B-series OEM Oil Cooler. Is there 1?

SA6YEuro

Honda brothers, have u wondered if there is a oil cooler attached 2 ur block? Coz I dun seem 2 hav 1?

I know all Type Rs hav 1.... Wat about the rest? B16A1,2,3 n B18C1,2,3,4.......

Care 2 share..... 4 those tt r not sure wat i m talkin about.... heres a pic highlighted....

EF9.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
AFAIK,
d DA6 integras were d very 1st DOHC VTEC equipped cars 2 get d so-called oil cooler..its merely an adapter on d water running pipe whr ur oil filter will now b attached...so d running water will actually cool down d oil....not very effective but heck,better thn none.....n yes,my B16A1 has it....

note:-but sum sed dat is actually not an oil cooler...its actually an oil HEATER coz according 2 them,d running water is actually HOT,hence it'll heat up d engine oil but dis r actually meant 4 winter state models.....any1 heard abt dis b4?

That's an oil cooler? I thought it's the one with a small cooling coil mounted up front?

Hmm.. or are you talking about the black canister thingy, which is a sort of breather case?

Edit: After reading akuma's post.. hmm.. oh.. that's an oil cooler? (O_o)

well,generally,der r 2 skool of thinking abt dis thinggy...
1 say its an oil COOLER.
d other party say its an oil HEATER.
n AFAIK,dis thinggy comes std in d DA6 B16A1 n also Type Rs.....
come 2 think abt it...if it comes std in a Type R,i think it shud b n oil COOLER,right?

akuma, wat u said does make sense but in the manuals it is referred as an oil cooler. Till 2day the Type-Rs r fitted with it... obviously it does its job.... kinda weird huh?

guys, juz 2 share... in most manuals on the b16a, they call tt particular part/piece the oil cooler unlike those in the turbos.... external 1s r not recommended coz oil press will drop drastically esp without an upgraded oil pump! Wanna hear wat a constipated Vtec opening sound like? hehe.. i did....

the actual problem tt i m facing is tt i got myself a Sard sandwich oil block hoping 2 tap sensors in2 it.... but once i screw it in all the way, it will not go in all the way! the thread fr the engine block seems 2 long..... the oil block is left sort of dangling..... arghhh!!!

the funny thing if juz the oil filter by itself fits in perfectly....tts y my assumption could b the oil cooler is missing..... mine is a b16a1 fr the 1991 da6....

If so...I would want to change my engine to DA6s engine..eheiheihe
Anybody intrested in swapping engine ka??hiehiehe...

Confirm o not they got in the R`s engine?All the R Bseries engines is it?

so far i hav done a few conversions wif my mech, the b18c5 n the b16b so far has a oil cooler.....

the pic u c attached is actually a b16a1 fr the EF9....

Hmm...any differences in performance wise?With and without oil cooler?
But wat i know 16a1 is rated only 160hp..n 16a2 is 170hp?Heheheh...how?

p/s: dont flame me wit my silly question..eheihieh ;P

bro, the power is not really relevant coz the big diff between the a1 n a2 is the cams n pistons..... not forgettin ecu mapping..... theres where the 10hp comes fr...

but in basic physics, heat n friction reduces power n efficiency rite? honestly nobody really knows wat were the honda engineers thinkin....

if u ask me,i'd retain this oem oil cooler frm Honda coz my mentality is,if it aint working,d honda boys won put it der....i did face some trouble locating d steel pipe dat connects 2 d oil cooler as most B16A2 doenst come w it..so kedai potong is a hassle..in d end i ordered new..cant remember how much....n yeah,those external oil coolers..tot of having em oso but did hear abt oil pressure drop cases,so i'm still holding back....n i din know d B16A1 in d EF9s came w it oso.....
n yes,i believe all B-series Type Rs has it......

160ps vs 170ps?easily overcome w a chg of cams.....but did u know dat d B16A1's head haf sum slight advantage?sum1 told me it'll create a small combuston chamber,hence higher CR..any1 wanna measure dis?

note:i'm keeping my B16A1 w d oil cooler+my EF7 radiator(as big as d DA6's)..can whack til kingdom come in track!hehehehehe

I dun think its an oil cooler laa .. as far as I bumped into b16a oil cooler its front mounted like intercooler ..

thats is an oil catch tank .. hehehehe

cekau,
WEH!!!ko idup lagi yeah??HAHAHAHHAAHA.lama tala nampak(as a matter of fact,mmg i x penah nampak/jumpa u pun?!ahahhaha)......
oil catch tank?meh,i catchkan ur tank?hehehheheheh............
n any front mounted oil cooler found attached 2 any B16A must b aftermarket item...coz AFAIK,Honda did not make them standard...its not even on their optional parts/acc list....

still alive and kicking laa .. hahaha

its a standard oct for b16 if me not mistaken .. me also newbie here .. coz, for oen time last week, I ask my mech for clean it up for me when he took out my steering rack .. its oily alrite coz and it traps oil .. hahahaha

OCT?? hehehe....

heres somethin 2 shed some light on whether its true in the 1st place.... taken fr a ef8 manual....

Dsc00161.jpg

Dsc00162.jpg

i got all u need for the oil cooler conversion then, the steel piping, the sandwich but not with oil filter... hehe

Wahhh...SA6,where did u get tat manual?Can I have a copy..ehiehiehie
Now I`m 66% into tat oil cooler thingy...guys,can tat be installed to 16a2 engine? I mean,direct swap it?Hiehiheihe...Any immediate results?

Mie...u never lepas any peluang yea?Go Go avantech ranger!Ehheheie

if u ask me,i'd retain this oem oil cooler frm Honda coz my mentality is,if it aint working,d honda boys won put it der....i did face some trouble locating d steel pipe dat connects 2 d oil cooler as most B16A2 doenst come w it..so kedai potong is a hassle..in d end i ordered new..cant remember how much....n yeah,those external oil coolers..tot of having em oso but did hear abt oil pressure drop cases,so i'm still holding back....n i din know d B16A1 in d EF9s came w it oso.....
n yes,i believe all B-series Type Rs has it......

160ps vs 170ps?easily overcome w a chg of cams.....but did u know dat d B16A1's head haf sum slight advantage?sum1 told me it'll create a small combuston chamber,hence higher CR..any1 wanna measure dis?

note:i'm keeping my B16A1 w d oil cooler+my EF7 radiator(as big as d DA6's)..can whack til kingdom come in track!hehehehehe

yes mastaaahhh.....ahaks :shades_smile: