ECU tuning

hey guys..

i'm running on Zeals now and they are very very stiff!!! i don't know how long i can last,trying to find a good compromise now but rather impossible on our very very bad roads.
if i do decide to change,i'll probably get Bilsteins..they made a whole lotta difference to the Evo9 i heard\read.changed the car's character..better ride but still with that supernatural handling!! great stuff..

thanx for the link WS..btw anyone know where i can source a set of SSR GT2 alloys? 17" preferably but will consider 18"s as well.
if i can source these,then i'll have a set of CE28Ns available for sale..if i can source the GT2s

supergripen,

Yo bro, try Wangan from Sunway... I seen it b4... But not sure whether it fit for Scooby... Call them n ask! What color is ur CE28N?

wetsprocket,

Yo bro, do u hv any fren tht r using e-manage ECU??? How's de result? Or do u think most ECUs r pretty much de same whereas it really depends on de tuners??? :_:

I believe that for standalone ECUs, there is not much difference between the performance and capabilities of the major brand products, like Apexi, Greddy, Motec, etc. The real question is whether the tuner is able to extract the best from it.

So yes, I would agree that if someone wants to go for standalone ECU, he must be very sure that the tuner is damn good, rather than worry too much about getting the right brand.

Stormvolution 9 said:
supergripen,

Yo bro, try Wangan from Sunway... I seen it b4... But not sure whether it fit for Scooby... Call them n ask! What color is ur CE28N?

its bronze without the center cap 17"..its superlight at 13.8lbs but i just don't like the shape la..

supergripen,

Wow!!! CE28N is a all time favourate rims le... So u really dun like it meh? Hahaha... U prefer 5-spoke rim better la? At de moment myself stil using de ori rims... No intention to change it at de moment... Is de rims come together with de car when u bought it??? Besides, r u thinking of doing de bodykit / outlook? Tht's gonna spend u lots too man... Hehehe... :_:

wetsprocket,

Hey bro, u r de Subaru club member? Hehehe... What abt tyres??? Am using AD07 at de moment... Pretty good n satisfy... Very good n gripping during dry n as for wet, its a bit scary when driving fast... Hahaha... i suppose v r not allow to drive fast during wets la... Sorry for asking so many Qs to u... As i onli wanna someone to share with me oso... Hope u dun mind ya!!! :_: Actually myself do hv frens who r drivng Scooby too... Mostly Ver 7, 8 n 9!!! And none of them from de Scooby club la...

Thx for sharing!!!

Errr... How come de Subaru thread is a bit quiet huh??? My opinion la... No offence... :_:

Sorry to ask noob question..im new too with this subaru stuff..can all this apply to subaru forester sf5 1998? i mean the ecu tunning and as far as i know the sf5 share the same engine with the gc model..am i rite? i was planning to change the bov..but after reading all this i cancel it..coz really want the pshh pshh sound.

Thanks(BlackFrostie)

supergripen, notice that you just got your STI 8. Congrats! How much did you pay for it and where did you get yours? What colour is it? Which workshop or mechanic do you send for ECU upgrade and tuning? I heard not many good/reliable scooby tuners around KL.

BTW, any issues or regrets since getting it? fc? traffic jams? sore left leg? :) just wondering cos i'm plannig of getting one... thanks

Yo Scooby fans,

My mech jus install a Motec M800 into his Ver8!!! :shocked: Within de next few days should b able to see how his Scooby doing!!! Anyway his ultimate aim is to produce a 500hp++ Scooby!!!

Anyone interested in a M800 too???

wowoww... damn 500++hp MONSTER... rec a video share with us.. :regular_smile: which version.. think m800 good for racing if street use..hemmm.. :Not_Impressed:

Its Ver 8!!! Dressing up nisely in Charge Speed Kit!!! Pretty 'chun'!!! And de driver himself oso a regular track goer... Hehehe... Take video ah... Am not into it wo... If u r interested to talk to him (de owner cum mech cum bozz), do let me know... I can pass his contact to u!!! :_:

U b suprising man... How well de M800 can do on de street!!! I hv try de M800 E9!!! It is superb!!! No joke abt it n am not here to advertise... Hahaha.. Jus purely sharing!!! :regular_smile:

Storm - please share your mech's experience after a few days. Interested to know how it goes. Also, where's your mech's workshop?

hey guys..been away on work.

boostmasta..i've had the v8 for about a month now.the engine is still stock standard but i've swapped my wooden Zeals for a set of STi inverted dampers and 'pink' springs and also Group-N tophats.wow!! the car now rides great and the handling is fantastic.i get more feel through the seat of the pants and also the steering.the Zeals are great for track work but for real world driving on our terrible roads,the setup i have now is superb!!
the only grudge i have is that the lowering from the 'pinks' are not enough for my liking.it only lowers by 20mm front and rear and the fronts have about 3 fingers gap.ugly..
so my next move is to get Whiteline Control springs which lowers by 30mm and also go for Whiteline swaybars front and rear and maybe the Anti-Lift Kit.
been concentrating on the handling aspect of the car..most important.next is to learn how to use the DCCD in manual mode.

truth be told i'm kinda hungry for more power from the engine..starting to have that 'not enuff power' feel already.once i've sorted out the handling(the car and also my skills),i'll start doing up the engine.target is 300hp awhp.

boostmasta,

Hey fren, my mech name is Adam n here is his contact 012 - 2014 939!!! :_: He jus shifthed his shop to Sunway!!! Its best tht u can call him up for direction as i dun really know what tht area named! Hvnt been to visit him yet bro... Hahaha... Guess his Scooby should hv done dy by now...

supergripen,

Yo fren, long time didnt see u posting man... Hahaha... Yeah, 1st thingy to do is to improve de car handling... U r really heading towards de right direction base on what u mentioned!!! :regular_smile: Besides, r u considering abt de Cusco under carriage H-bar too? Am getting a new set of HKS Hiper Max II suspension with Eibach spring... Gonna fix it this few days...

What u gonna do to ur car for more engine? Mind to share out ur plan??? Thx!!! :_:

Oh yeah, Jus wanna to share something... I went to view this Black S204 a wk ago... Fantastic!!! Side by side, an Ver9 STi no fight le... De S204 with 18" wheels, lowered body n STi front lip!!! Underneat, there r lotsa goodies from STi too... So i guess de chasis should b very good as well as de car handling!!! :shades_smile: Here r some pics i took with my handphone...

hey storm...ya la,very busy lately with work.worker class always like this la,work your arse off for a measly paycheck.what to do..

anyways,yeah..i'm going the Aussie way of tuning the suspension.they don't believe in having superstiff dampers and springs for fast road use.they specify a slightly softer setting for the springs and dampers so that even bad roads won't unsettle the car especially around corners.instead,they use stiff adj anti-roll bars and anti lift kit to control the car's cornering balance.note also that Prodrive prescribes the same methodology and you know how good the guys at Prodrive are..i believe these are more suitable to our roads.try taking a badly surfaced corner with stiff coilovers and u'll be bouncing your way off the road and into that tree!! a good ride quality is very very important to me cuz it'll influence how comfy u are ,and a comfy driver will be able to perform better.even the car will appreciate it as the ride won't shake the car to bits!!
do update us on the HKS Hipermax+Eibach..how much did it cost ya and where did u get it?? once u've installed it,give us a review..i think HKS is okay cuz Prodrive Japan uses it too.cool stuff bro..

engine wise,i dunno yet.but basic stuffs such as silicone pipings in the engine bay,hi flo drop in airfilter,HKS up-pipe,HKS down-pipe,HKS HiPower and also ECU tuning.that'll be stage one.oh yeah,a short shifter will be good.really helps when u are street racing..ooopppsss!!!! i didn't say that..

supergripen,

Hahaha... Ya, i think u got a very good point here where v dun need a stiff dampers n spring for street use!!! Unless v r aiming for track attack!!! Oh yeah, of cause after i hv put on de HiperMax II + Eibach... i'll do a small little review here... De thing is with my fren - Aerotech, Nilai!!! It cost ard RM10k +/- including setting n stuffs.... Why am getting this sets of suspension is bcos i went for de track day on April in Sepang... From there i discovered 1 of de suspension oredi 'Gong off'... Need to b replaced... And this fren of mine recommended me de above set up... So i'll give it a try!!! :regular_smile:

So do u hv any ECU brand in mind at de moment?

Hey Super - is yours a V8 STI or just V8? Did you get it at Naza? How are their cars compared to otehr dealers out there. Also, one very important thing what kind of mileage are you getting? I heard that these monsters give ard 300kms on almost full tank (60litres) in open/jam city driving - is that true? (I'm straightsixers la :))