how some stoves have those pilot lights to ignite the gas so the whole thing lights up? The "tak tak tak tak" thingy? That's electricity and is usually powered by a battery under the stove. Say you compare a good battery vs one that's about to die off, the spark will be smaller for the dying battery correct? But either way the spark ignites the stove the same way since the gas input is constant and fixed.

Why would a bigger spark be better then?

ps - this is purely discussion, I'm not saying beter plug cables are useless

that is an interesting comparison..

i always think bigger spark is better..

because of the 'how fast' fuel is burned..

the faster it burns, the more power u get..

of coz it will burn completely inside an internal combustion engine.. the fuel & spark has no where else to go..

but if it burn faster.. it's better :wink:

http://sixpacktech.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/12/combustion.jpg