Irresponsible Go Kart Track Owner at Kelab Komuniti Taman Tasik Cyberjaya

little.lainy

From Facebook
My friends and I signed up for the package found online for a go-karting session for the price of RM 62.50 (one hour session). We decided to utilize the session on the 19th May 2012 (Saturday). When we reached the go-kart track,as usual we prepared ourselves for the sport. Unfortunately, we were disappointed with the facilities offered and the safety measures taken to ensure safe sporting session for customers. Helmets were in very bad condition (no room for tightening) and there were no safety harness on the karts. We highlighted the situation to the officers in charge on the track and with greater disappointment, our requests were ignored. Thus, we continued with the session when in vain, we could not do anything as we have already prepaid for the session.

Sadly, half way through the session, my kart brakes failed and I crashed into the tyre buffer zone. Without equipped safety harness and a proper helmet, I was thrown out from my kart. I have sustained heavy injuries all over my body and required multiple stitches on the back of my head. After the incident, the track owner neglected my requests for them to be responsible over my accident. In return, they told me that I have signed an indemnity form before the session started thus, they bear no responsibility over the accident. When I regain my memories, I remembered that my friends and I only signed a blank piece of attendance form with no rules and regulations written to be abide.

As a consumer, I felt I was cheated in monetary kind and I have to suffer the consequences of injuring my head and body due to irresponsible sport organizers.

Recap of my complaints:
1) Low safety measures on karting facilities (faulty helmets, no safety harness etc)
2) Irresponsible organizers
3) Cheating on indemnity forms
4) Organizers did not conduct any training to customers before the session
5) No on track safety briefing

All in all, please share this out to alert people around you against this irresponsible go-karting sports organizers and owners. Please help before other citizens and customers falls prey as victims.

Address:
Kelab Komuniti Taman Tasik Cyberjaya, Jalan Kelab Off Persiaran Semarak Api, 63000 Cyberjaya, Selangor.

https://www.facebook.com/notes/elai...uniti-taman-tasik-cyberjaya/10150816252251198

1. If you know its not safe why you still proceed?
2. Why still proceed?
2. Why you sign a blank piece of paper?
4. See 1. & 2.
5. See 4., 1. & 2.

Go report to AAM, MAM, police, and also tribunal.
If you already KNOW it is unsafe, walk away and request for a refund. They don't give refund go report to tribunal.

Gee if you bought tickets for skydiving and you know its unsafe do you still jump?

People these days are getting dumber aren't they.

ixeo ... You really dun mince your words! :0) kasihan sikit la ... Dah cedera teruk

I've never heard of safety harnesses on go-karts. They don't exist except for then 5km/h Genting ones. Maybe they have.

But everything else you should have clarified those things first. If in doubt, don't do it. And what kart were you using to be going so fast until you get thrown out of a kart??? I've banged tyre walls before in a 100cc kart and the most that did was bend the kart plastic bits and give me a headache.

I had been to this Go-Kart track once. I got it from the promotion from a website. Upon reaching there...I noticed that we only have to sign a piece of paper, which is an attendance sheet. Not like the one at Genting Highlands, where you have to sign a letter of indemnity even though it is pretty impossible to have a crash there...coz I can easily outrun the machine with my bare foot.

Ok, back to the Go-Kart. The helmets, well, as usual..being used again n again n again. They do provide a shower cap for u. So far I did not find any faulty helmets (coz i chose 1 by 1 to get the driest one :rofl:). The helmet fasteners are working well. It's just that the visor is abit blur bcoz of scratches. The seat, as mentioned, has no safety belts. Dint give a damn. So my frens and I went round the tracks, and left satisfactorily. And will be back for more, in fact, we just bought the promotions vouchers again.

I feel sorry for the thread started to have gotten hurt because of the lack of safety measures. She and her friends should have had a good experience with it but instead, a deep contrast. Like ixeo mentioned, if you feel something is not safe to proceed with, leave it and make a report. And for those who does not give a damn of so much fuss about making a report and might not even have any good outcome, proceed with care. I understand that when people paid and arranged for something, it is really a big frustration when they canot proceed. That is why many of us would just proceed instead because they do not wana waste anymore time. Be sure you judge ur degree of control in that matter.

You may file a suit under tort/negligence to the police or tribunal. If the investigations proves that you are in favour, then you might get refund and paid for damages incurred. :burnout:

But hor...let me play 1st the only go sue them har...i dowana waste my RM60 and precious time asking for refunds :marchmellow:

I had been to this Go-Kart track once. I got it from the promotion from a website. Upon reaching there...I noticed that we only have to sign a piece of paper, which is an attendance sheet. Not like the one at Genting Highlands, where you have to sign a letter of indemnity even though it is pretty impossible to have a crash there...coz I can easily outrun the machine with my bare foot.

Ok, back to the Go-Kart. The helmets, well, as usual..being used again n again n again. They do provide a shower cap for u. So far I did not find any faulty helmets (coz i chose 1 by 1 to get the driest one :rofl:). The helmet fasteners are working well. It's just that the visor is abit blur bcoz of scratches. The seat, as mentioned, has no safety belts. Dint give a damn. So my frens and I went round the tracks, and left satisfactorily. And will be back for more, in fact, we just bought the promotions vouchers again.

I feel sorry for the thread started to have gotten hurt because of the lack of safety measures. She and her friends should have had a good experience with it but instead, a deep contrast. Like ixeo mentioned, if you feel something is not safe to proceed with, leave it and make a report. And for those who does not give a damn of so much fuss about making a report and might not even have any good outcome, proceed with care. I understand that when people paid and arranged for something, it is really a big frustration when they canot proceed. That is why many of us would just proceed instead because they do not wana waste anymore time. Be sure you judge ur degree of control in that matter.

You may file a suit under tort/negligence to the police or tribunal. If the investigations proves that you are in favour, then you might get refund and paid for damages incurred. :burnout:

But hor...let me play 1st the only go sue them har...i dowana waste my RM60 and precious time asking for refunds :marchmellow:

bro, you could sue them if you could walk-away the track uninjured. What happened if you involved in accident and left you paralysed??

No amount of money is going to make you normal again....even when you have gottn millions of settlement.

Again, safety first, bro

[/COLOR]

bro, you could sue them if you could walk-away the track uninjured. What happened if you involved in accident and left you paralysed??

No amount of money is going to make you normal again....even when you have gottn millions of settlement.

Again, safety first, bro

choiiiiiiiiiii !!~

well...as per rental kart...

bring your own helmets and safety apparel such as glove and even suits if u really concern on safety...

if u don't min i would like to ask what kart it was??80cc fun kart or 100cc/125cc race kart???? because from my experience in reputable kart provider for race kart they even made karting suits,gloves and fullface helmet compulsary in the rental regulation.. (bring your own or rent from the provider)

..btw..i've never heard kart with safety harness?? :hmmm:

regarding the failing brakes no comment..but if u realized that brakes were failling then u can swith into another kart without hassle... :adore:

u already signed the indemnity form, u cant win in court if u report them......
all u can do is just share the news with yr friends.

well...as per rental kart...

bring your own helmets and safety apparel such as glove and even suits if u really concern on safety...

if u don't min i would like to ask what kart it was??80cc fun kart or 100cc/125cc race kart???? because from my experience in reputable kart provider for race kart they even made karting suits,gloves and fullface helmet compulsary in the rental regulation.. (bring your own or rent from the provider)

..btw..i've never heard kart with safety harness?? :hmmm:

regarding the failing brakes no comment..but if u realized that brakes were failling then u can swith into another kart without hassle... :adore:

From the FB pic it is 4-stroke honda engine Fun Kart... How she flew out...

To thread starter, sorry for your case but your helmet look ok and Kart never have seatbelt... Er... Motorsport is dangerous (Kart is grassroot) never took it as bumper car like of amusement activity please... Safety briefing is a must for 1st timer...

oh btw...atleast the kart provider do provide the "anti-bacterial cap" to cover the head inside helmet.... :adore:

hahahaha.....anti bacterial cap.....Good one!

Without it, long term racing in cart would eventually cause premature baldness among racers...

Safety hardness i dun think it require in the fun kart, as i know the track is no good even without accident u eat stone n sand also enough.
Sorry for your case, last time my friend kart also having brake problem but we manage to handle it.
We really hve bad experience with this organizer that y when my fren ask me about this offer i always said no.

u already signed the indemnity form, u cant win in court if u report them......
all u can do is just share the news with yr friends.

The indemnity form is just to cover part of their ass. It is if the facility is a first class one and you still get into accident somehow and it is not related to any faulty facility, then u are not able to claim anything from them. But if you got hurt because of poor facilities and maintenance, then yes you may sue them under negligence or tort.

Its like you went into a parking which states "park at your own risk" .. but if anything happens to your car..you may still sue under tort, which the damages u can claim is alot smaller than suing them without the sign. But this cyberjaya kart...only have to sign attendance lol

The kart is kinda fun though..top speed of 70km/h so its enuf to prevent me from getting bored. Too bad it happened that the TS involved in an accident. But she's not totally wrong..it creates awareness

---------- Post added at 01:54 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:53 AM ----------

oh btw...atleast the kart provider do provide the "anti-bacterial cap" to cover the head inside helmet.... :adore:

I thought its anti-dandruff...

What I'm absolutely baffled about is how the hell do you get flung out of a fun kart? 80cc karts are so slow it's impossible to take a corner fast even at full throttle much less get flung out of the kart.

If when accident happen she let go steering wheel, plus hit something, it is high chance that will threw out of kart. I wander did the operators told her that when u lost control of the kart "just steer lock + full brake" or not...

It is a OUCH anyway...

As I know , go kart is a dangerours sport n you have to know how to drive safely before take it to a ride, harness on kart? Never heard about , not even in pro racing. If you crashed means you lose control or you totally don't know how to control the go kart. But I enjoy it myself .

1) Low safety measures on karting facilities (faulty helmets, no safety harness etc)
2) Irresponsible organizers
3) Cheating on indemnity forms
4) Organizers did not conduct any training to customers before the session
5) No on track safety briefing

I feel sorry for this lady for the mishap. Yes, you can get thrown off the kart even if it's a 80cc kart. Karts will not come with a harness.

Faulty helmets? Are all helmets available during that time faulty? if yes, then I agree it is the management's responsibility to supply helmets with good working strap. From the lady's facebook picture, the helmet that she wore seems to have a loose strap. Not fasten properly or it was really faulty?

Brake failure? from the lady's pic, i can see both of her legs are fully stretched and can barely press the pedals. driver should pick the suitable kart. but normally if your leg cannot reach the pedal they will put a cushion on the seat.:driver:

I agree about the lack of safety briefing but normally this is being done by an organizer should there be an event. Most first timers came with friends with some karting experience and will get briefed by them.. unless their friend also irresponsible :stupid:

• 253266_10150849523051769_632676768_9768685_1186112522_n.jpg
    253266_10150849523051769_632676768_9768685_1186112522_n.jpg
    114.2 KB · Views: 221
To be on the safe side, no experience on hard driving, better don't try Go Kart and don't think racing is easy, Like Niki Lauda once said, With more driver aids, even monkey can drive the F1 car:. So simple?

I feel offended... U saying only abt 200 persons in this world can drive better than monkey =(