Finding a good used car dealer is always a headache. Accompany my friends a few time for a hunt. Out of 9 dealer we went to, only 2 happily allowed for a test drive. One in Taman Maluri near Jaya Jusco which is Anfas Auto (not sure if still around) and another one was TKT Enterprise in Desa Tun Razak next to MRR2 (most recent, just sharing and not promoting).
The rest are giving the same excuses : "If I let you test drive and anything happened, how? will you bear the repair cost?"
Me, " Can you guarantee that you car is has no major problem?"
Dealers, " Of course lah! I had been in the business for many years."
Me, " OK, thank you. and walk away.
Test drive before deciding is fundamental as there is no way to check the gearbox and arms condition during idle.
Bringing someone which has a good knowledge on cars is important during a hunt. This will avoid being conned or end up buying a problematic car.
Of course, used car tend to have a little problem here and there. It's just a matter of finding one which has minimal problem or does not cost a bomb to repair.
All I can say is, always ask them not to start the car while viewing a car, only ask them to start the car when you decide to test drive. You may want to hear how the engine sounds but then, u can do it after inspecting the car inside out, then only ask if can test drive? If can, then only start the car.
But once start the car, drive it straight and never wait for it to warm up. Once the car has warm
up, lots of sounds will no longer be obvious. That's one of the tips in buying 2nd hand cars.
Is just norm that you will hear more things during a cold start.