The new maybe coming soon automotive policy in malaysia, nobody concern kah?

I remember that I went to puspakom to change ownership of vehicle a year ago... I am told that they only do inspection for 50 cars per working day.....which mean if yearly inspection for all after 12 yo cars in malaysia....ahem....traffic polis will be quite busy around....:stupid:

If its like that, the total cars will take how many years?!?!?!!

Sent from my Lumia 925 using Tapatalk.

Sir I hv a humble question.. is this policy applicable to each and every Malaysian or only applicable to rakyat's?

If its applicable to everyone, what is your action plans for the following situation :

1) A number of government vehicle is aged more than 12 years
2) A number police patrol car and fire fighter truck are more than 12 years
3) Some of our rulers cars collection are more than 12 years old and they oso have even older vintage collection
4) Our Highness (Agong) has a very antique Rolls Royce

Tell us what is your piece of mind for above situation before drilling the rakyats.. ..

Thank you

Hmm what I can summarize based on this 2 part rather lengthy article, the cause of high car prices are:

1. High excise duty of up to 105% of the car costs/factory prices (not 105% from the car final selling prices ya). Solution? Scrap the excise duty. :P

2. Local cars cannot compete with the economy of scale from foreign brands hence the local car prices are rather high. This in turn drives up foreign car prices too.
Solution? scrap local cars. :P

3. Limited AP & the opaque manner of granting the AP by the gov indirectly drives up car prices as the AP holder/franchise try to limit/match their supply capability with the market demand so not to cause over demand/order queuing up to much.
Solution? Scrap AP all together or don't put limit/quota on it.

4. Malaysia market smaller hence less bargaining power to the manufacturers in other countries.
Solution? should be somewhat alleviated if other factors scrapped to drive prices down and hence will grow the market, isn't it? :P

5. Weaker MYR exchange rate value.
Well not sure what would be the solution here. :D Make the economy more prosper so the currency will gain value, maybe? Don't have any idea how to do that. If I do, I'd be economic minister by now. :D

6. No transparency from gov. arms on some factors that affects the car prices, for example when determining rebates to local cars, and control (or lack thereof) on ex-factory prices decalred to the Customs to impose taxes.
Solution? If no.1 & 2 above are done then this should be less of an issue, right? :D

I guess that's all, feel free to add or CMIIW. :burnout:

Gee, so long winded explanation. Let me make it easy for you, 1 sentence, 5 words.

Rosmah needs a new ring.

Sir I hv a humble question.. is this policy applicable to each and every Malaysian or only applicable to rakyat's?

If its applicable to everyone, what is your action plans for the following situation :

1) A number of government vehicle is aged more than 12 years
2) A number police patrol car and fire fighter truck are more than 12 years
3) Some of our rulers cars collection are more than 12 years old and they oso have even older vintage collection
4) Our Highness (Agong) has a very antique Rolls Royce

Tell us what is your piece of mind for above situation before drilling the rakyats.. ..

Thank you

1 & 2, it will be write off, and Government will use rakyat's money to pay to "scrap" the car. So some Datuk or Tan Sri's son/daugther/cousin/sibling/maid/gardener will get paid to "scrap" the car. Of course scrap here means sell to Thailand and Bangladesh and other neighboring countries.

You can't touch Sultans and Agong. Our ruler can do whatever he please. Please la, Agung's car don't even have a valid license plate, just the royal coat of arms. Please respect Agung and Sultan and leave them out of this. Politics != rulers.

Gee, so long winded explanation. Let me make it easy for you, 1 sentence, 5 words.

Rosmah needs a new ring.

1 & 2, it will be write off, and Government will use rakyat's money to pay to "scrap" the car. So some Datuk or Tan Sri's son/daugther/cousin/sibling/maid/gardener will get paid to "scrap" the car. Of course scrap here means sell to Thailand and Bangladesh and other neighboring countries.

You can't touch Sultans and Agong. Our ruler can do whatever he please. Please la, Agung's car don't even have a valid license plate, just the royal coat of arms. Please respect Agung and Sultan and leave them out of this. Politics != rulers.

ooh oohh, don't forget bout her trip to buy them rings as an added value:banghead::banghead:

Sultan & Agung r here long before we r born, so yeah should just leave them out.

good news for us for the moment, they scrap the plan in the parliament for the moment, who knows few years later they will say out again:stupid:

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/assets/uploads/resizer/thailand_cars_sept_23_2013_540_327_100.JPG

Putrajaya has pulled the brakes on a plan to impose a 12-year cap on the life span of cars after facing objections from the opposition and car owners.

Deputy Transport Minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi said the federal government has no plans to go ahead with the proposal.

"I want to stress we have no plans to impose a cap on the life span on cars for disposal purposes as we do not want to burden the public," he told Sim Tze Tzin (PKR - Bayan Baru) in Parliament today during question time.

The proposal has come under fire from Sim and his colleague Rafizi Ramli (PKR - Pandan) who had charged that it was Putrajaya's way of collecting more revenue through the Good and Services Tax (GST) that would take off in April 2015.

Rafizi had said the plan should be scrapped as excise duty still remained high while Darrell Leiking (PKR - Penampang) had pointed out safety aspects should be addressed first before considering such policy.

Car owners in Malaysia, most of whom take hire-purchase loans of up to nine years to buy vehicles which are costly due to high excise duties, also objected to the proposal.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3038873&hl=

pulled the brakes? They should've just completely scrapped the bloody idea. As long as the excise duties are there no one should ever talk about lifespan of cars. Bloody leeches I tell you.

As for safety considerations - better roads (less potholes), better driver training and eliminate bribery, enforce point system deduction and enforce confiscation of license if all points are used up and force the driver to retake exam.

umno+-+malaysia+aman,syukor.jpg

pulled the brakes? They should've just completely scrapped the bloody idea. As long as the excise duties are there no one should ever talk about lifespan of cars. Bloody leeches I tell you.

As for safety considerations - better roads (less potholes), better driver training and eliminate bribery, enforce point system deduction and enforce confiscation of license if all points are used up and force the driver to retake exam.

Mentioned earlier the G tried something to 15 Years old car and above some time back and that was scrap. Now another st*pid brain a**holes bring it up again and made it 12 years. Why as mentioned "pulled the brakes" because another a**hole" will bring this up again at a later date....:banghead::banghead:

Eliminate bribery, fat chance. Malaysia is in Top 10, right?:banghead:
On enforcement, the harsher it is the more the bribe becomes....:banghead::banghead:

Mentioned earlier the G tried something to 15 Years old car and above some time back and that was scrap. Now another st*pid brain a**holes bring it up again and made it 12 years. Why as mentioned "pulled the brakes" because another a**hole" will bring this up again at a later date....:banghead::banghead:

Eliminate bribery, fat chance. Malaysia is in Top 10, right?:banghead:
On enforcement, the harsher it is the more the bribe becomes....:banghead::banghead:

Your VR is safe now. Or else legendary VR a.k.a Evo 0 also will be scrapped by them. :banghead: Even though converted VR, it is still a legend or at least half a legend. :biggrin:

If it happens, I think vr2turbo will just keep his vr at home as display and just detail weekly to keep it showroom condition. :smile:

You should say these donkeys shouldn't have the idea in the first place. Their job is to serve the rakyat and help the rakyat, not rip the rakyat off and try to pocket more money from the rakyat.

F*** better driver training, f*** enforce point system, and f*** the licenses. Police got nothing better to do? get the guns off the streets first, we don't need a shooting case every week. kick the banglasias into the sea. What's the point of going after real citizens of Malaysia who commit silly crimes like double parking, parking on yellow line, overtaking on double white line when f***ing ALIENS are crawling our streets. So you go after the rakyats and not the aliens? Da faq?

In fact, F*** that, the stupid police should figure out how to keep THEIR GUNS SAFE, rather than dropping it in the sea or losing it in the toilet. So if police lose their guns, they report case to who?