Perdana V6 Community Forum *

Sifus,i need help with my perdana v6. Last night i filled my petrol with Shell which is rare. I normally fill my petrol with petron. Now the problem occur the next morning when the idle suddenly when superb low and when i press the throttle it feels very sluggish and the engine vibrated like mad. Even when it shifted to the next gear there's feeling of vibration when i press the throttle. Like very semput.

The first picture is the idle on P with ac on. The 2nd when in D with ac On. Seems like superb low to me. And when i first start the engine or when turning on the ac on it went down to almost 100 RPM. Checked the exhaust even it blows the air not as usual like instead of continuous smooth air coming out it become like something stuck in the exhaust. My throttle body baru cuci and clean. My air filter pun still clean. Any suggestion on what to check?Will cleaning the ECU be a good idea?I cleaned the ECU like 8 months ago. Thank you.

• P_20141007_122000.jpg
    P_20141007_122000.jpg
    45.2 KB · Views: 114
  • P_20141007_122028.jpg
    P_20141007_122028.jpg
    45.4 KB · Views: 101
Sifus,i need help with my perdana v6. Last night i filled my petrol with Shell which is rare. I normally fill my petrol with petron. Now the problem occur the next morning when the idle suddenly when superb low and when i press the throttle it feels very sluggish and the engine vibrated like mad. Even when it shifted to the next gear there's feeling of vibration when i press the throttle. Like very semput.

The first picture is the idle on P with ac on. The 2nd when in D with ac On. Seems like superb low to me. And when i first start the engine or when turning on the ac on it went down to almost 100 RPM. Checked the exhaust even it blows the air not as usual like instead of continuous smooth air coming out it become like something stuck in the exhaust. My throttle body baru cuci and clean. My air filter pun still clean. Any suggestion on what to check?Will cleaning the ECU be a good idea?I cleaned the ECU like 8 months ago. Thank you.
I had problem with my VR before on Shell fuel. After pump feel sluggish, I went home and siphon the fuel out, then went and pump back Esso (That time):biggrin:

Please do if anyone know where to get them or has spares. I've been living without using the drivers window like a few months. Been opening my door to access tickets and tolls like my old Iswara. sigh.

the item is getting rare now, don't have time to round2 halfcut shops.....
if u want std ones without the lock button shud be easier to find.

---------- Post added at 02:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:33 PM ----------

Sorry all Sifu, is me again.... how much to replace waterpump? if not mistaken the water leak underneath the timming belt area is the water pump area right?.... just finish repairing my aircond now waterpump problem.... non stop for this month. Really pok kai now

water pump bout rm150 GMB brand, but advisable to change timing belt together if its due.

---------- Post added at 02:40 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:34 PM ----------

could be spark plugs, but on a rare occasion sometimes those petrol reservoir has water inside, so need to rectify the prob. if its really true u can get compensation from that petrol station.

My mechanic quote the same thing on spark plugs possibility. Any suggestions on spark plugs?i use of the car mostly short distance for city driving and short highway. The rough cost for these changes will be helpful. Thank you.

the best bang for the buck is bosch fusion platinum plugs bout rm180-220 for 6pcs.
above that will be irirdiums bout rm360 for 6pcs.
workmanship is quite expensive approx. rm150-180 depending on your mechanic.

the best bang for the buck is bosch fusion platinum plugs bout rm180-220 for 6pcs.
above that will be irirdiums bout rm360 for 6pcs.
workmanship is quite expensive approx. rm150-180 depending on your mechanic.

Workmanship can buy some more plugs.....:banghead:

RM30 per cylinder..ouch.
or,RM10 for the 3 cylinder easy to work on and rm40 each for under the intake.

interesting to know mechanic's answer on the labour cost if were ti change only 3 plug on the easy to access side...

RM30 per cylinder..ouch.
or,RM10 for the 3 cylinder easy to work on and rm40 each for under the intake.

interesting to know mechanic's answer on the labour cost if were ti change only 3 plug on the easy to access side...

He knows you would never change only 3 when there is 6.....hhahahhahahah:rofl:

I change my waterpump at cost 180... workmanship at 120. I know is abit high but no choice coz my bad luck i borrow the foreman car for few days use and involve in an accident. So how much they charge also need to paid.

Hi guys, I suspect my car's ABS is not working. I was going at 100km/h the other day when a car suddenly made a turn without giving turn signal, I slammed the brake and the front wheels locked up and burned rubber. I was a bit shocked. The ABS light supposed to light up if ABS malfunctions right? But it's not.

Thanks for the heads up sifus. A little update. The fuel tank almost hafly used and the vibration and lack of power seems to be improving. The low idle still exist but on tolerable level and not as crazy low as it used to. Probably right on the mixture of the petrol. Planning on driving the car until the fuel go reserve and cuci all the fuel line etc.

Hi guys, I suspect my car's ABS is not working. I was going at 100km/h the other day when a car suddenly made a turn without giving turn signal, I slammed the brake and the front wheels locked up and burned rubber. I was a bit shocked. The ABS light supposed to light up if ABS malfunctions right? But it's not.

before u start the engine,when the key is at 'on' position all system will run self diagnose and this include the abs module.the light should lit up and turned of after a few second.

if the light did not lit on when key is not on the u have a burned bulb which is why u did not see any warning light.

any pulse on the pedal?
on some tire,it will scream even under abs operation.its just the tire's character.

full lock up meams the abs is not working.if u still feel kickback on the pedal and still lock up means the piston is jammed.

anyway,u shouke get it check as assuming u have ABS is very dangerous esp in emergency as u might confidently slam on the pedal knowing u have ABS on board.

before u start the engine,when the key is at 'on' position all system will run self diagnose and this include the abs module.the light should lit up and turned of after a few second.

if the light did not lit on when key is not on the u have a burned bulb which is why u did not see any warning light.

any pulse on the pedal?
on some tire,it will scream even under abs operation.its just the tire's character.

full lock up meams the abs is not working.if u still feel kickback on the pedal and still lock up means the piston is jammed.

anyway,u shouke get it check as assuming u have ABS is very dangerous esp in emergency as u might confidently slam on the pedal knowing u have ABS on board.

The starting self-check light is working and I have just serviced the brake including the pistons 2 months ago in August before the incident so I suppose the pistons aren't giving problem. The only plausible explanation as you said is ABS is out as I couldn't feel the pulse.

As a side note, my brake vibrates even after doing rotor skimming and it pulled side way during hard braking. I have got all worn out suspension arms fixed but the problem (the vibration and side way)still exist.:hmmmm2: It's weird.

pv6 abs failure is very common, usually happens when u wash your engine, to repair costs rm2k++, its not worth it,
might as well get a new set of UHP tyres & just drive carefully.