Batu Tiga stories/history/legends/etc

Batu Tiga .... one MINI clown was the legend during saturday night fever. Beat the hell out of most car during corners and usually drift out at the last section. One time that car really 'cucuking' Ford Escort Cosworth. It was way back in 92-94 IINM.

Seems like you are quite young yourself too. Entrance fee was cheap back then?

me young in age...but atleast i do play with tools and spanner as soon as i can read number/letters on the tools :biggrin: :rofl:

and sat in race car (*actually rally car) driven by my dad as young as 2years old :biggring: :driver:

i would say not dirt cheap entrance fee..more or less is similar to nowadays trackday parking fee...but since bt3 track was much closer to KL (closer to people) and they were organizing a lot of friendly event...thats why always flooded with racer and spectator....

imagine if SIC open trackday fee kept at rm200-250 like it was few years back....i can say u will see similar level of crowd...but too bad...the fee keep on rising every year.... :brawl:

But back then even though the track is cheap, modding were not and a lot could not afford to track play like nowadays. Like I mentioned before, those days 7 kids and 1 car, unlike nowadays more then 1 car per family.:biggrin:
My elder brother had more experience as he was most of the time there at Batu Tiga when the motor GP is on. He knew most of the Racers especially those under his company sponsor.
Then the local car races too. He have a Manager who was also a racer. Those days the Datsun 1200 was very popular....:driver:

---------- Post added at 08:57 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:52 AM ----------

Yup, as you know even my TKSS group, we knew each other through Zth, met up and became closed friends....:driver:

my dad with 1 kid (me back then) manage to get his hand on 3 datsun (2unit 160j sss pa10 and 1unit 160j sss 510)

try imagine proton saga with souped up engine (NA) with 15" rim (back then this size was the king) was racing @ bt3...

common size was 13"...so max upsize usually 15" back then.....

meanwhile nowadays 15" was the common size....and with bigger car bigger arch people can upsize to 17"-18" without much problem (and better power too)

Yup, and low profile was 70 series.....hhahhahaha:rofl:

---------- Post added at 10:08 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:06 AM ----------

Rough in the sense coarse, most of the tyres after the race from new is almost bald and the rubber compound melted.

Yup, nothing left but houses....:thefinger:

70 series tyre was sport profile and 60 series considered as racing tyre profile :rofl: nowadays nobody care to use 60 series profile on sedan anymore

I jave never benn there,just always go through Batu Tiga toll last time.
Only heard what people said about it.It was havoc as they mentioned.
Sad to see it go even i have never seen it with my eyes.
Motorsport is no longer friendly these days,
not friendly in term of actual friendship,accessibility and all.

its a game of money and arrogant men most of the time.
there is a small track in melaka just after ayer keroh exit.
i wont call it a track but a forest reserve as u can really hear cricket,birds and other wild insect.

if u coming on federal highway from klang towards KL...once u reach the bt3 shell station (the one before federal bt3 toll) u see on your left....its behind those bushes....

Don't bother about modding. If you have cars like Evo, stock is enough for you to play in track, haha. Besides, those days, petrol should be way cheaper than it is now. Maybe when the time I can come out for track day with my own car, things might have gotten even more expensive. :banghead:

The same thing will happen to tyres too even in a better track like Sepang?

Sad to hear that legendary track have become a housing area. No remnants or anything left of the old track?

I find it hard to believe that 70 series is considered as low profile. Unless the tyre width is very thin but that is not possible...

back then "turbo" means fastest.... :driver::driver::driver: even twin cam head / dohc head already means high power and better advantage since back then most car using sohc setup.....

tyre last longer and better on modern track because better track surface/material...the only track with same grade of tarmac nowadays is pasir gudang circuit....or similar grade tarmac at pasir salak track (kg gajah)...

tyre width back then also for normal people was 155-165 width...175 and 185 already high performance track tyre woooo.....no power steering....build muscle with just driving cars :biggrin:

me young in age...but atleast i do play with tools and spanner as soon as i can read number/letters on the tools :biggrin: :rofl:

and sat in race car (*actually rally car) driven by my dad as young as 2years old :biggring: :driver:

i would say not dirt cheap entrance fee..more or less is similar to nowadays trackday parking fee...but since bt3 track was much closer to KL (closer to people) and they were organizing a lot of friendly event...thats why always flooded with racer and spectator....

imagine if SIC open trackday fee kept at rm200-250 like it was few years back....i can say u will see similar level of crowd...but too bad...the fee keep on rising every year.... :brawl:

my dad with 1 kid (me back then) manage to get his hand on 3 datsun (2unit 160j sss pa10 and 1unit 160j sss 510)

common size was 13"...so max upsize usually 15" back then.....

meanwhile nowadays 15" was the common size....and with bigger car bigger arch people can upsize to 17"-18" without much problem (and better power too)

70 series tyre was sport profile and 60 series considered as racing tyre profile :rofl: nowadays nobody care to use 60 series profile on sedan anymore

if u coming on federal highway from klang towards KL...once u reach the bt3 shell station (the one before federal bt3 toll) u see on your left....its behind those bushes....

back then "turbo" means fastest.... :driver::driver::driver: even twin cam head / dohc head already means high power and better advantage since back then most car using sohc setup.....

tyre last longer and better on modern track because better track surface/material...the only track with same grade of tarmac nowadays is pasir gudang circuit....or similar grade tarmac at pasir salak track (kg gajah)...

tyre width back then also for normal people was 155-165 width...175 and 185 already high performance track tyre woooo.....no power steering....build muscle with just driving cars :biggrin:

It is cool that your dad owns a rally car. Exciting machines.

I used to ride Datsun as a daily car too until I am 13 years old. It was my grandfather's car. It is an old B310 model. Not sure is that popular or not back then.

I think RM200-250 is also not that cheap for entrance fee. Plus the cost of petrol, it will be over RM300 plus for that day...

LOL, 70 series is sport while 60 is racing? My car is using 60 series. That is installed back in 1999 when my dad bought the car. Probably it is trendy back then.

I've never been to Pasir Salak track yet although I think it is near to Ipoh. Should go and have a look someday...

185 size got nice tyres too. AD-07. :biggrin: Those days, everything is manually controlled. No power steering, no ABS, no traction control. All about driver skill.

Thats where i bring my GF for a date during its glory days...those were the days where souped up olskool cars were the track kings not the supercars

Sad to hear that legendary track have become a housing area. No remnants or anything left of the old track?

http://s23.postimg.org/8w5lw9njv/batutiga.jpg

these are the location..
see the resemblance of the track there..:proud:

its all in the D'Kayangan area..no more left...:smokin:
those current road are the road outside the track..

there's only TNB small station near the highway that stated 'Batu Tiga Track'..

http://s23.postimg.org/8w5lw9njv/batutiga.jpg

these are the location..
see the resemblance of the track there..:proud:

its all in the D'Kayangan area..no more left...:smokin:
those current road are the road outside the track..

I just checked with Google maps. Seems that Shah Alam stadium is just beside it.

Yeah, I can see the resemblance of the track. That Jalan Aquatik surrounding it is the road outside the track? And that small pond is also used to be inside the track?

I just checked with Google maps. Seems that Shah Alam stadium is just beside it.

Yeah, I can see the resemblance of the track. That Jalan Aquatik surrounding it is the road outside the track? And that small pond is also used to be inside the track?

yup, jalan aquatik is/was outside the track..

all those 'tanah merah' according to google map is inside the track fence...

http://ignition.my/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/BTSC_layout.gif

i believe there are no reason to keep the old track road as it is not suitable for heavy vehicle...
unless you can get inside D'Kayangan and search for the artifact..:driver:

yup, jalan aquatik is/was outside the track..

all those 'tanah merah' according to google map is inside the track fence...

http://ignition.my/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/BTSC_layout.gif

i believe there are no reason to keep the old track road as it is not suitable for heavy vehicle...
unless you can get inside D'Kayangan and search for the artifact..:driver:

They din't even left an entrance of the main building or anything from the track as a remembrance. At least left something like that gate from A Famosa fort. But it seems that every trace of Batu Tiga track is written off now... :banghead:

185 size got nice tyres too. AD-07. :biggrin: Those days, everything is manually controlled. No power steering, no ABS, no traction control. All about driver skill.

AD-07 is tyre of your era leh! Back then where got :smokin:......hhahahhahaha:biggrin:

hmm about Batu 3, i remembered i replied somewhere n some smartass pervert guy replied n bashed all of us for supporting Batu 3.

Well all i can say blame the Dr who uses Tofu for D-kayangan n his bali home.

back to topic.

I remembered Jackie Chan made a movie there

Anyone here had or have an old picture of Ayrton Senna racing at Batu 3 with Hanifa Yoong?
*it was in NST once

YES, THE LEGEND was THERE !!!!

hmm about Batu 3, i remembered i replied somewhere n some smartass pervert guy replied n bashed all of us for supporting Batu 3.

Well all i can say blame the Dr who uses Tofu for D-kayangan n his bali home.

back to topic.

I remembered Jackie Chan made a movie there

Anyone here had or have an old picture of Ayrton Senna racing at Batu 3 with Hanifa Yoong?
*it was in NST once

YES, THE LEGEND was THERE !!!!

I think the movie is called Thunderbolt is it? About him using a yellow Lancer Evolution III. I never watch it before but I've read about it on wikipedia.

the thunderbolt movie aws mix-match scene from sendai speedway and batu3...

but the last corner battle and finish line (and most car crash battle in the race scene) came from batu3 track...

heck u can even saw some proton saga and a few local race car in that scene....

the thunderbolt movie aws mix-match scene from sendai speedway and batu3...

but the last corner battle and finish line (and most car crash battle in the race scene) came from batu3 track...

heck u can even saw some proton saga and a few local race car in that scene....

I'm chinese and I never watch that movie before. Fail :banghead: Never seen any TV channels air this movie.

torrent, youtube is a good place to start looking for it...

astro i think long time didnt play that movie already i think...but maybe just hope new fox action movie channel will re-play that movie again..

torrent, youtube is a good place to start looking for it...

astro i think long time didnt play that movie already i think...but maybe just hope new fox action movie channel will re-play that movie again..

Okay, I'll go and look for it when I want to watch it.

I din't have those Astro channel at home. I rely on free TV channels only...

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xpf1/v/t1.0-9/p843x403/1505643_673172729386066_1805637316_n.jpg?oh=e6bf78fcf6059ab2a1b41a036d852445&oe=553ACE07&__gda__=1430543814_1badbf7f1abd1261b482e4867773829e

pic taken in april 2014...n thats all thats left of BT3... stupid fucking corrupted piece of shit politician

(right behind it is federal highway)

https://fbcdn-sphotos-a-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-xpf1/v/t1.0-9/p843x403/1505643_673172729386066_1805637316_n.jpg?oh=e6bf78fcf6059ab2a1b41a036d852445&oe=553ACE07&__gda__=1430543814_1badbf7f1abd1261b482e4867773829e

pic taken in april 2014...n thats all thats left of BT3... stupid fucking corrupted piece of shit politician

(right behind it is federal highway)

Best not to call anyone corrupted in a public forum like here. Better be safe.

Kemajuan Negara? Maju until from track into houses. :banghead: