Choice of Project Car

Satria pre-neo is a nice platform to mod and is very straight forward system since its an old tech. DIY isn't too much heartache, I can rip something out w/o feeling too bad because of parts availability. Only the Satria A-pillar is rare in the market when I ripped the pillars to install meters. I pretty much DIYed the ICE system and run cabling in my old car, DIY soundproofing, DIY CAI and small bits.

18's are too heavy, I'm on 17's now and planning to down to 16's with meaty fitments. I like meaty!!!

Prolly SC to a comfy 180hp good enough for sporty driving ler...

Once a manual tranny, I won't own an auto. :driver:

Once an Auto Tranny for too long, I would want a manual :rofl:

at least 230hp la bro. At least can play with Type R Civic :rofl:

---------- Post added at 06:08 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:06 PM ----------

I guess your CRZ is manual? Assuming that you are once a Satria owner who mods the car.

Your avatar shows how much you liked CR-Z. So I know that when we mention CR-Z, for sure you will appear, haha.

Mostly Mitsubishi related items. :biggrin:

Ya, really like the CR-Z, get inside the OEM sound system is damn good. No need for me to think
of ICE setup at all. The dashboard is damn beautiful. The pick up and power is real great as well.

Thanks to my friend for a ride in his CR-Z. But his without the S+ button or actually known
as wannabe NOS :rofl:

Satria pre-neo is a nice platform to mod and is very straight forward system since its an old tech. DIY isn't too much heartache, I can rip something out w/o feeling too bad because of parts availability. Only the Satria A-pillar is rare in the market when I ripped the pillars to install meters. I pretty much DIYed the ICE system and run cabling in my old car, DIY soundproofing, DIY CAI and small bits.

18's are too heavy, I'm on 17's now and planning to down to 16's with meaty fitments. I like meaty!!!

Prolly SC to a comfy 180hp good enough for sporty driving ler...

Once a manual tranny, I won't own an auto. :driver:

The old Mirage/Colt based Satria is a good platform to start with. You even have 3 Mitsubishi engines (for common mods out there) for you to choose if you want to swap engine. 4G92 MIVEC, 4G93T and 4G63T. You can go for NA in MIVEC or turbocharging in the other two engines.

But after reading a lot from Iszo about chassis weakness and torn chassis for putting too much strain on a normal Satria, I would prefer going for 4G92 MIVEC for the sake of my safety and chassis :biggrin:

I like your quote 'Once a manual tranny, I won't own an auto :top:

Once an Auto Tranny for too long, I would want a manual :rofl:

at least 230hp la bro. At least can play with Type R Civic :rofl:

---------- Post added at 06:08 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:06 PM ----------

Ya, really like the CR-Z, get inside the OEM sound system is damn good. No need for me to think
of ICE setup at all. The dashboard is damn beautiful. The pick up and power is real great as well.

Thanks to my friend for a ride in his CR-Z. But his without the S+ button or actually known
as wannabe NOS :rofl:

Lol. Many people out there now thought that auto is the smarter choice while manual is the foolish one.
Talking about CR-Z's dashboard, I can say it is the best one for cars under RM130k category. Very futuristic and cool looking. Thankfully manual is available in CR-Z. :adore:

The old Mirage/Colt based Satria is a good platform to start with. You even have 3 Mitsubishi engines (for common mods out there) for you to choose if you want to swap engine. 4G92 MIVEC, 4G93T and 4G63T. You can go for NA in MIVEC or turbocharging in the other two engines.

But after reading a lot from Iszo about chassis weakness and torn chassis for putting too much strain on a normal Satria, I would prefer going for 4G92 MIVEC for the sake of my safety and chassis :biggrin:

I like your quote 'Once a manual tranny, I won't own an auto :top:

Lol. Many people out there now thought that auto is the smarter choice while manual is the foolish one.
Talking about CR-Z's dashboard, I can say it is the best one for cars under RM130k category. Very futuristic and cool looking. Thankfully manual is available in CR-Z. :adore:

That's why I fell in love with it. Design and everything seems perfect even though is not as powerful as Type R or anything but is powerful enough for me. Yet lots of aftermarket parts
to improve further.

The radio u blast it, the sound can hardly be heard outside of the car. Unlike those ah beng
stock speakers blast like as though the speakers are having problems...

That's why I fell in love with it. Design and everything seems perfect even though is not as powerful as Type R or anything but is powerful enough for me. Yet lots of aftermarket parts
to improve further.

The radio u blast it, the sound can hardly be heard outside of the car. Unlike those ah beng
stock speakers blast like as though the speakers are having problems...

And it's a hybrid too. You can still get decent fuel consumption out of it. Ah beng normally use customized speakers and woofers, isn't it?

I wonder how did the clutch of the manual CR-Z feels. So far, I've only driven 4 manual cars before. Saga Iswara, Saga LMST (that final facelift one), Kancil 660 (from car learning center) and Wira 1.5. The worst clutch of all is the Saga Iswara I had at home. The clutch feels heavy. Wira I think is the best, very easy to press the clutch. The Saga LMST feels too light and doesn't really have any feel.

And it's a hybrid too. You can still get decent fuel consumption out of it. Ah beng normally use customized speakers and woofers, isn't it?

I wonder how did the clutch of the manual CR-Z feels. So far, I've only driven 4 manual cars before. Saga Iswara, Saga LMST (that final facelift one), Kancil 660 (from car learning center) and Wira 1.5. The worst clutch of all is the Saga Iswara I had at home. The clutch feels heavy. Wira I think is the best, very easy to press the clutch. The Saga LMST feels too light and doesn't really have any feel.

Is a hybrid but not really meant for saving fuel like Toyota. Hybrid is just because they have 2 technologies
together and is call hybrid.

I think a dual clutch ones feels even harder or performance car's clutch from what I was told.
I never tried dual clutch before though. Anyone had experience?

They blast those songs with their OEM speakers :rofl:

Is a hybrid but not really meant for saving fuel like Toyota. Hybrid is just because they have 2 technologies

I think a dual clutch ones feels even harder or performance car's clutch from what I was told.

Dual clutch??? I'm confused already. I only heard of cable clutch or hydraulic clutch....

For sure they will overload their OEM speakers.

think dual clutch is those DSG on VW? it is auto tranny...the only dual clutch on manual i think is the 370z if i recall correctly..

Definitely agree with you. But with engineering, one needs $ so when I do have $, the engineering 'play' will go crazy. :biggrin:

Actually what do you do for a living? I've been reading your stuff and you're obviously very knowledgeable

am I an engineer? Yes, just started...hahaha
am i really knowledgeable in things? Yes and no. Yes in major, but nothing I can declare myself expert yet. I have great passion in do things myself.

I was involved in somethings like this back 2011. We was a team of 30 students, worked our ass out to make it happen.

think dual clutch is those DSG on VW? it is auto tranny...the only dual clutch on manual i think is the 370z if i recall correctly..

The one on 370Z is not dual clutch manual. It is the same with conventional manual transmission but with an added feature known as SynchroRev Match system. When the clutch pedal is pressed, the system will sync the current engine rpm speed with the current travelling speed in higher or lower gear that the system had estimated. It is something like the heel toe technique.

in fact dual clutch tech is VW world first for production car. then followed by PDk and so on

---------- Post added at 12:09 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:08 AM ----------

The one on 370Z is not dual clutch manual. It is the same with conventional manual transmission but with an added feature known as SynchroRev Match system. When the clutch pedal is pressed, the system will sync the current engine rpm speed with the current travelling speed in higher or lower gear that the system had estimated. It is something like the heel toe technique.

pre heel and toe for those who cant do it.
haha

Dual clutch??? I'm confused already. I only heard of cable clutch or hydraulic clutch....

For sure they will overload their OEM speakers.
Ya, YellowFlash is right, I recall wrongly. I think is performance clutch or something that is much
stiffer than normal clutches. Sorry me noob in this.

Ya, u r right bro, wrongly recalled by me. My bad. Is usually auto tranny and not manual.
Not sure about the 370Z.

yea renesis, thanks for the refresher...its the rev matching. haha..

---------- Post added at 07:10 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:01 PM ----------

am I an engineer? Yes, just started...hahaha
am i really knowledgeable in things? Yes and no. Yes in major, but nothing I can declare myself expert yet. I have great passion in do things myself.

I was involved in somethings like this back 2011. We was a team of 30 students, worked our ass out to make it happen.

nice project you have there, mechanical engineering majoring in automotive? must have been real fun especially if your interest is in cars!

yea renesis, thanks for the refresher...its the rev matching. haha..

---------- Post added at 07:10 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:01 PM ----------

nice project you have there, mechanical engineering majoring in automotive? must have been real fun especially if your interest is in cars!

automotive engineering with major in Motorsport
That's just the title. Hahha

I think it's about the time for me to tell something about my real intention about this topic.
To really let us think about project car, no build to no compromise in performance but within budget.

I am actually done designing my own chassis. Yes, my own chassis, based on lotus 7.
Will upload the cad later

automotive engineering with major in Motorsport
That's just the title. Hahha

I think it's about the time for me to tell something about my real intention about this topic.
To really let us think about project car, no build to no compromise in performance but within budget.

I am actually done designing my own chassis. Yes, my own chassis, based on lotus 7.
Will upload the cad later

Impressive. Finally we all know your true goal for this topic. Haha, cheers.

I really wanna know how the community reaction for low budget project car
After over 30 pages, we still hanging around c99, satria thing.

Then, how many of us willingly spend cash on toy that can't go on road.

As far as I can see, Malaysians have too much commitment in life, especially loan, debt and mortgage

I really wanna know how the community reaction for low budget project car
After over 30 pages, we still hanging around c99, satria thing.

Then, how many of us willingly spend cash on toy that can't go on road.

As far as I can see, Malaysians have too much commitment in life, especially loan, debt and mortgage

C99 not really that bad if you don't stress it too much with high power engine. It should be good enough for NA engines like 4G92 MIVEC. And you can still strengthen it by adding in strut bars and other bars around the car. Not to say C99 is perfect, but at least it is something decent and within the very low budget.