Review: 2015 Megane RS275 Trophy-R + On-Board Video

Incidentally, I have a friend who has a Chaser. Racenotrice has reviewed that Chaser too. The parts are not hard to find if you know where to look, my friends mech has a constant supply of all things Chaser and has no issues with anything related to the car. The only thing is everything is old like you said. Weird things start to break down in the Chaser that a normal car would rarely ever see break. Like just on Monday the fellas clutch went off because of a bolt that was part of the clutch pedal assembly decided to snap. You don't hear things like this very often. But goddaamit, that is one helluva fast Chaser.

Anyway, Megane - I personally think it's a love it or hate it car. I love the interior, but I don't like the fact that it's French. French cars don't inspire a lot of confidence for me.

Incidentally, I have a friend who has a Chaser. Racenotrice has reviewed that Chaser too. The parts are not hard to find if you know where to look, my friends mech has a constant supply of all things Chaser and has no issues with anything related to the car. The only thing is everything is old like you said. Weird things start to break down in the Chaser that a normal car would rarely ever see break. Like just on Monday the fellas clutch went off because of a bolt that was part of the clutch pedal assembly decided to snap. You don't hear things like this very often. But goddaamit, that is one helluva fast Chaser.

Anyway, Megane - I personally think it's a love it or hate it car. I love the interior, but I don't like the fact that it's French. French cars don't inspire a lot of confidence for me.
You should post the full or partial feature story here with a link back to RNR izso, and other interesting features you guys have done, let's rebuild the community and at the same time send good traffic back to RNR as well

The current RenaultSport cars are something else today. They are not like before where their cars are oddly built. Today their hot hatches are reliable and inspiring to drive.

Do give it a go someday, you will be impressed

Sent from my SM-N9208 using Tapatalk

Yeah, I think I will repost some RNR stuff here thanks. Under "Car Talk"?

I'm not sure about reliable but I know they are nice to drive. I've been chauffeured in the Megane before, new and old. Both were quite an experience.

I just wish Alpha Romeo would buck up their reliability. I would love to own one.

Yeah, I think I will repost some RNR stuff here thanks. Under "Car Talk"?

I'm not sure about reliable but I know they are nice to drive. I've been chauffeured in the Megane before, new and old. Both were quite an experience.

I just wish Alpha Romeo would buck up their reliability. I would love to own one.
Yeah car talk would be ideal for now, great.

Megane RS are hardy. It's engine is virtually bullet proof and chassis underpinnings are relatively heavy duty as well.

Try it yourself for once

Sent from my SM-N9208 using Tapatalk

Tom... if I could I would have already bought one. Not a CVT slushbox boring old Nissan. :biggrin:

One. Fine. Day.

Tom... if I could I would have already bought one. Not a CVT slushbox boring old Nissan. :biggrin:

One. Fine. Day.

Used 2010-ish Megane RS250 can be had for about RM110-130K these days by the way. A friend just got his RS250 Cup for RM118K and in very decent condition.

I thought the mechanical parts of Chaser are shared with cars like Supra, Soarer since they are quite similar mechanically.

I like Chaser and Mark II myself too. They look unassuming but yet can be really fast since they are using JZ engines. I think it won't be a problem to mod their engines to reach 500-600hp or even higher.

Used 2010-ish Megane RS250 can be had for about RM110-130K these days by the way. A friend just got his RS250 Cup for RM118K and in very decent condition.

Are the spareparts for Megane RS easy to source around here? Just in case any breakdown or mishap. Not sure will the parts be as expensive as those from BMW, Merc, Audi.

Now that I have heard this from you, it doesn't make much sense for road going B series VTEC engines to use such heavy racing clutch since their output is around 160 to 200hp. Even if modded, I don't think their output will go over 300hp in NA form. So, why do they go for such heavy clutch?

Boosting the V12 via turbocharge? Surely a lot of work to be done.

Mine also 200bhp and using normal Exedy clutch only....:driver:

Perhaps those Ogura racing clutch or what they call "clutch loceng" in B series engine is not necessary. Or these racing clutch really transfers power to the wheels more efficiently? Like giving a higher on wheel horsepower?

Heavier clutch due to the stronger springs which suppose to attach the clutch plate with more force. As it is name, good for racing. Every day use then I think no need loh.
This is actual story of my ex factory staff. Bought a manual Civic which came with racing clutch and was driving around for 6 months already. Newbie so don't know much about cars, just that hear it has racing clutch shiok already. One day reach office clutch failed so he call me if my mechanic can come have a look. Mechanic took back change the clutch using normal ones. Next day this colleague came and say the clutch so light now, so much better to drive......hhahhahahhahah:driver:

As for higher WHP readings, not really. Just the notion is that it minimizes the chances of clutch slipping at higher revs but the cons of it can at times outweigh the pro unless you have to get used to it

Heavier clutch due to the stronger springs which suppose to attach the clutch plate with more force. As it is name, good for racing. Every day use then I think no need loh.
This is actual story of my ex factory staff. Bought a manual Civic which came with racing clutch and was driving around for 6 months already. Newbie so don't know much about cars, just that hear it has racing clutch shiok already. One day reach office clutch failed so he call me if my mechanic can come have a look. Mechanic took back change the clutch using normal ones. Next day this colleague came and say the clutch so light now, so much better to drive......hhahhahahhahah:driver:

Any noticeable performance drop after your staff changed into normal clutch?

As for higher WHP readings, not really. Just the notion is that it minimizes the chances of clutch slipping at higher revs but the cons of it can at times outweigh the pro unless you have to get used to it

If one can handle racing clutch in daily drive, I think this person can live with ordinary clutch even in KL traffic jams. :rofl:

I recall a friend who had a GT3 with the racing clutch. It was a mega pain in the ass to do hill handbrake maneuvers and traffic frog hops were not fun. Eventually gave up that clutch for the standard soft-ass clutch. Less grip, less power but hella easier to live with.

And I'd drive a manual everyday over driving an auto anyday.

I recall a friend who had a GT3 with the racing clutch. It was a mega pain in the ass to do hill handbrake maneuvers and traffic frog hops were not fun. Eventually gave up that clutch for the standard soft-ass clutch. Less grip, less power but hella easier to live with.

Uphill.....tell me about it. Clutches like those 'ON & OFF' switch type is a real PITA for sure.

Your friend uses the GT3 as daily drive car?

Uphill.....tell me about it. Clutches like those 'ON & OFF' switch type is a real PITA for sure.

For those on & off type, that means every time you move the car, you need to step on the throttle to prevent stalling?

Yes, GT3 daily. Well, now no more. Changed to a XF Jag.

On-Off meaning the biting point of the clutch is extremely sensitive and low, so need to rev like mad otherwise stall but rev too much and you wheel spin and make a lotta noise. :biggrin:

Yes, GT3 daily. Well, now no more. Changed to a XF Jag.

On-Off meaning the biting point of the clutch is extremely sensitive and low, so need to rev like mad otherwise stall but rev too much and you wheel spin and make a lotta noise. :biggrin:

Many years ago I drove a 240Z got the same effect like you. Step a little, engine stall, step to much the car surges forward, cannot control the clutch and accelerator timing.

I've test driven some Evo also with super heavy on-off racing clutch like that! Ugh, no good leh!

unless for circuit or drag racing, people should avoid these heavy clutches. It takes away the enjoyment of manual driving