Annual maintenance polish. Crucial for white cars.

Veloc

One may notice that white paint does not reflect much. But a well kept white car can have very high gloss and be a real head turner. For black, it is difficult to keep fine scratches away. As for white, it is dirt. A weekly wash, monthly wax, bi-annually clay and yearly polish can maintain a white paint's pure unadulterated colour.

This white car was sent recently for a light polish to restore colour, clarity and gloss to the paint. Due to camera limitation and difficulty in showing defects in white paint, some before-after pictures may not have a very visible difference in photos.
Screen+shot+2012-10-22+at+8.59.04+AM.png

Preparation begin with the wheels....
DSC02201.JPG

DSC02202.JPG

Washed with Osren Degreaser FX
DSC02204.JPG

Just because it looks clean, doesn't mean that nothing is there. Further treatment by Iron-X releases all unseen and embedded iron particles and brake dust.
DSC02205.JPG

Done
DSC02299.JPG

50/50
DSC02202.JPG

Spot cleaning begins... There will always be polish residue left by previous careless polishers
DSC02256.JPG

Optimum Power Clean takes a long time to remove this hardened caked residue. So Autoglym Super Resin Polish was used.
DSC02274.JPG

Cleaning trapped dirt in the badges with opc.
DSC02275.JPG

Left before, right after.
DSC02277.JPG

Washing finally reveals a lot of embedded dirt that cannot be removed. Even claying could not remove the blackish stains in the white paint. Not the slight black patches on the C-pillar. I suspect this could be a single stage, highly porous paint.
DSC02214.JPG

Surface inspection reveals lack of clarity and definition.
DSC02216.JPG

DSC02218.JPG

Paint correction begins. Polishing was done using Optimum Hyper Polish on Optimum red pad. A second pass was done to burnish the paint with the same products. Note before and after...
DSC02224-2.jpg

Just in case I am accused of snapping of-focus, here's more. Not very clear, but note the darker tone on the right side of the tape mark and the brighten up colour on the left.
DSC02226.JPG

Stare carefully in the middle and note there is a line dividing left-before and right-after. Note the brighter tone of the polished side.
DSC02229.JPG

With a halogen lamp, it is clear. Before...
DSC02238.JPG

After..
http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-9bOTpKnJVl8/UIYHxGJQ70I/AAAAAAAABOo/m0HCnX7W22k/s640/DSC02237.JPG

50/50 shot. Left-before, right-after.
DSC02231.JPG

Driver's door before
DSC02251.JPG

Driver's door after.
DSC02249.JPG

Finished.
DSC02279.JPG

Final inspection for holograms. The car was then given a 2-stage paint decontamination to remove any polishing oils. Applied with sealant (Optimum Opti-seal) and allowed to fully cure, and finally topped with Optimum Car Wax.
DSC02281.JPG

DSC02282.JPG

Some post shots the next morning...
DSC02241.JPG

DSC02289.JPG

DSC02290.JPG

DSC02296.JPG

DSC02292.JPG

As for my pads... I was right about single stage. Tough time to clean.
DSC02221.JPG

Thank you.

• Screen shot 2012-10-22 at 8.59.04 AM.png
    Screen shot 2012-10-22 at 8.59.04 AM.png
    670.6 KB · Views: 290
Single stage paint...... ahhhh... my bane... my enemy.... i dun like single stage as it messes with my pads as well.

I like my orange pad remain orange and red pad remain red.... not other color. Hehe.

Nice job mate.

Single stage paint...... ahhhh... my bane... my enemy.... i dun like single stage as it messes with my pads as well.

I like my orange pad remain orange and red pad remain red.... not other color. Hehe.

Nice job mate.

waaaaa epic brushes!!!!

The Following 8 Users Liked Veloc For This Useful Post:
bera (10-24-2012), DarkAccoon (10-24-2012), ehdrian (10-24-2012), ken yeang (10-25-2012), LittleWhiteWagon (10-25-2012), s1tl (10-24-2012), seech (10-25-2012), V53 (10-24-2012)

thanks for the cheers and encouragement guys...

---------- Post added at 08:39 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:34 PM ----------

---------- Post added at 08:41 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:39 PM ----------

Just more post pictures... The day right after the polish had really grey skies so it was bad for pictures... Considering I use a cheapo camera...

2012-10-28+10.08.14.jpg

2012-10-28+10.08.37.jpg