NISSAN GTR R35 tyre problem :'(

U should've known what you're gonna get yourself into when u purchased the car, plus if u can afford the car, u should be able to afford the tires. Not surprised if after this you might be asking on how to reduce maintenance cost or cheaper insurance and roadtax :driver:

I bought this car quite cheap from my brother, hes a sofware engineer. So i dont want to sell the car because he really loved it. So im taking care of it on his behalf.

I really dont know anything about cars because im not a car guy. I love travelling.

I did not think about the brakes. Can something be done about the brakes? Can i change it to smaller ones together with the wheels?

I can change the tyres for RM10,000, i have the money, but i think its just too much of a waste, wasting my hard earned money on a bunch of tyres which are going to wear out and dissapear on the surface of the road when im using the car.

I just want simple smaller rims and affordable tyres.
Changing to smaller brakes you will not be able to stop this brute.

The cheaper tyre option is the OEM Bridgestone RE070R which retails at slightly above 8k per set (4pcs new). Try not to downgrade the wheels size. Otherwise you can get used OEM R35 tyres from tyre shops (I've seen a few shops selling used R35 tyres, and a few of them thrown across the street from ATS Automobile) or from V-Spec as mentioned above.

Otherwise if you insist on downgrading, I'm happy to take the OEM wheels and worn out tyres from you AND pay for a set of replacement rims + tyres. If the brakes cannot clear the smaller wheels, I'll take the OEM brakes and replace them with smaller brakes, all at no cost to you. However I won't be responsible if this action upsets the very sensitive electronics on your car.

Thats a good idea, I still insist on downgrading. Can you do it? What type of rims are you planning to put in my car? I dont care about whatever rims to put,i just dont want those flashy ones. You can have my original brakes, and replace them with smaller brakes, as long as they are working, but what brakes are you planning to give me ? Do i have to pay money to you to change the brakes? I just want to know the total cost of chaning rims and changing the smaller brakes. Thanks.

I dont care about the sensitive electronics, because as i said, im not a racer. The fastest i have been in my life is 120kmh in that GTR, i dont dare to drive fast. And yes, you guys are suprised and thought that there might not be guys like me in this world, but hey, im here.

---------- Post added at 07:32 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:29 PM ----------

Hi there,

I have the perfect solution for you. I have a complete set of Lexus LS430 17 inch rims and Lexus LS400 4-pot brakes that I am happy to swap for your rims and brakes.
The tyres are brand new Falken Ziex 912s.
A new set only costs 1600 for all 4 tyres.

Awaiting your PM.

Many thanks! :)

Will it fit? How much will it cost me if i trade it with my oem rims,tyres and brakes ? How much do i need to add? I just want to know the price. Price is the main issue.

Thats a good idea, I still insist on downgrading. Can you do it? What type of rims are you planning to put in my car? I dont care about whatever rims to put,i just dont want those flashy ones. You can have my original brakes, and replace them with smaller brakes, as long as they are working, but what brakes are you planning to give me ? Do i have to pay money to you to change the brakes? I just want to know the total cost of chaning rims and changing the smaller brakes. Thanks.

I dont care about the sensitive electronics, because as i said, im not a racer. The fastest i have been in my life is 120kmh in that GTR, i dont dare to drive fast. And yes, you guys are suprised and thought that there might not be guys like me in this world, but hey, im here.

---------- Post added at 07:32 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:29 PM ----------

Will it fit? How much will it cost me if i trade it with my oem rims,tyres and brakes ? How much do i need to add? I just want to know the price. Price is the main issue.

:adore::banghead:

you sure you work offshore?

gtrmaniac:

No disrespect to you,

Trust me, everyone here wants to believe. But to be honest the forummers here have battled trolls and clones for over 10 years since they were in their 20s.

If you're not genuine, they're only playing along.
If you're genuine, it's time you show some proof.

You don't know about the basic things of car. I suggest you just keep everything stock and don't change anything. People will cheat you bcos you don't know anything !!! I will change my 4pot with your 6pot, but what the hell? It is cheating only.
From what you asking here, can imagine what silly thing will happen to you.
You don't have money then just keep the car in garage and store it !
Better than when your brother come back and realize that he have to kill you.

People here asking " is it a joke ? " it means you sound like a joker ! It means further, what you asking here, no one will do it in his world.

The wheel size n brake is there 4 a reason! U dont just simply change it smaller as u wish. Y not u ask 'can i fit wira disc into the gtr? That one 13" wheel also can fit. Silverstone tyre cheap cheap! Then try your stopping power n c. I bet your disc will melt!

Anyone wanna trade their ferrari 458 italia for saga blm? Gives good mileage compared to ferrari! LOL

One more thing as tom posted, i would like to see your gtr picture to prove that you are not kidding here also !

---------- Post added at 11:41 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:38 PM ----------

Anyone wanna trade their ferrari 458 italia for saga blm? Gives good mileage compared to ferrari! LOL

Haha...I change my euro r stock brake kit with him if he insisted...first corner sure accident. Haha.
Skyline owner better give some advice...if not...one more gtr wasted.

lol wtf! assume you dont know anything about car, but once you look at gtr appearance dont you know it is a sport car? may i know what was your previous ride?

gtrmaniac:

No disrespect to you,

Trust me, everyone here wants to believe. But to be honest the forummers here have battled trolls and clones for over 10 years since they were in their 20s.

If you're not genuine, they're only playing along.
If you're genuine, it's time you show some proof.

Mr Tom, why should everything have proof? This is a forum, where people ask other people for ideas and their recommendation, so it is up to them and you to recommend what you think is good for us and the society. Nobody is forcing anybody to share their piece of mind. So does that mean if i have to ask a question in a forum, i have to show evidence, proof of my car pictures, proof of purchase and so on?

"My Myvi tyre punctured. Can anybody recommend any good workshop?" - So i have to upload a picture of my punctured tyre, and a picture of my car, as proof, otherwise nobody will believe me? Is that what you are trying to say? I think it is unprofessional, and i have other better things to do in my life, rather than wasting time in front of my laptop, taking pictures of my car, just so that people will believe me. Haih.

Yes i was thinking to upload my car pictures, but i am very busy, but since it has come to this, i will upload the pictures after this.

And to tell you the truth, i dont even know how to upload a picture in this forum. But just to satisfy you, and to prove that you are wrong, i will have to waste my time now for the sake of making everyone believe me.

• 35734_126702474037551_5228106_n.jpg
    35734_126702474037551_5228106_n.jpg
    76 KB · Views: 753
  • 64049_150350708339394_4289569_n.jpg
    64049_150350708339394_4289569_n.jpg
    45.8 KB · Views: 791
  • 72131_152639441443854_5758231_n.jpg
    72131_152639441443854_5758231_n.jpg
    49.5 KB · Views: 822
People want to believe u own the car, it's just that the things you're asking for is just so so ridiculous and it does make it sound fishy. At the end of the day it's your car, so what ever makes you happy man

Just keep it stock buddy.. That 10k replacement will prolly last u 3-4yrs. Assuming u don't mind don't care and don't know bout expired tires coz u drive it 120kmh max and 3 months once. Offshore fellas like u, 1 month salary can change 1 set of 10k's tires, whether u want it or not only. Don't take things for granted.

For someone who works offshore (meaning $$$) and 'appreciates a GTR' you sound like a sorry excuse of a car enthusiast. You claim to appreciate the GTR after doing your homework yet you don't care that the car is going to become crap after downrating the brakes and wheels, you don't even care that the electronics is going to fail if you do something weird like downsizing the calipers.

If you really did understand the GTR and if this car really is your stock GTR, making the electronics unhappy means the car is going to refuse to work after the swap. If it is modified and made to work regardless of parts change then you're probably going to go down in a big ball of flames trying to jam brake on the highway at 100km/h. Why? The weight of the car alone will explain why the brakes are as big as they are... and you want to downgrade them??

Dude, if the GTR really is a hassle to maintain and you really do own one, do yourself a favour and sell the car to someone who appreciates the cars beauty (inside and out) and get yourself a Vios. 15" tyres are cheap and brake pads are cheap too. Ride comfort isn't too bad and excellent FC.

:sleep:

You can downgrade the rims and tyres but to an extent only, but not the brakes. They are there for a reason. Most I know will upgrade further not downgrade. Probably the Nissan CEO see this topic he will cry. Their R&D took 5 years to develop the GTR into this Godzilla.....

gtrmaniac,

For the love of god, please...oh please...leave everything as it is and just buy an expensive tires for the car. Worst case, if you are still unsure of spec, just follow on what stated on the old tires. Just ask forumers here what brand should they recommend. Shouldn't be that hard too google a bit as well.

Seriously, don't ever gamble your life with cheap item/parts especially when it comes to brakes, tires & suspensions. We're talking about 480++hp to potentially 1,000 hp and a 1.7 tonne weight of tarmac monster over here.

Since you aren't a car enthusiast, I suggest that you try to join other GTR owners for couple of TT session or sunday drives. Who knows, someday, you will have a better view and perspective towards the car that you're having right now.

:driver:

OMG.! i think we will lose another GTR by this year.. :banghead::banghead::banghead:

dear gtrmaniac,
your nick shows like you are a GTR enthusiast.
just change your nick to "gtrkiller", it is more suitable.
you have ripped our heart as a car lover. :stupid::bawling:

you are working offshore, fore sure you have good education.
think wisely, there must be reason why did Nissan equipped the car with such rims an brakes size..
if you feel that the cost is not relevant. just sell the car..don't do stupid things.
get a vios, put gt wing and 17" rims.. minyak jimat, tayar pun murah.. :rofl: