Proton come down to its knees

well, itz one proton too many for me.... one wira is enuf for my entire life ... hopefully.

although it doesn't give me much prob... but for the price i paid for it... haii... could have better off with other makes. Time to get rid of it.

Luckily I sold my '94 Wira about 6 months ago.

I heard 2nd hand car dealer dont want to buy 2nd hand Wira because new one so cheap.

it seem a last ditch effort to promote sales. (not good for those with existing protons).

it sad to see proton resort to this price cut. unfortunately loong term is going to be really bad to prop up the image. (if VW colaborates with Proton eventually)

My personal opnion on this Proton Volkswagon j/v.

It will never happen.

1st reason why I think it wont.
I think Volkswagon not really interested in Proton. The're priority is is India and China market.

Volkswagong merely came to survey if Proton is a good bargain or not.

I think our people probably stipulated to VW that Bumi shares of Proton must be retained, BUmi part vendors must be retained, etc, etc, etc.

VW like all other multinational co., they don care about race or religion. As long as you can produce a quality product at reasonable price, they will do business with you.

But our people have different priorities. Making a profitable company is NOT IMPORTANT.

EGO, PRIDE and spoon feeding our people is TOP PRIORITY.

"Bersabar lah, Kerajaan akan tolong kami"

the Proton - VW talks had ended already and this is official. our PM had announced that the gov will try to nego with GM for a technical collaboration.

ha ha ha imagine this...

Daewoo Kalos = Chevrolet Aveo = Proton???

two thumbs up for ur statement, joeker....

totally agree...

saw today newspaper stating that pm will have a high piority meeting with VW...

but dunno when lah...

i agree wif joeker... pride will spoilt everything... especially those vendors who supply the lousy parts ...

hope the meeting between pak lah & VW wont dissapoint us as i prefer VW rather than GM... dun flame me for this ok...

*the terms of conlude usually means VW: mau jual tak? proton : ok wa jual kasi sama lu... VW: ok wa beli

for normal driving, from point a to b, i think it's worth it la. Even though i hate proton's quality, the car is still comfortable enough to drive, FC also not bad.

its the cheapest money can buy for a new car that size/performance... if u dun think of the resell value and jz wanna use it to get from point A to B, it is really worth it...

skywalker, last year Saga LMST which cost 38K now sells at 22K. how about that?

eyong,
Actually we have heard a lot of ding dong on this story..
Thats why i mention like that..hahaha..
It is a Good News...

Let's hope "they" won't make a mockery of VW's hard-earned reputation ...

wooohooo...no. no. of they wont be able to.

seen the papers today? our PM going to meet VW top brass in weeks time. that might include the top man himself (forget that big man at VW)..

it sounds to me like real DESPERATION..

we are mockering ourselves now.

worst case scenario? we might be giving them MONEY to buy Proton.

God bless proton and malaysians.

Another title for our Malaysian Book of Records, it seems ....

Wat we are witnessing here is free market at work.

WHen there is demand, there is supply.

Last time, we don have choice. DUe to tax and duties, we either buy proton or much more expensive Japanese car.

But now, we can buy Korean, Japanese cars at almost similar price with Proton.

Why should we pay for low quality product when we can get good quality product at same price?

On the other hand, proton is not pulling its own weight.

AFter so many years of subsidy and bail outs, they fail to improve themselves.

I hope Proton close down permanently and bought over by another company who knows how to run a business.

After so many years, Proton has failed be a profitable business, should we give them another chance?

I think not.

Sometimes, it is better to endure short term pain for long term gain.

Proton is like a cancer. They keep losing previous taxpayers money for the sake of Bloated EGO and dumb blind PRIDE.

The sooner we cut off this cancer, our government's health will be far better off.

And probably, the new company which takes over will breath new life to Proton and turn it into a money making machine.

That will churn out more jobs and revenue to govt. in term of corp. tax.

My 2 cents.

its the cheapest money can buy for a new car that size/performance... if u dun think of the resell value and jz wanna use it to get from point A to B, it is really worth it...
okay, this is something new in Proton's chapter. One of the advantage for national car is high resell value :)

i agree wif joeker... pride will spoilt everything... especially those vendors who supply the lousy parts ...

hope the meeting between pak lah & VW wont dissapoint us as i prefer VW rather than GM... dun flame me for this ok...

*the terms of conlude usually means VW: mau jual tak? proton : ok wa jual kasi sama lu... VW: ok wa beli

Agree Agree ..............

Our prime minister has to meet representives from volkswagen!??!?

HAHAHAahhaha

The priminister of a country has to meet a businessman to discuss the fate of a national company. I guess VW reps must have been sick of wasting time with proton already??

Now that its mentioned, how long has it been since proton first announced to look for a partner? 3 years or so?