Can these engine oil mix?

jerrysiow

I've bought different brands of engine oil recently and there are leftover (around 1liter) in each bottle.

1. Penzzoil Platinum 5w-30 (Fully synthetic)
2. Amsoil XL 5w-30 (Semi synthetic)
3. Castrol magnatec A5 (Fully synthetic)

Is it advisable to mix them for my next service? Thank you.

Not adviceable as different brand of engine oil came with different additives & blending tech. Unless u mixing additional engine oil addtives in ur 4L oil change, ie: Engine oil booster / engine protector / engine oil stablelizer / engine oil friction modifier & etc...(mostly in small packaging(300ml-500ml) not like current u mixing them in 1 liter different branding...)

*usually when we mix , fully + fully / semi syn +semi syn / mineral + mineral, viscosity different by 10 still acceptable... but at ur own risk lah:rofl:

If you don't want them, give it to me......I will use it since mine is old engine and have been mixing all my oils......

you all are bad. Of course i want my leftover engine oil!

So, you dare to mix and use? If yes, you keep loh!
We just afraid you throw away so better ask you to give us.....:rofl:

Next best thing is to purchase same oil and use them up. Then in future keep to one brand, then you won't have this problem of leftovers.....

Ic, ok. Thank you chaser.

One more thing to remind u, once u upgrade ur oil grade, pls do not down graded it!

ie: Semi-syn up to Fully-syn(correct), Fully-syn changed to semi-syn / mineral(wrong & might spoilt ur engine...)
*unless u flush ur engine then might consider to pour in lower grade fresh oil. But since u already use the best y use back only good? just my 2cents.:driver:

Only mix two of them and leave 1 behind lor....coz you wont know when you needed it. I always keep 1-2 liter of new engine oil for any case of emergency, not only for myself but for my friends as well. I once saved my friend when his seal leaked like water tap so i top up for him and drove to the mechanic.

So, you dare to mix and use? If yes, you keep loh!
We just afraid you throw away so better ask you to give us.....:rofl:

Next best thing is to purchase same oil and use them up. Then in future keep to one brand, then you won't have this problem of leftovers.....

Haha, see how first but definitely I wont throw away my leftover engine oil. Hmm, because wanna try out different engine oil ma. See which 1 give better result.

---------- Post added at 10:18 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:13 AM ----------

One more thing to remind u, once u upgrade ur oil grade, pls do not down graded it!

ie: Semi-syn up to Fully-syn(correct), Fully-syn changed to semi-syn / mineral(wrong & might spoilt ur engine...)
*unless u flush ur engine then might consider to pour in lower grade fresh oil. But since u already use the best y use back only good? just my 2cents.:driver:

Ic, I won't use mineral oil. But, if I found out my engine sound become louder and the oil is dark brownish, I will just change the engine oil regardless on the mileage clocked.

I didn't know it will damage the engine...from Chemlube since I no longer driving the car, my dad send to another workshop using castrol, just hope is fully syn...need to check...

last time i will use it for short period of time only.
less then 3k km and then change to my current/latest preferred brand.

I've bought different brands of engine oil recently and there are leftover (around 1liter) in each bottle.

1. Penzzoil Platinum 5w-30 (Fully synthetic)
2. Amsoil XL 5w-30 (Semi synthetic)
3. Castrol magnatec A5 (Fully synthetic)

Is it advisable to mix them for my next service? Thank you.

If all 3 oils have the same viscosity, it'll work la. But don't keep it in the car too long though. Shorten the OCI to maybe 3000 to 5000km only for this oil mix.

Oil once opened is exposed to moisture and will deteriorate the performance of the oil (oxidation).

Oil is oil. Mixing different oil additives won't be detrimental to your cars performance but it's not going to be fantastic la. Just shorten the change intervals.

I remember a friend once told me...an opened engine oil bottle, have to use it within 3 months...or else it will not be that good or recommended to use anymore...

Haha, see how first but definitely I wont throw away my leftover engine oil. Hmm, because wanna try out different engine oil ma. See which 1 give better result.

Yup, I do that also, that is why I have all sorts of oil left over, so I mix and use them too....

---------- Post added at 03:53 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:51 PM ----------

I didn't know it will damage the engine...from Chemlube since I no longer driving the car, my dad send to another workshop using castrol, just hope is fully syn...need to check...

Nah! My engine 16 years old and was changing like FS, then SS up and down. Still running fine....

---------- Post added at 03:54 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:53 PM ----------

I remember a friend once told me...an opened engine oil bottle, have to use it within 3 months...or else it will not be that good or recommended to use anymore...

Seal it tight and keep indoors in store room or something. All my open oil I still use after 6 months

Nah. Don't listen to hearsay. It's usable, just a matter of how well it performs. I would just shorten the OCI. Oxidation and moisture might get into the oil mixture and just deteriorate the performance of the oil, it won't make it unusable. The only time it's unusable is if it breaks down due to high heat and we're talking redline hot engine temperatures.

I remember sometime ago I mixed some old fully syn 5W30, semi 5W40, mineral 10W40 and used it in my Myvi. Worked for about 3000km before it started feeling very heavy. Changed it there and then and the oil came out looking like honey :biggrin: But ultimately can still use.

Not recommended for race cars and track-days though.

Nah. Don't listen to hearsay. It's usable, just a matter of how well it performs. I would just shorten the OCI. Oxidation and moisture might get into the oil mixture and just deteriorate the performance of the oil, it won't make it unusable. The only time it's unusable is if it breaks down due to high heat and we're talking redline hot engine temperatures.

I remember sometime ago I mixed some old fully syn 5W30, semi 5W40, mineral 10W40 and used it in my Myvi. Worked for about 3000km before it started feeling very heavy. Changed it there and then and the oil came out looking like honey :biggrin: But ultimately can still use.

Not recommended for race cars and track-days though.

Ya, agree with you. My dad's lorry engine never failed after pour in those leftover engine oil into his 15 years old Isuzu engine. And the worker drive it everyday until now.