Bridgestone RE003 vs Michelin Pilot Sport 3 (PS3)

PS3 noisy meh? F1D5 and CSC also make similar level of noises leh. I haven't found high performance tires which are less noisy, maybe PS4 is. Anyway yeah, silence does not make you stick to the road so it's not important, so just do like me and turn up the music LOUD! :thrasher:

My Asy2 was quiet, but then most tyres as they wear down usually will be noisy. How noisy then got to see how the wear also.....lol

My RE003 (215/50/17) on the front has gone about 17K km. At first the RE003 was fantastic, dry grip excellent, wet grip very good, noise ok but aquaplaning is quite good. But now, after 40-50%, i'm surprised the performance has drop drastically.
I usually use up my front tyres from new to botak, then change to new ones, but now I'm thinking of getting rid of them and get back to GY F1D5 that i previously use. The F1D5 maintained their performance until the end. BTW, my rears are still GY F1D5 as i cannot rotate them with the fronts (different size).

My RE003 (215/50/17) on the front has gone about 17K km. At first the RE003 was fantastic, dry grip excellent, wet grip very good, noise ok but aquaplaning is quite good. But now, after 40-50%, i'm surprised the performance has drop drastically.
I usually use up my front tyres from new to botak, then change to new ones, but now I'm thinking of getting rid of them and get back to GY F1D5 that i previously use. The F1D5 maintained their performance until the end. BTW, my rears are still GY F1D5 as i cannot rotate them with the fronts (different size).

Agree about the F1D5, I also used it until totally destroyed but it's still gripping well in the dry or even slight damp condition when I changed them. The only weakness is the chipping quite a lot. Seems RE003 now becoming less and less for my consideration as many reviews seem to be inline with what you've said also. Bring on PS4 next time I suppose!

PS3 still having chipping issue...Mine week 1x 2016 batch. .Around 9k mileage

• IMG_20170416_132139.jpg
    IMG_20170416_132139.jpg
    99.8 KB · Views: 175

That is the main problem with different tyre size for front and back.....:bawling:

Looks more like a cut......chipping will come out in pieces......

In stages perhaps..Cut >> chip off..No?:confused:

I was hoping xkena bad batch..Next choice will try f1d5..Still have thick thread :driver:

Ya that one is nothing, more like some cut, not chipping. Your tire still looks nice and smooth. You should see my F1D5 last time, chipped until can see the steel belt! :biggrin: If you don't want chipping, then better not choose F1D5 unless you drive very normal only. You should use CSC5, even better performance and almost no chipping but only available 17' above.

Hahaha..Good to know it's fine..Had not experience this kind of cut/chip issue with 2x cycle using federal 595 rpm..Not drive normally, unless raining or heavy traffic,once in highway 150 above or sleepy..:driver:

Using 17" rim..wanted to purchase csc5 instead of PS3, unfortunately late by 20min..So was down to PS3 and re003, choose Ps3 due to wet performance + upgrade whp..:smokin:

Hahaha..Good to know it's fine..Had not experience this kind of cut/chip issue with 2x cycle using federal 595 rpm..Not drive normally, unless raining or heavy traffic,once in highway 150 above or sleepy..:driver:

Using 17" rim..wanted to purchase csc5 instead of PS3, unfortunately late by 20min..So was down to PS3 and re003, choose Ps3 due to wet performance + upgrade whp..:smokin:

If you push the tires quite hard in the corners then you'll see those chipping. If straight only even though high speeds will not cause chipping.

CSC5 is better than PS3, can still rival even the new PS4. Better go with PS4 next time, should be cheaper than European made CSC5 coz PS4 is made in Thailand like PS3. Hopefully PS4 would not chip as much anymore.

In stages perhaps..Cut >> chip off..No?:confused:

I was hoping xkena bad batch..Next choice will try f1d5..Still have thick thread :driver:

I doubt they will change the compound of PS3 to prevent the chipping. Their XM1 was bad, thought XM2 was okay but some still chips. Most chipping comes later when compound hardens....:driver:

Found my old pics, this is chipping

Agree about the F1D5, I also used it until totally destroyed but it's still gripping well in the dry or even slight damp condition when I changed them. The only weakness is the chipping quite a lot. Seems RE003 now becoming less and less for my consideration as many reviews seem to be inline with what you've said also. Bring on PS4 next time I suppose!
yes, previously my F1D5 also experience chipping but not as severe as urs until can see the steel belt. but surprisingly, my RE003 thread is smooth - no cut or chipping. anyway, i think i'm gonna skip RE003 for my future tyre of choice..

ni ok lagi bro, baru cut sikit. hehe..

That is the main problem with different tyre size for front and back.....:bawling:
hehe.. rims are also different size.. 17x8 and 17x9
since the rears are only rotate left-right, previously i use CSC3 for 5 years, even then the thread is still deep about 30%. but i just throw it away as the tyre sudah keras and already more than 5 years old..

anyway, thinking of waiting for Falken FK510 and PS4 to properly come to Msia first. right now, pakai je la the RE003, its still ok but not up to expectations..

yes, previously my F1D5 also experience chipping but not as severe as urs until can see the steel belt. but surprisingly, my RE003 thread is smooth - no cut or chipping. anyway, i think i'm gonna skip RE003 for my future tyre of choice..

since the rears are only rotate left-right, previously i use CSC3 for 5 years, even then the thread is still deep about 30%. but i just throw it away as the tyre sudah keras and already more than 5 years old..

anyway, thinking of waiting for Falken FK510 and PS4 to properly come to Msia first. right now, pakai je la the RE003, its still ok but not up to expectations..

What rims do you use and on what car? I also use staggered sizes, 17x7.5/8.5 on my Mark X.

Falken probably need to wait first but PS4 should have dy......:driver:

What rims do you use and on what car? I also use staggered sizes, 17x7.5/8.5 on my Mark X.
i'm using Yokohama AVS Model 5 on a Perdana

Falken probably need to wait first but PS4 should have dy......:driver:
yup, called Falken and they said that FK510 still not available in Msia.
later i will survey for PS4 prices. its made in Thailand right?

also, F1A3 do not hv 215/50/17 size, right?

i'm using Yokohama AVS Model 5 on a Perdana

Waa nice & rare rims you got there! Lightweight forged also right?

If you check Goodyear Hongkong website, F1A3 actually has many sizes but here much more limited sizes available.

Yup, PS4 are Thai made

F1A3 seems got 225/50R17 but not 215....:smokin:

Waa nice & rare rims you got there! Lightweight forged also right?

If you check Goodyear Hongkong website, F1A3 actually has many sizes but here much more limited sizes available.

the fronts 17x8 weight ~ 7.5kg
the rears 17x9 weight ~ 7.7kg
maybe can consider it as lightweight (for 17" rims)
and yes, i guess they're forged

if the F1A3 got 215/50/17, then for sure i sambar terus.. haha

Yes it should be forged. Only a tad heavier than mine which is also forged but mine half inch smaller so of course slightly lighter too. (mine is Prodrive GC07, 6.6/6.9kg).

Get PS4 then, it has your size but actually that size way too small for your rims leh. Should use at least 225/45/17 fr, & 245/40/17 rear. Even I use 225 fr and 245 rear already.

What size are you using in the rear?:driver: