rented new 86 in Hokkaido 6 days :)

Acoustic

***UPDATE 19/Oct LINK *** rented new 86 in Hokkaido 6 days :)

UPDATE

http://www.my-acoustic.com/Car/new86/new86.htm

UPDATE

new 86 is rentable from rent a lease dot com = www.rentalease.com

Can't find in regular toyota rental.

1st day is 15k yen, subsequent is 10k yen. plus damage waiver and what lot all was 78,750 yen for me.

I got lucky, it had 17" rims, special spoilers, I suspect the suspension may be TRD too, so dam stiff, more stiff than my personal TiTAN suspension.

Pictures to come later, busy working lah.

WoW, Tom, you're so fast to catch this, I'm shocked. Hahahaha, anyway just remembered to explain why rented it.

1) Train unlimited ticket for 5 days cost 39500yen/person. Me & wife nearly equals renting it, hence ok lah.
2) Rent cheapest toyota would cost nearly 50k yen, hence only add 60% can play 86, so be it.
3) finally rent Crown cost 70% more than 86. All the business men are paying a hell lot more. @25k yen.
4) GTR costs 30k yen.

I will be writing diary on my website later on, currently work too busy. But amongst all the things experience, the thing I want to share is the designers/engineers team has made the front view for the purpose of "cucuk". Means it is dying to stick to the butt of the guy in front, without making you scare, there's so many parking ended my nose is touching the white line. Naturally. Later I show some pictures and you all will know.

sounds like a good plan acoustic, i've driven in Tokyo and it's pretty nice to be honest. City roads are smooth as silk. but the highways are littered with expansion slits that are surprisingly pretty harsh for the country's standards.

I've also came to experience the astronomical costs of tolls and city parking there. Probably just as high or higher than in Sydney, what are you findings?

rear spoiler photo

• DSCN2996.jpg
    DSCN2996.jpg
    79.9 KB · Views: 291
Hokkaido is surprisingly different than Tokyo, the highways are ultra good quality roads, while city is also alright, not as good because lots of repairs, then rural is the worst. It's like KL, can feel the suspension to dam stiff.

Hahahhaa, the toll parts was a BOM, I purposedly left out not to discourage people driving there :)

Parking was a major issue for me because most of Hokkaido are for tourist, Farms and Hotel are mostly free, or max 500yen/night, then City like Sapporo & Hakodate, just go to places with free parking from many restaurants and AEON gives 1st hour free, buy 1000yen and get another 4 hours free, total 5. Ok lah in Hokkaido.

yeah, lucky, was a very happy surprised to me, but at a small sacrifice (exaggerated), because I asked for any color, don't want black, and who would have thought, got BLACK .....................

Anyway, 1st day out on highway to Furano, saw a pearl white 86 with plate number 86 !!! WoW, I think Toyota is making it a marketting tool.

Then saw a orange/red 86 with normal plate number the same day.

Finally saw a black 86 by a normal guy, originally wanted to take photo of 2 black 86 together, but I was parking in, he was leaving, dam :(.

Anyway, all good fun :).

yeah, lucky, was a very happy surprised to me, but at a small sacrifice (exaggerated), because I asked for any color, don't want black, and who would have thought, got BLACK .....................

Anyway, 1st day out on highway to Furano, saw a pearl white 86 with plate number 86 !!! WoW, I think Toyota is making it a marketting tool.

Then saw a orange/red 86 with normal plate number the same day.

Finally saw a black 86 by a normal guy, originally wanted to take photo of 2 black 86 together, but I was parking in, he was leaving, dam :(.

Anyway, all good fun :).

U shud have stopped him for a while and ask him to take a photo. :rofl:

Is it quite common to see most FT-86 there? Any AE86 during ur time there?
Btw, company still hiring or not? Since u can travel here and there :rofl: yet paid for.

Hokkaido is surprisingly different than Tokyo, the highways are ultra good quality roads, while city is also alright, not as good because lots of repairs, then rural is the worst. It's like KL, can feel the suspension to dam stiff.

Hahahhaa, the toll parts was a BOM, I purposedly left out not to discourage people driving there :)

Parking was a major issue for me because most of Hokkaido are for tourist, Farms and Hotel are mostly free, or max 500yen/night, then City like Sapporo & Hakodate, just go to places with free parking from many restaurants and AEON gives 1st hour free, buy 1000yen and get another 4 hours free, total 5. Ok lah in Hokkaido.

You should have used the HEP... fixed rate for one whole day. Saved me almost a thousand RM...seriously..

http://www.e-nexco.co.jp/news/hep/

U shud have stopped him for a while and ask him to take a photo. :rofl:

Is it quite common to see most FT-86 there? Any AE86 during ur time there?
Btw, company still hiring or not? Since u can travel here and there :rofl: yet paid for.

I saw total 4 new 86 lor, then red/black panda AE86, full black AE86, white OLD FR Celica, dark silver FR big sedan, sporty, too sudden can't tell properly. A lot of Mazda MX5. A silver Supra.

No KE70, EE80, EE90 only 1, AE101 just a few in fact it's a 2 doors trueno, AE111 I think none, where did they go?

Hello Jeremy, thanks !!!!!

When I first saw your post, wanna cry, cos paid around RM600, but if get your advice earlier, then save around half of it. Lucky it's only RM300 losto, not like what you said "thousands".

Boy you must be there a lot, can tell more? where you've been? what you drove :) and tested ? hihihihi I'm sure plenty of us can get more advice.

In fact I may be going early Nov for business. Nagoya and Osaka.

Anyone be there? let's meet up.

This time I'm on 4 pax biz trip, renting Toyota Isis I think. no more 86. :(

You should have used the HEP... fixed rate for one whole day. Saved me almost a thousand RM...seriously..

http://www.e-nexco.co.jp/news/hep/

Hello Jeremy, thanks !!!!!

When I first saw your post, wanna cry, cos paid around RM600, but if get your advice earlier, then save around half of it. Lucky it's only RM300 losto, not like what you said "thousands".

Boy you must be there a lot, can tell more? where you've been? what you drove :) and tested ? hihihihi I'm sure plenty of us can get more advice.

In fact I may be going early Nov for business. Nagoya and Osaka.

Anyone be there? let's meet up.

This time I'm on 4 pax biz trip, renting Toyota Isis I think. no more 86. :(

Was there last year june.. my journey was
1st day sapporo-noribetsu-ottaru-sapporo
2nd day sapporo-asahikawa-furano-biei-sounkyo-obihiro-sapporo
3rd day sapporo-mt yotei-cape kamui-sapporo
4th day sapporo-hakodate
5th day hakodate-niseko
6th day niseko-chitose.

I generated the estimated cost of toll only is about RM1300, used HEP only paid RM200++

Rented and drove this(not the actual picture)- 2700cc petrol and auto(i opt for manual but not available in japan)
http://www.japanmotorauction.com/stock_image/032/30/01l.jpg?1344351718

Will be going there next month again..

Just found out Japan's NAGOYA state is renting new 86 from same rent a lease dot com (not regular Toyota rental), that cost nearly double up. ŽÔŽíE—¿‹àE‚²ˆÄ“à | ƒgƒˆƒ^ƒŒƒ“ƒ^ƒŠ[ƒXˆ¤’m

1st day 28,350 yen, then onwards 21k yen / day.

versus

Hokkaido 1st day 15k yen, then onwards 10k yen / day.

I doubt it's seasonal or whatever, because Hokkaido office told me high season price is 18k yen 1st day, 12k yen subsequent / day.

Whoever is going to Hokkaido, I really recommend renting 86 now, dam good deal !!!!!

---------- Post added at 10:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:40 PM ----------

Hi Jeremy, check out my post above, I recommend you in Hokkaido must rent new 86 lah :)

I also just checked NAGOYA cost of renting Mazda MX5 is USD275 = HKD 2140 = yen 26,700

WoW expensive :(

Nagoya rent everything expensive :(