MITI to announce cuts in duties for cars from Japan, Australia

all those talk about improving public transport but end up those calling for an improve public transport (even if it is improved to world class level) will still end up driving their cars everywhere...

:biggrin:
typical of selfish/self centered thinking... improve public transport so others can use it while i will drive mentality..

back to square one right?
:stupid::thefinger:

bro,
pls go singapore or hong kong.....try their MRT n other public transport.....u feel like "Y Want To Own A Liability-CAR".....haha:idea:

RON97 was made a premium only in recent years. the one who decided so is the beloved government who charges us 85% on car we buy, 6% on food we eat in restaurant. They also told me our diesel fuel is good. So it must be good I guess.

u don't see your regular zap fan stall/neighbourhood restaurant charging 6% right?

basically if u want to eat TGIF/Chilis/Starbucks/McD/etc, u prepare to pay the tax la...
as are those necessary?

mau tembak BN also please shoot with reasoning laaaa....
:hmmmm:

bro,
pls go singapore or hong kong.....try their MRT n other public transport.....u feel like "Y Want To Own A Liability-CAR".....haha:idea:

lived in singapore for a few years and yes, i would prefer to have my own car there even with their wide public transport coverage...

luckily my company provides me with one...
:smokin:

and your reasoning?

bro,

Even in Bangkok I use their sky train......:adore:

---------- Post added at 09:53 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:52 AM ----------

u don't see your regular zap fan stall/neighbourhood restaurant charging 6% right?

basically if u want to eat TGIF/Chilis/Starbucks/McD/etc, u prepare to pay the tax la...
as are those necessary?

mau tembak BN also please shoot with reasoning laaaa....
:hmmmm:

We better tt in mamak stall in future.....:rofl:

MITI announce to reduce duty import of car from Japan and Australia...
According the paper, MITI required few years to implement this in order to save the local product.
This seems long term plan and probably hard to believe...

How about they reduce or remove the taxation on spare parts from Japan & Australia as 1st step.
Showing that they very sincere on this... Giving an opportunity for the people to have good replacement.

MITI announce to reduce duty import of car from Japan and Australia...
According the paper, MITI required few years to implement this in order to save the local product.
This seems long term plan and probably hard to believe...

How about they reduce or remove the taxation on spare parts from Japan & Australia as 1st step.
Showing that they very sincere on this... Giving an opportunity for the people to have good replacement.

They already bar some half cut imports and also they need to safe guard local industry, so how will they remove the duty?

ixeo - please look at my signature...LOL

Noted. So your road tax money is used to subsidized those unfortunate souls driving anything below 1.6L displacement.

On behalf of them I thank you for you generosity, and keep it up :biggrin: I hope you get a V12 lambo or ferrari soon.

hehehe....damn geng la this discussion.

BTW, u all remember they said they will cut import tax on cars from ASEAN under AFTA?

They cut.. but they added some other taxes so we will just have to wait an see..

There's a follow up story in paultan.or today with an excerpt of a statement from Proton...very interesting to read. here

Import duties for cars from Japan, Australia to be reduced - MITI

I'm just curious to see what happen after they cut import tax. will they raise other taxes?

Or will this result in scrapping of older cars in the long term?

hey, cars will be cheap what...why keep old car? buy new la!

vr2turbo,
Yup... bar on half cut but not the new parts...
This will promote lower cost of maintenance...
Since you need car from Japan/Australia, definitely u need the parts also...
Takkan getting parts from India or Bangladesh kot...

Honestly, it is pretty clear that this announcement is a "feel good" measure for the upcoming general erections. These jokers just announce without details on how it will work. And is it excise duty? import duty? Or what? And how will it affect recond car market? Does it apply only for new cars?

Seriously, they just announce, happy happy after they win the erections they can just "oops we made a mistake, need to rollback and review this policy".

Don't fall for this trap again, cause once they win the erections you will get it in the starfish.

hehehe....damn geng la this discussion.

BTW, u all remember they said they will cut import tax on cars from ASEAN under AFTA?

They cut.. but they added some other taxes so we will just have to wait an see..

There's a follow up story in paultan.or today with an excerpt of a statement from Proton...very interesting to read. here

Import duties for cars from Japan, Australia to be reduced - MITI

I'm just curious to see what happen after they cut import tax. will they raise other taxes?

Or will this result in scrapping of older cars in the long term?

hey, cars will be cheap what...why keep old car? buy new la!

Let's also not forget how long it took for them to implement AFTA. 10, 15 years?

the tax i want cut is excise tax...

i believe we save more with reduction in excise tax instead of import tax...

Bingo! But a lot of Malaysians bodoh lah, they don't know how it works. Over lunch I hear people say don't change car now wait for tax to drop. Drop their kepala otak.

They drop import tax for cars from Jap & Aus (since when we got cars from Aus LOL) and increase excise duty across the board. Kantoi.

Let's also not forget how long it took for them to implement AFTA. 10, 15 years?

Exactly my point bro... this is a feel good announcement more than anything.

If they wanted to do it, the could have done it years ago. They are only doing it after Pakatan came up with the idea.
If you look at Proton's statement in Paultan.org, they say they are prepared. I say they have been prepared for a long time thanks to the protection they got from gomen.

It's another wait and see game.

vr2turbo,
Yup... bar on half cut but not the new parts...
This will promote lower cost of maintenance...
Since you need car from Japan/Australia, definitely u need the parts also...
Takkan getting parts from India or Bangladesh kot...

Their parts will come from Thailand.....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 04:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:44 PM ----------

They give you by right hand, then left hand take back......:mad: