choices of second hand sports car

Hahaha none taken. Yeah, Evo is still no.1 in my book, still thinking to own a IX or TME someday (if only my wife allows!). Impreza is pretty darn good alternative also, IMHO close but no cigars. :)

IX is still quite expensive now compared to TME. Hopefully someone day you can own one of those and post pictures of it at ZTH here. :biggrin:

Older Impreza can be a cheaper alternative. GC8 Impreza are costing around 40k to 50k plus only nowadays. CE9A Evo 3 cost more than those for sure and I don't think is possible to find original Evo 2 or Evo 1 here.

I think the figure is about RM2,400 per year for 3.5L engine.

I've heard from a 350Z owner that he use roadtax from Sarawak which cost only half the price of the original roadtax. I ask how he do it and he told me there are runners doing this kind of work.

IX is still quite expensive now compared to TME. Hopefully someone day you can own one of those and post pictures of it at ZTH here. :biggrin:

Older Impreza can be a cheaper alternative. GC8 Impreza are costing around 40k to 50k plus only nowadays. CE9A Evo 3 cost more than those for sure and I don't think is possible to find original Evo 2 or Evo 1 here.

I've heard from a 350Z owner that he use roadtax from Sarawak which cost only half the price of the original roadtax. I ask how he do it and he told me there are runners doing this kind of work.

I would choose Subaru WRX STi/ over Evo as well :biggrin: Unless is Lan Evo :biggrin: The only evo I like.

Older Legacy design is kinda aggressive and nice as well.

Someone in ZTH offering that kind of services ma...roadtax discounts.

thanks guyss.. much appreciated and some basic english learning over there. haha. Anyway, if im not mistaken i came a cross in mudah.my and ZTH car sale. I saw this one hot looking super wagon, Evo 8 or Evo 9 wagon. simply hot though.

---------- Post added at 04:19 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:17 PM ----------

i notice tht, i see a lot of people using Caldina GT4 on the road, but i hardly see people talk or post up about Caldina GT4 in ZTH. any reason why??

---------- Post added at 04:26 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:19 PM ----------

if i have extra cash, without any doubt. i would straight away purchase tht super wagon. sorry, is inside Carlist.myhttp://www.carlist.my/used-cars/897430/mitsubishi-evo-9-wagon-2-0-turbo-a-2005.html

Yes, the IX is still around rm120k now, some even asking more. TME also still expensive for a car that old, and also rather difficult to find.

That road tax scheme I heard is not legal/legit coz using Sarawak rate.

thanks guyss.. much appreciated and some basic english learning over there. haha. Anyway, if im not mistaken i came a cross in mudah.my and ZTH car sale. I saw this one hot looking super wagon, Evo 8 or Evo 9 wagon. simply hot though.

---------- Post added at 04:19 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:17 PM ----------

i notice tht, i see a lot of people using Caldina GT4 on the road, but i hardly see people talk or post up about Caldina GT4 in ZTH. any reason why??

Evo wagon is Evo IX only.

Caldina GT4 is also quite powerful (250-260HP) but the downside is the A/T which has only 4 speeds.

i heard the autobox in the caldina is not reliable enough to support the 200hp turbo engine.

Yes, the IX is still around rm120k now, some even asking more. TME also still expensive for a car that old, and also rather difficult to find.

Caldina GT4 is also quite powerful (250-260HP) but the downside is the A/T which has only 4 speeds.

I feel like asking those people who made the caldina, why on earth do they fitted 4 speeds in that powerful engine. is it just to save petrol or somethng else.

---------- Post added at 05:03 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:00 PM ----------

i heard the autobox in the caldina is not reliable enough to support the 200hp turbo engine.

So you are trying to say tht caldina's AT would not last really long.

---------- Post added at 05:06 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:03 PM ----------

Sorry, overlooked that mistake of mine earlier.

You're right, in fact the daily driven RX-8 that I am referring is indeed an auto. But auto RX-8 will have more problems than the manual one isn't it? Gearbox issues...

And we have a friend at here who drives his SST Evo X daily. So I guess RX-8 should be okay maybe...

Auto RX-8 is a bit boring if you ask me. It is already inferior to the FD3S RX-7 or maybe even FC3S in terms of raw power. Still want to get auto with lower power and lower engine redline. And there is something about the engine using 4 port instead of 6 port. Not too sure what is port though, not knowledgeable in rotaries.

More than just petrol issues for RX-8. It requires a lot of maintenance to keep it healthy. If I am not mistaken, you need to rebuild the rotary engine for every 30 thousand km interval or so. You can choose not to do so but that might not be too good for the engine health.

Haha, you're always supporting Evo all the time. There is still Impreza WRX STI that can give a good fight with Evo. No offence or contradicting you, just giving out another alternative only. Cheers :biggrin:

Waaaa.. 30k interval ahh for RX8 just to rebuild the rotary. gila mann. i wonder how much would tht cost. fuhhh:banghead:

So far, had some of the posts helped you to make a decision on which car you wanna purchase? There are lots to choose from,
just depends on your budget and also criteria.

I feel like asking those people who made the caldina, why on earth do they fitted 4 speeds in that powerful engine. is it just to save petrol or somethng else...

Based on what I heard so far, it's actually quite thirsty too! Usually if you want to make it more fuel efficient you need more gears, hence your cruising speed will be at lower rpms at higher gears. So the 4 speeds may actually increase the FC. So yeah, still not sure why only 4 speeds, maybe just simpler and cheaper. Back then also most cars still using only 5 speeds in manual transmission and 4 speeds on A/T, not many 6 or even 7 speeds like nowadays.

So far, had some of the posts helped you to make a decision on which car you wanna purchase? There are lots to choose from,
just depends on your budget and also criteria.

yeahhh i had some in my mind though. thanks to you guys. much appreciated. Without ZTH forum, i thnk it would be hard for me to know more about performance car pros & cons and wht shld i know before purchasing it.:adore:

---------- Post added at 05:57 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:51 PM ----------

Based on what I heard so far, it's actually quite thirsty too! Usually if you want to make it more fuel efficient you need more gears, hence your cruising speed will be at lower rpms at higher gears. So the 4 speeds may actually increase the FC. So yeah, still not sure why only 4 speeds, maybe just simpler and cheaper. Back then also most cars still using only 5 speeds in manual transmission and 4 speeds on A/T, not many 6 or even 7 speeds like nowadays.

yeahh tht make sense, great info bro. 4 speed with longer gear ratio.

top up another 10k for markX or cl7..:smokin:

---------- Post added at 09:58 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:49 PM ----------

but they juz are sport sedan....not sport car...

I would choose Subaru WRX STi/ over Evo as well :biggrin: Unless is Lan Evo :biggrin: The only evo I like.

Older Legacy design is kinda aggressive and nice as well.

Someone in ZTH offering that kind of services ma...roadtax discounts.

Older Legacy very rare and difficult to find. GC8 easier to source.

---------- Post added at 04:26 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:19 PM ----------

if i have extra cash, without any doubt. i would straight away purchase tht super wagon. sorry, is inside Carlist.myhttp://www.carlist.my/used-cars/897430/mitsubishi-evo-9-wagon-2-0-turbo-a-2005.html

Only Evo 9 is available in wagon form and Evo 9 wagon also comes with a choice of automatic transmission like the Evo 7 GT-A.

If you're not picky, I guess taking Evo 8 is also enough since the major difference of Evo 9 with 8 is the added MIVEC head. TME is always the legendary evo and it is quite expensive for such an old car. And notice there are a lot of 2WD Evo converts for 4,5,6 instead of the original CN9A Evo 4 or CP9A Evo 5/6.

Caldina GT4 is quite heavy. If want to have a 4WD Toyota, I think going for Celica GT-FOUR could be better as it also uses the same 3S-GTE with Caldina GT4 and it comes with a manual box.

I feel like asking those people who made the caldina, why on earth do they fitted 4 speeds in that powerful engine. is it just to save petrol or somethng else.

---------- Post added at 05:03 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:00 PM ----------

---------- Post added at 05:06 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:03 PM ----------

Waaaa.. 30k interval ahh for RX8 just to rebuild the rotary. gila mann. i wonder how much would tht cost. fuhhh:banghead:

I don't think 4 speed auto is for better fuel consumption. I think that they are targeting more buyers from the mainstream market instead of just hardcore car enthusiast only. That's why they made it in auto so that more common people will buy it and enjoy the power from a turbocharged engine. Caldina GT4 is not really for the serious enthusiast that likes to modify their car.

That's how rotary is. You can find out more at the RE Club section in ZTH. A lot of info about rotary engines can be found there.

it could last longer if u add on an atf cooler, no major upgrades to the engine...keep it std.

top up another 10k for markX or cl7..:smokin:

---------- Post added at 09:58 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:49 PM ----------

but they juz are sport sedan....not sport car...

If Mark X 2.5ltr then it's also still not a sport sedan, just a normal sedan. If the top of the line 3.0 with sport package or even the supercharged one, now that's more proper sport sedan.

If you're not picky, I guess taking Evo 8 is also enough since the major difference of Evo 9 with 8 is the added MIVEC head. TME is always the legendary evo and it is quite expensive for such an old car. And notice there are a lot of 2WD Evo converts for 4,5,6 instead of the original CN9A Evo 4 or CP9A Evo 5/6.

Evo IX also already came with aluminum roof for all version (unlike the Evo VIII which only has that for the MR version), plus the std suspension setting is slightly different to make it even sharper cornering. But yeah, if want slightly cheaper one can opt for the VIII MR which is closest to the IX.

Naah, I'm not interested at all in those conversions even if also AWD, it will never match the real deal.

Haha. Can't imagine thread regarding buying car can go on and on and on. Repeated countless time.
I think zth forumers like me are really all 100% car freak.
60-80k...don't want headache for everything but wanna be fast on road.
No other choice lah. Only Honda... ES with DC5 engine or DC5.
CL7 haven dropped down till 80k - am driving a CL7 now, not much headache. I got 4 doors - two more than DC5. But sadly...am slower than DC5.

Altezza fine but never drive one before.
MRS, Celica all ok. Not much complaint from my friend.

No matter how you rev it. It never spoiled. Haha. That's Honda. Save fuel somemore.

One more thing to tell. Don't expect it really can go fast. All acceleration fast only. A bit more than others only.
Go highway...people driving old accord also 180km/h sometime. My car also has to go slow lane.
Drive my wife's Camry Before. You drive 180km/h, evo also let you go first unless he keep 190km/h all tha way...wallet burned.
So...I support DC5 if you really want people to see your car, feel of fast car. But if can...go for normal car like civic, accord. They all can go real fast which enough for a normal person like me.

Or maybe CL7. Pay a bit more. Manual yo.

If Mark X 2.5ltr then it's also still not a sport sedan, just a normal sedan. If the top of the line 3.0 with sport package or even the supercharged one, now that's more proper sport sedan.

Evo IX also already came with aluminum roof for all version (unlike the Evo VIII which only has that for the MR version), plus the std suspension setting is slightly different to make it even sharper cornering. But yeah, if want slightly cheaper one can opt for the VIII MR which is closest to the IX.

Naah, I'm not interested at all in those conversions even if also AWD, it will never match the real deal.

If you're talking about Toyota's sport sedan, I would always go for X90 or X100 Chaser or Mark II. Those are the real monsters beneath their unassuming large sedan looks. With manual transmission along with 1JZ-GTE or 2JZ-GTE, those two can be very scary indeed. Too bad that both of them are rare here.

I think if the owner is planning to do extensive modifications, it won't matter much between Evo 8 or 9 already. But if the owner plans to keep it stock, then it matters.

Converts can't match the real deal in driving feel but it can fool a lot of people out there. :biggrin: Especially Honda cars. So difficult to tell which is original EG6 or EK9 for example. I mean if you're only looking at the exterior without much proper inspection.

Haha. Can't imagine thread regarding buying car can go on and on and on. Repeated countless time.
CL7 haven dropped down till 80k - am driving a CL7 now, not much headache. I got 4 doors - two more than DC5. But sadly...am slower than DC5.

No matter how you rev it. It never spoiled. Haha. That's Honda. Save fuel somemore.

One more thing to tell. Don't expect it really can go fast. All acceleration fast only. A bit more than others only.
Go highway...people driving old accord also 180km/h sometime. My car also has to go slow lane.
Drive my wife's Camry Before. You drive 180km/h, evo also let you go first unless he keep 190km/h all tha way...wallet burned.
So...I support DC5 if you really want people to see your car, feel of fast car. But if can...go for normal car like civic, accord. They all can go real fast which enough for a normal person like me.

DC5 possible with 60-80k? I think not... DC2 is possible though...

Actually, if u drive nicely, 30k for a rebuild is a myth. I saw some people with turbo RX 7 150,000km no need to rebuild.

---------- Post added at 04:05 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:00 PM ----------

Can try cheap man's Ferrari. MR2 selling for 70k only. :biggrin:

Actually, if u drive nicely, 30k for a rebuild is a myth. I saw some people with turbo RX 7 150,000km no need to rebuild.

---------- Post added at 04:05 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:00 PM ----------

Can try cheap man's Ferrari. MR2 selling for 70k only. :biggrin:

If you drive like a good driver, sure the engine wont create any problem.

---------- Post added at 07:09 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:05 PM ----------

im more to like "keep it standard" original look of the car. Sometime i just dont like when ppl overly modified their car until it looks like batman's car. you guys have one?, No offense though. Im good with anythng. i scrap off the coupe sports. i thnk i would go for sport sedan.

---------- Post added at 07:15 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:09 PM ----------

yeahh i agree with you dude. a standard car nowadays can just reach 200km/h without any problem.
like myself, im driving S60 T6. that car is damn fast, but if everytime i do like tht, the engine wont last long.
now im more like relax drive, not in the rush. unless on the highway is different story. :burnout: