anyone tune ecu himself?

stamen

i've been doing ecu tweaks/tune myself
it would really great to have a group here sharing experiences, tips and tricks :)

anyone?

For a start..

What are the things you need for tuning?

Laptop, software, O2 sensor?

Perhaps u can lead n start a group here bro. ;)

ahaha... i'm still learning bro... but i dont mind sharing my experiences :)

---------- Post added at 08:27 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:02 AM ----------

For a start..

What are the things you need for tuning?

Laptop, software, O2 sensor?

yes. basicly those and the cable

these are what i use:

- for logging software: evoscan.
- for flashing software: ecuflash.
dont use the XML file that comes with it. it will only download 256kb rom. the correct rom size is 512kb. if your ROM ID is 89970010 i can send you my XML, else have to search on internet.
- cable: openport 1.3U. need to do simple mod before can be use with ecuflash
- o2 and boost sensor: zeitronix zt-2. i use zeitronix because i can log the o2 and boost at the same time with evoscan. you might need to buy the bung as well. zeitronix installation can be DIY, except for welding the bung to your exhaust (unless you're a welder).

evoscan, ecuflash, and the cable; get them from here: EvoScan OBDII Mitsubishi Subaru DataLogger Scantool
zeitronix; get it from here: Zeitronix : Wideband Engine Datalogging Systems and Accessories

:)

yea i do my own tuning, i am by no means an expert though. im at about stamens level also. i aso use the exact same gear as him.

im am actually looking for somone to do a tune over the net. me do some runs and log them, then send them with rom to tuner for changes then have te rom sent back, flashed and some more logs done, then repeat till satisfactory. far cheaper drom what i keep hearing but havent found somone offering that service.

note for stamen, there in a guy not far from new plymouth that offers road tunes on evo's, i have asked him he can do it for airtrek and he says its fine, not sure on quality of work tho, may be another speedtech LOL

In malaysia i dun think there much, only a hand full doing this. I'm a subaru owner, self tune. Have look in to some mit rom, the best part is can edit mut table as subaru cannot, reverse engineering is make easy on it.

yea i do my own tuning, i am by no means an expert though. im at about stamens level also. i aso use the exact same gear as him.

im am actually looking for somone to do a tune over the net. me do some runs and log them, then send them with rom to tuner for changes then have te rom sent back, flashed and some more logs done, then repeat till satisfactory. far cheaper drom what i keep hearing but havent found somone offering that service.

note for stamen, there in a guy not far from new plymouth that offers road tunes on evo's, i have asked him he can do it for airtrek and he says its fine, not sure on quality of work tho, may be another speedtech LOL

well you could ask gregm, he might give you mates rate :P or you could try tephra, monsta or sky?

hmm... sounds familiar lol... the first thing i would ask is do you have the xml and where did you get it from? if he said from ecuflash then it may be another crap

---------- Post added at 08:40 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:15 AM ----------

In malaysia i dun think there much, only a hand full doing this. I'm a subaru owner, self tune. Have look in to some mit rom, the best part is can edit mut table as subaru cannot, reverse engineering is make easy on it.

so what do you use for tuning, evoscan/ecuflash as well? and wideband? yeah.. but at the moment the mut table is not much to me, since i haven't been able to decode it. evo's roms development on the net is quite advanced.. but not trek's rom, it's difficult to find trek's rom info on the net.

just curious, can you control boost from your ecu?

so what do you use for tuning, evoscan/ecuflash as well? and wideband? yeah.. but at the moment the mut table is not much to me, since i haven't been able to decode it. evo's roms development on the net is quite advanced.. but not trek's rom, it's difficult to find trek's rom info on the net.

just curious, can you control boost from your ecu?

I'm using romrider to log n ecuflash that it, no wideband sensor. Most of the rom are the same, u can try looking at some GTA rom n evo8.

Yes.. boost control, timing, open/close loop A/F, scaling every sensor, everything the motor need to run so i dun need a standalone ecu.

PS. my legacy 32bit ECU is advanced enough with 1mb of rom data to play with, the downside is a separate TCU control the AT box that is able to log but not supported to tune at the moment.:banghead:

I'm using romrider to log n ecuflash that it, no wideband sensor. Most of the rom are the same, u can try looking at some GTA rom n evo8.

Yes.. boost control, timing, open/close loop A/F, scaling every sensor, everything the motor need to run so i dun need a standalone ecu.

PS. my legacy 32bit ECU is advanced enough with 1mb of rom data to play with, the downside is a separate TCU control the AT box that is able to log but not supported to tune at the moment.:banghead:

how do you measure afr without wideband?

currently my boost table is not informative... just rpm and numbers (attached). do you run full open loop?
1mb rom excluding tranny is huge man... what year is your legacy? 4AT 2.0L GT?

• screenshot.21.jpg
    screenshot.21.jpg
    49.1 KB · Views: 242
now less than 3 knocks at WOT. i dont remember how much i had, but definitely lot more than 3.

target afr around 10.8 at redline. idle 14.7

LOTS of knock lol if anything like mine i had counts upto 12. mind u i had a faulty injector causing me many many many issues. for every three counts of knock your timing is retarded by 1deg untill a long period of no knock.

the idle afr is sussed by the closed loop control.

Check this out http://www.evoscan.com/ecuflash/Merlins%20EcuFlash%20EVO%207-8-9%20TUNING%20GUIDE-V1.7a.pdf

its a tuning guide for evos but most of it is relevent to the airtrek. really usefull info on the procedure for injector scaling and trim corection (i had to use this once i fitted a bigger fuel pump and replaced my failed injector)

im liking these likes!!! MORE LIKES!!!

Mine have no knock at all... try lowering the timing 1st B4 tuning, up the boost then look for desire AFR b4 tune up the timing, once start knocking lower the timing 2 degree for conservative knock count. My stock front O2 sensor is good for 10 or 9 AFR if i remember it right, so i dun need a wideband to tune. Full open loop while tuning.

Stamen.. your boost table is wrong, as i recall should be reading rpm vs load for Mit rom. Try other software to read...

Mine is 2003 JDM Legacy GT wagon spec-b 5EAT just like my signature. AFR 11-10.5. RON95 here. 7km/L on 50/50 driving on boost.

Here some video on tube dun know u guy saw it B4 but very clear explanation.
Intro to EcuFlash - 1 of 16 (How to Tune an Evo) - YouTube

Me and stamen are both in new zealand driving jdm cars tuned for 100 octane fuel from the factory. Our fuel is crap! I had to retune for 95. Ill take a log n put it up for you to take a look sometime

Mine have no knock at all... try lowering the timing 1st B4 tuning, up the boost then look for desire AFR b4 tune up the timing, once start knocking lower the timing 2 degree for conservative knock count. My stock front O2 sensor is good for 10 or 9 AFR if i remember it right, so i dun need a wideband to tune. Full open loop while tuning.

Stamen.. your boost table is wrong, as i recall should be reading rpm vs load for Mit rom. Try other software to read...

hmm... i've seen boost table with rpm vs load table, but i think that's for newer rom than trek, probably evo8 and above? anyone else could confirm we've got rpm vs load boost table for trek?

Mine is 2003 JDM Legacy GT wagon spec-b 5EAT just like my signature. AFR 11-10.5. RON95 here. 7km/L on 50/50 driving on boost.

Here some video on tube dun know u guy saw it B4 but very clear explanation.
Intro to EcuFlash - 1 of 16 (How to Tune an Evo) - YouTube

nice.. posted you car pics somewhere?
yeah. i remember i only found 6 of them on the net and watched them all... now there are 16 videos?? they are really good tutorials indeed..

forgot to ask, about other software, what other software you recommend?
seems that ecuflash is the most common, just that the xml for airtrek is not really developed.

Seem like the table is correct, the boost is calculated boost control offset + engine load in Kpa. U need to edit definition from load8 to loadboost then convert KPa to psi n subtract atmospheric pressure from that (14.5psi ) to get the boost u see in your boost gauge. U may wan to test if its correct. Pls refer link below.

http://www.evoxforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=15947

I don't mind letting you tune my car and it's opportunity that we can learn together :)