I used to think Mercedes is uncle car...

Dad had a W124 before, but sold it coz need the moolah. Originally was a manual transmission and having a foot brake. But later changed to Automatic coz dah tak larat to tekan clutch hahaha.

Same like most peeps, more like a rich man's car. Well, thats the scenario in Malaysia though hehehe. Two mercs that I adore are the 190E due to its size (W201) and the latest C -series (W204).

Cannot help, because Mercedes seen as high class. The Mercedes can get if pay Platinum funeral only. Lower class gets the van only....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 11:07 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:06 AM ----------

See what you can afford loh! Many series throughout the years......:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 11:09 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:07 AM ----------

If can buy, wife also don't want. Too many robbery cases already. Sister in law brother, one cousin and so on have been either robbed or being followed driving their Mercedes......:rolleyes:

If Audi RS6 used as coffin car, then the coffin are surely gonna fly out :rofl:
2nd issue, sales for Audi RS6 is going down in malaysia :rofl:

suddenly realised... weii I am not young anymore.. am an uncle oredi..that's why getting the merc.. but Old ones lerr.. hahahaahahah... been using it for 18 months.. so far only major repair is the GB.. which is due to wear and tear...

I think Im also old....

Had it for about 6 years plus...

What to do?

Old also never mind la...

Other than some minor noise on the suspension, just fill petrol and whacked it like a work horse!

Only got to worry about tyres, servicing and roadtax insurance...:biggrin:

I think Im also old....

Had it for about 6 years plus...

What to do?

Old also never mind la...

Other than some minor noise on the suspension, just fill petrol and whacked it like a work horse!

Only got to worry about tyres, servicing and roadtax insurance...:biggrin:

do come for TT....

me now awaiting for me W208.....

i prefer cls n cl model and must be 55 above..the best cls its brabus rocket..
but the true enthusiast only will buy merc if the price as same as or high than ferrari or lamborghini..

Actually if our road tax not so ridiculous, i don't mind rolling in a W220 S320. The only real concern I have is the Airmatic. Hell if I was in UK I'd roll in a S500 or S600.

Well, the reason why some people has a perception of Mercedes being an uncle car is because the older Mercedes are very reliable.
And the owner probably grew older along with their ride. Same goes to Volvo 2xx model.
I remember when I was a boy, there are few Mercedes Goldfish (as I call it..lol), maybe W114 and above model in my hometown which was mostly driven by uncle. And 20 years later, the very same few long live 'Goldfish' still roaming the town, albeit, the same drivers are mostly with white hair already. Hence, me too develop a perception of Mercedes being and old man car. This perception stay up to their famous 'tai sai ngan' model as back in 1998 (?), my uncles all rush to showroom to book their 'tai sai ngan'.

Current Mercedes design had been very tempting though. A far cry from their Goldfish era.

As far as I know, (probably I maybe wrong) Merz is a very very reliable and robust car.

Driven W124 clocked 1.6M km

Driven W210 clocked 300K miles

Driven W211 clocked 800K km

Without much of a major problem except wear & tear...

Some will laugh at me but Im not bothered!

Merc has been in the luxury class for a long time. The brand has built up to be a luxury brand and status vehicle. I remember there aren't many luxury brand in Malaysia before, not many Audis, BMWs, Volvos. Also, most that can afford a Merc are older age hence "uncle". The market today is quite different, most luxury brand also targeted younger crowds. I think people are more willing to spend money on very expensive cars compares to before. I enjoy my ML55 AMG, but it drinks gas like no tomorrow. Would love to upgrade to a ML63 AMG or X5M or Cayenne Turbo S :)

People driving those cars mentioned usually fuel guzzling is not an issue...

Having to go to the petrol station too often is an issue...

But some cars manufacturer had came out with a solution to their problem...

They built cars with 2 large fuel tanks!

U can fill left & right tanks at one go !:thefinger:

I need to highlight an important FACT. Mercedes Benz is losing market share to BMW, Audi among others. Reason being they are losing the young executive market. Thus the new A-Class is to revitalize the brand in that segment.

Mercedes Loses Ground to BMW, Audi in Luxury Sales Race - Bloomberg

While I may think a brand new C-Class is very nice, I would look very long and hard at the Audi A4 and the BMW 3 series, and maybe even the Lexus IS.

People driving those cars mentioned usually fuel guzzling is not an issue...

Having to go to the petrol station too often is an issue...

But some cars manufacturer had came out with a solution to their problem...

They built cars with 2 large fuel tanks!

U can fill left & right tanks at one go !:thefinger:

Ha ha. That is one solution. I just drive it occasionally. Daily my E36 or E46 at over 20 mpg. Sometimes motorcycle, 40 - 50 mpg :)

I need to highlight an important FACT. Mercedes Benz is losing market share to BMW, Audi among others. Reason being they are losing the young executive market. Thus the new A-Class is to revitalize the brand in that segment.

While I may think a brand new C-Class is very nice, I would look very long and hard at the Audi A4 and the BMW 3 series, and maybe even the Lexus IS.

I guess Merc realized that. Merc is known to be brutal especially on the straight. I like BMW for the performance and handling. Audi's design is outstanding, but a little lack in the performance & handling (other than R8). Even though European is not as reliable as Japanese, it has the "touch" that Japanese car lack of (kind of difficult to explain, more about "feeling", you know what I mean).

Happy motoring.

leonl, conti cars has that passion built in the car which you can feel. Every twitch, touch or turn, you felt it. Everytime I sit into the driver's seat of a conti. I feel the passion they put into the car when they built it. The car is built not to just make money but to let the owner enjoy the car. It's more than an everyday A to B transportation. It has more than that compare to the Japanese cars except for those high end or performance cars.

WHAT!?! You comparing the A4 with the 3-series and C-Class? Now it's my turn to be dissapointed in you. (hehehe) IMHO the current 3-series is downright fugly. The new C-class is very handsome and the A4 is the brute of the lot. I'd go for brute anytime and gotta love that S4 with the 19" rims and bodykit. Going over potholes? No problem, you won't feel a thing. Cornering? Magneto-thingy-whatchamacallit stiffens up the suspensions and corner like a god and oh... helloooo Quattro!

I think the IS is not too shabby in the looks department but if it was the same money as a A4, I wouldn't think twice about getting that A4.

I guess Merc realized that. Merc is known to be brutal especially on the straight. I like BMW for the performance and handling. Audi's design is outstanding, but a little lack in the performance & handling (other than R8). Even though European is not as reliable as Japanese, it has the "touch" that Japanese car lack of (kind of difficult to explain, more about "feeling", you know what I mean).

Oh come on man, the RS and the S range of those Audis are awesome handling and performance machines. The RS4 was on par with the M3 in tests but most reviewers are enthusiasts and any enthusiast will always say RWD will always be more fun compared to 4WD.

And I think the word you're looking for is "Soul". :biggrin: Not a lot of cars have that kind of feel.

leonl, conti cars has that passion built in the car which you can feel. Every twitch, touch or turn, you felt it. Everytime I sit into the driver's seat of a conti. I feel the passion they put into the car when they built it. The car is built not to just make money but to let the owner enjoy the car. It's more than an everyday A to B transportation. It has more than that compare to the Japanese cars except for those high end or performance cars.

Lexus won't be lacking in comparison to any continental.

WHAT!?! You comparing the A4 with the 3-series and C-Class? Now it's my turn to be dissapointed in you. (hehehe) IMHO the current 3-series is downright fugly. The new C-class is very handsome and the A4 is the brute of the lot. I'd go for brute anytime and gotta love that S4 with the 19" rims and bodykit. Going over potholes? No problem, you won't feel a thing. Cornering? Magneto-thingy-whatchamacallit stiffens up the suspensions and corner like a god and oh... helloooo Quattro!

I think the IS is not too shabby in the looks department but if it was the same money as a A4, I wouldn't think twice about getting that A4.

Oh come on man, the RS and the S range of those Audis are awesome handling and performance machines. The RS4 was on par with the M3 in tests but most reviewers are enthusiasts and any enthusiast will always say RWD will always be more fun compared to 4WD.

And I think the word you're looking for is "Soul". :biggrin: Not a lot of cars have that kind of feel.

But in Malaysia, the Quattro with the 2L turbo costs an arm and a leg more, making the base BMW 3 series look like a bargain. And yes, at the end of the day, the BMW is RWD, and it *is* the Ultimate Driving Machine despite what anybody says.

If you're talking about the ultimate end of the whole shebang, I'll take a Mercedes C63 AMG Black over an Audi RS4 or S4, any, fricking, day. Well, maybe not off road. For that we have to break out the G-Wagon.

Actually if our road tax not so ridiculous, i don't mind rolling in a W220 S320. The only real concern I have is the Airmatic. Hell if I was in UK I'd roll in a S500 or S600.

If road tax here not so ridiculous, I would have gotten myself a W124 E320 and CE300 24v.

ixeo, opss. I forgot to mention that..Hahahaha