Need to change clutch

prozac

Hi guys. Long time never post coz been so bz plus I try to avoid ZTH if I want to save money (especially the marketplace)

After a year of competition, track days and the occasional 7000rpm launch my loyal Ralliart clutch is finally slipping. Upon inspection during my rebuild I saw it is no thicker than a CD. So before putting back the car together, I'll need to get a replacement racing clutch ASAP.

So I'll need your good suggestions for the following:-

Brand
Model
Price
Where to buy

Oh yea, those who've been to Ultra Racing HQ in Pandan Indah recently will be able to see my ride :_:

Pro, as you did not specify what you need and whether it's a single plate, I'll give my feedback on what I've own and tried before on evo.

I've driven Exedy Hypersingle, HKS Twin Plate GD-Pro/Max, Power Enterprise Twin Plate (Exedy OEM) and Cusco Twin Plate.

In terms of driveablity, this goes to Exedy..the clutch and it's twin plates is easy to drive but if you want real grip, my vote goes to HKS. (This is my 2nd set now..)

The driveablity really sucks especialy in Jams and uphill but the grip is AWESOME ! You might want to try their latest carbon clutch (LA series..) but it's single plate, not sure if they came out with Twin plates for now. Not sure how the above compare to Ralliart's.

Even try both Twin plates from Power vs HKS. HKS's grip really really 'tight' ! lol. As for cusco's, they are OEM from Exedy as well.

Others good clutches like Ogura, ATX..etc I haven't got chance to try la. Anyone else to share ?

Well, I'm coming to share my experience.

I don't hv much due to now I am using my second set of clutch.

First the OEM, it's light that's all, you won't miss this during jaming hour.

Replacement to Exedy Hyper Single, very good grip but need heavy food. The clutch very heavy. Bit of regret to change this.

Anyway, I don't hv much modification so Hyper single is enough for my drive.

yah like what mr.vp said,need more info to give advise.......what kinda horse u running,often play drag or track.Me now using ATS Twin Plate Carbon, got to say its just awesome......no regret at all, light pedal and easy to drive. I hv tried hks twin and exedy twin.hks- cheaper plate,not so easy to drive,can last longerexedy- expensive plates, easy to drive,worn out rate higher

Well, I'm coming to share my experience.

I don't hv much due to now I am using my second set of clutch.

First the OEM, it's light that's all, you won't miss this during jaming hour.

Replacement to Exedy Hyper Single, very good grip but need heavy food. The clutch very heavy. Bit of regret to change this.

Anyway, I don't hv much modification so Hyper single is enough for my drive.

hahaha , bro Moppy. Agree with u. Like effecct of driving "lorry clutch " but with turbo ...... lol

If you wanna go for single plate, then try HKS Super Single LA series. It is much lighter than Exedy Hyper Single. Feels like a stock clutch and rated for 400+HP. If you car is heavily modded, then forget single plate coz grip is not as good as twin plate clutches.

wats the price for the hks LA series? been thinkin of tht.. anyone use this b4? i believe its almost same price with exedy hyper single.. , been also thinkin of the exedy semi racing clutch, wats the driveabilty? thanx.

hi.....like S9 said dis clutch is gud to use.......even if your car is around 380 on wheel....it should hold :D feel is light as a stock.......

thanx andy and dd,..

DD, hows the grip to this HKS LA? my car is in the workshop now waiting for my decision on which clutch to install actually.. either exedy hyper single or this HKS LA,.. unless for the cheaper one will be the Exedy Semi Racing.. need some advice.. thanx

on paper, 450 bhp no prob if not mistaken....so far my car modded aso no prob in terms of grip........but of coz my car minor mods only la....

Mark,

I'll use this LA clucth too once mine is time for change!!! It got lotsa good review, as u can always check through online... DD too, said its pretty good to use n easy to drive.... This is my main point - easy driveability!!! :_:

no worries S9, confirm easy...me orang malas...in fact did tons of research .....coz needed something dat is macam STOCK feel n yet can hold my mods.....well LA did perfectly.....only thing is .........its not cheap oh...3k plus nearing 4k dat time when i bought :((

can u ask SS to bring in ah.....:))

finally decided to install this HKS LA clutch.. will be done in two days time..hehe cant wait to get my car... many thanx bros..

Haha... Anyone interested in de HKS LA clutch??? If got few then i can try to talk to SS for better pricing le... :_: Anyone??? No promise, but will try!!!

How is this clutch compare to HKS twin plate GD max in term of wear and tear and drivability?

S9, I want. hahaha. Let me know the price le.

got the hks LA for 3.6k.. .. actually quite a good deal cuz it comes with a lighten flywheel, cover and plate.. i believe exedy dont.. rite?