need help sifus!!!!bov prob

gsr6625

hi guys...i need some advise....the bov i m using is greddy type rs...for the past few days i have been hearing changes of sound from my bov...i sounded like it's loosing pressure....is it spoiled and any recomendation on other brand of bov sound?was thinking of ssqv...i m currently running on gsr...thanks for the advise and suggestions guys...:)

just tighten the top skru of th bov
i wouldnt go ssqv
come on , ssqv is nt for high boost application
if u r going till 1bar or so , carry on with ssqv
bt the type-rs is soooo much more reliable than ssqv , i would never change to anything else other than greddy type r or hks racing

Go for Blitz! I like that sound! Currently using it and boosting @ 0.7. If boost until 1.0bar, that sound is loud until the whole street can hear.

ok thanks for the advice....after tightening the screw the sound became worse..i have a feeling that the spring in the chamber have given way.......i have also heard that there r diff kind of sqv right?for normal boosting and also a diff one for higher boosting?is this true?

kk9972- how does the blitz blow off sound like bro?i m currently boosting at 1.3 bar of boost.....on a gsr also.....only prob i have is i m afraid the bov sound does not blend in with my wastegate sound....i m using tail 38mm by the way.....cause i have heard lots of my friend's wastegate sound that don blend in with their bov......thanks for the advise anyway bro....good luck on ur ride...cheers

Go for Blitz! I like that sound! Currently using it and boosting @ 0.7. If boost until 1.0bar, that sound is loud until the whole street can hear.

me used b4 on my mirage.damn good.nite time more better,ekekekeke.

just tighten the top skru of th bov
i wouldnt go ssqv
come on , ssqv is nt for high boost application
if u r going till 1bar or so , carry on with ssqv
bt the type-rs is soooo much more reliable than ssqv , i would never change to anything else other than greddy type r or hks racing

jin bro,

are you refferring to HKS ssqv or plain ol' cap ayam ssqv? why do you say it's unreliable? - just curious.. :questionmark:

kk9972- how does the blitz blow off sound like bro?i m currently boosting at 1.3 bar of boost.....on a gsr also.....only prob i have is i m afraid the bov sound does not blend in with my wastegate sound....i m using tail 38mm by the way.....cause i have heard lots of my friend's wastegate sound that don blend in with their bov......thanks for the advise anyway bro....good luck on ur ride...cheers

i think when your atmosphere dump wastegate open - you wont be able hear your BOV anymore.

From gsr6625:

Like what chemical mentioned, it would be. But it also depends on how you setup your wastegate as well. If your wastegate is not able to withstand 1.3 bar, blow off will working to blast the sound out. Blitz sounds like "chhhaaaaaaaaaaa", not like sqv "ciiiissssssss".

Hi ajaxmd, used b4? Now using which one? Where is your blitz??

and also i heard that bov cxan be repaired by getting the spring inside it changed?heard from a mech that bov can be repaired so i was curious.

jin bro,

are you refferring to HKS ssqv or plain ol' cap ayam ssqv? why do you say it's unreliable? - just curious.. :questionmark:

maybe its my mistake nt to state properly
if the car is just stock or with small minor mod ssqv is ok
original ssqv's also dont withstand highboost application
bt most gsr dnt boost above 1bar, so it should be alrite then
ssqv r prone to leak at high boost applications
thts one reason why hks sells HKS Racing Blow Off Type-II :)
and this guy already has a greddy type-rs which could stand up for a 350hp car
unless the greddy type-rs thts being used is a cap ayam , then it wouldnt be good too ,
if rating BOV's , according to ppls input

ssqv , twin chamber , sard r2d2 & blitz supersound , type-s , type-rs , HKS Racing & Tial 50mm & Type-r are at the high lead ,
there are even some that i missed out like GFB , Electronic controlled bov ....
u wouldnt see ssqv's in big monsters , often u open the hoods of monsters u would see greddy type-r one more reason is cos they got greddy type-r stiffer spring version :)

i think you're refering to ssqv 'cap ayam' then. I know a guy whose been using hks ssqv for quite a while in his humble ride boosting daily 1.8bar @ almost 400whp without any leakage at all.

FYI - HKS only produce 1 type of SSQV. HKS Super SSQV.

i think you're refering to ssqv 'cap ayam' then. I know a guy whose been using hks ssqv for quite a while in his humble ride boosting daily 1.8bar @ almost 400whp without any leakage at all.

FYI - HKS only produce 1 type of SSQV. HKS Super SSQV.

my bad bro
will do some research if i have free time :)
thanks for the info

my bad bro
will do some research if i have free time :)
thanks for the info

hehehe.. dont worry bro.. we're all here to learn along the way - myself included. The passion that counts! ;)

some info found from monster modders
For a larger single turbo, which you can probably quantify by hp level, I
would recommend either two SSQV's or one Racing BOV Type 2. I had a single
SSQV with my to4r set up before and it did its job (one bad ass sound with
all the air coming out of it), but ideally I would suggest running two of
those or one Racing BOV II.

A common misconception that the SSQV or Racing BOV 2 leaks under high
boost, is definately a misconception and is untrue. Both of these BOV's are
pull-type units. The pull type design prevents leaking under boost because
the boost presses the valve even more shut against its seal. When actuated,
the valve pulls back wards to discharge and by design of the internal
chamber, the inward movement of the valve does not restrict airflow from
being discharged.

haha mr chemical..does that guy happen to drive an evo7 with full body kit but now back to standard evo8 body kit?lol....just wondering...cause i have a friend who is also boosting at 1.8 bar and have around 400++ whel horse power....

and my bov i bought was brand new...cost 700 and onli lasted me for less then one year...sad case...

haha mr chemical..does that guy happen to drive an evo7 with full body kit but now back to standard evo8 body kit?lol....just wondering...cause i have a friend who is also boosting at 1.8 bar and have around 400++ whel horse power....

and my bov i bought was brand new...cost 700 and onli lasted me for less then one year...sad case...

not really bro - the one i'm referring drives black evo9, varis kit, rx6 apex'i turbo kit & bronze 18" ce28n :regular_smile: hehehe...

come to think of it there are load of 400whp evos there days ya...

yup...that's y there a 4g93T sifus around to help us with mods to win 4g63t....lol.....

no doubt evo r fast but for us can catch up with them good enough liao...lol

yup...that's y there a 4g93T sifus around to help us with mods to win 4g63t....lol.....

no doubt evo r fast but for us can catch up with them good enough liao...lol

lol y not
bt then its just gonna cost alot more thts the reason ppl decide not to do so
talking bout early gens

evo block 300-350hp capable
vr4 block 400+ capable

gsr , conrods are tiny , head is smaller , aftermarket cams are limited
to make it stronger u would need to spend alot more , forged pistons , billet conrods , cams are too rare , on production would be from aussie and would cost alot more, 4g63 b.crower from US onyl costs 1.7k. gearbox is also a limitation of the gsr as they r weaker.

bt then again , u all got mivec heads to hybrid , slap in a larger turbo's and u would be seeing stock evo's behind , there are so many out there

in the end its just , who has more money n spent it wisely gets the best performance deal.