MITI to announce cuts in duties for cars from Japan, Australia

all those talk about improving public transport but end up those calling for an improve public transport (even if it is improved to world class level) will still end up driving their cars everywhere...

:biggrin:
typical of selfish/self centered thinking... improve public transport so others can use it while i will drive mentality..

back to square one right?
:stupid::thefinger:

if public transportation is improved, i am sure 75% who drive to work now will travel by public transport.
Improving doesnt only mean tell ppl to use public transport , but give them a reason to travel by public transport . EG - bus only lane on federal highway. so if u go by car to a certain place,may b take u 45 minutes becoz of jam , but if go by bus may b 10-15 mins can reach . u think ppl dowan use public transport meh ?:smokin:

i used public transport back during school days. it was sufficient then as the route i traveled had frequent and on-time buses. i would go back to public transport only if it was efficient.

problem with public transportation is somebody needs to know how to play transport tycoon/simcity and take overall control over who goes where and when using what bus/train. I don't think our city planner has an idea how to plan this out. a huge amount of info needs to be processed but seeing as to how this country is run...not very high hopes that our public transport network will ever be above average...maybe they need cheat codes?

Those currently using trains also gotta drive and park at the station and still having their cars broken into. My colleague had her wira AB stolen.

Close to x happening...or it wld have already..govt been promoting ppl to use public transport for so long already...but til something is really done to improve it it will always remain just BS talk n x walk...

nope....knee jerk response from gomen cos PKR announced they would reduce car taxes?

now they bz scratching their heads...alamak dah announce tapi.......how to do?

It was mentioned dis morning radio news...x sure official announcement or x tho

nope....knee jerk response from gomen cos PKR announced they would reduce car taxes?

now they bz scratching their heads...alamak dah announce tapi.......how to do?

looks like i'm wrong...it's their own original idea. wow...they really want to help us the rakyat out!

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/cheaper-cars-from-japan-australia-nothing-to-do-with-pakatan-manifesto-says-putrajaya/

The Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) explained that the announcement has been in the works for the last three years after discussions between the government and industry players.

they've been working so hard for the past 3 years to help us out! I'm so touched...

According to MITI, prices of new cars have already started to come down in the last two to three months, by about three to five per cent.

this is so true cos the lancer was originally sold for around RM115k but is now being sold at RM125k. really price go down la! price drop more than 5% even!

Those currently using trains also gotta drive and park at the station and still having their cars broken into. My colleague had her wira AB stolen.

When they did KTM twin track and the LRT they tried to have feeder buses connecting to the stations, but that all have gone into smoke...:mad:
Now bus companies say making loses and some already want to close down, how to improve?:confused:

if public transportation is improved, i am sure 75% who drive to work now will travel by public transport.
Improving doesnt only mean tell ppl to use public transport , but give them a reason to travel by public transport . EG - bus only lane on federal highway. so if u go by car to a certain place,may b take u 45 minutes becoz of jam , but if go by bus may b 10-15 mins can reach . u think ppl dowan use public transport meh ?:smokin:

case in point...

my PJ neighbour... with the LRT station literally a stone throw away (give and take 100m) keep bitching about public transport not good.. hence she needs a car and then bitch about car price as usual

and guess what, she works in Menara Maxis... LRT can reach KLCC then walk to menara maxis.. instead she choose to drive... then complain again about public transport and repeat the same song...

no she dont have kids to pickup to and from work... and no, she do not have old ppl/in-laws living with her that she need to ferry around before/after work...

:thefinger:

case in point...

my PJ neighbour... with the LRT station literally a stone throw away (give and take 100m) keep bitching about public transport not good.. hence she needs a car and then bitch about car price as usual

and guess what, she works in Menara Maxis... LRT can reach KLCC then walk to menara maxis.. instead she choose to drive... then complain again about public transport and repeat the same song...

no she dont have kids to pickup to and from work... and no, she do not have old ppl/in-laws living with her that she need to ferry around before/after work...

i drive to work everyday. 30 minutes-45 minutes because of jam.if no jam may b 10-15 minutes.around 20 km . if i take bus will take me 2 hours becoz i need to take 2 buses(that is if am willing to walk around 2-3 km everyday to the bus stop) or else i need to take 3 buses to reach my working place. may b i should stop complaining and take public transport because of their efficency
agree with you bro , malaysian public transportation is damn good . :adore:

Never mind about high car prices la... So what? I want cheap cheap RON97 like RM1.10. Please announce this instead.

RON97 is a premium :P do you drive Lamborghini?
RON95 is sufficient for most passenger cars.

I want cheap cheap RON95 for my boat, RON97 should be unsubsidized so all those people driving Lambo pay full price.

RON97 is a premium :P do you drive Lamborghini?
RON95 is sufficient for most passenger cars.

I want cheap cheap RON95 for my boat, RON97 should be unsubsidized so all those people driving Lambo pay full price.

RON97 was made a premium only in recent years. the one who decided so is the beloved government who charges us 85% on car we buy, 6% on food we eat in restaurant. They also told me our diesel fuel is good. So it must be good I guess.

case in point...

Many like that woh! Status issue.....I also got car mah!....:rolleyes:

---------- Post added at 08:02 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:59 AM ----------

i drive to work everyday. 30 minutes-45 minutes because of jam.if no jam may b 10-15 minutes.around 20 km . if i take bus will take me 2 hours becoz i need to take 2 buses(that is if am willing to walk around 2-3 km everyday to the bus stop) or else i need to take 3 buses to reach my working place. may b i should stop complaining and take public transport because of their efficency
agree with you bro , malaysian public transportation is damn good . :adore:

Same here brother. If my car in workshop I used to take the KTM to work, but will need my colleague to fetch me as there is no connecting bus to my office, and in the evening need him to drop me off again. Firstly very troublesome, and secondly the amount of people jamming up in the train like sardine and the inefficient timing of the trains....:mad:

---------- Post added at 08:03 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:02 AM ----------

RON97 was made a premium only in recent years. the one who decided so is the beloved government who charges us 85% on car we buy, 6% on food we eat in restaurant. They also told me our diesel fuel is good. So it must be good I guess.

Yup, difference of Ron 97 to 92 last time was like 2sens only....:confused:

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/putrajaya-told-to-cut-excise-tax-if-serious-about-cheaper-cars/

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/car-price-cut-benefits-few-malaysians-says-pekema/

He also said the 13.6 per cent import tax cut for cars in the 2,500-3,000cc fuel capacity range would only affect 21,000 units a year, noting that a large proportion of the foreign cars favoured by Malaysians were completely built in Japan, which formed around 3.5 per cent of the total industry volume.
somehow i feel that opposition comments make more sense. gomen made the announcement but didnt point out specifically that the reduction will only affect those who require it the least. those who can afford 2.5l cars n above dont need the tax reduction, no?