Has anyone tried rear mounted turbo?

Haha true la, true. I guess STS just caters to people who want to go fast in a straight line and not much else. I've run out of points to debate! Realistically for an overall package, I wouldn't do it either. :rofl:

Hehe... no worries lah, I enjoy a healthy debate...no right or wrong so long as we respect each other, everything ok. :)

Definitely, definitely. :biggrin: Though I did a bit more reading, it seems that the A/R's they choose for the hotsides are different from usual front setups. Tricky stuff la haha.

What rear mount turbo??
P31700441362462440.jpg

Actually, rear mount turbo has been around for a while now, the idea did not really pick up just as many has mentioned. I think the advantages of rear mount is the weight transfer towards the rear and heat. Plumbing will be a bxxxx to run, not to mention the oil lines.

What rear mount turbo??
P31700441362462440.jpg

Actually, rear mount turbo has been around for a while now, the idea did not really pick up just as many has mentioned. I think the advantages of rear mount is the weight transfer towards the rear and heat. Plumbing will be a bxxxx to run, not to mention the oil lines.

But we are talking about front mounted engines, turbo at the back.
Your's both at the back.

What rear mount turbo??
P31700441362462440.jpg

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/85/1970_Toyota_7_turbo-charged_rear.jpg

:driver:

But we are talking about front mounted engines, turbo at the back.
Your's both at the back.

That was a joke. Rear mount was very popular a while back on Corvette, mustang & truck. It works well for those car because V8 has enough low end torque to move the car & to spool the turbo. Also, weight of piping & turbo toward the rear of the car help weight distribution of the vehicle.

But the delay of response should be pretty bad from the front to reach the rears....

I guess the response was pretty bad but I saw this kind of setup mostly on American cars long time ago...their exhaust spooling sound was orgasmic but that's all...sound like a rocket but moves like a snail...i like the sound lol :love:

If V8, sound already nice.....:biggrin: