New GTR against RB powered GTR?

k3nny

Hey guys,

Just wanted to get your opinion on what you thought the new GTR's market response would be.

Sure, i know the whole world is waiting in anticipation but when it actually launches, there will be a few things different from the GTR that we are already certain of..
Certain things that made the GTR, basically, the GTR. :)

Things like the RB26DETT is no longer going to be used. In fact, not even a straight six anymore. No longer a part of the Skyline family and rather now an independent model sold globally.

Basically the car has alot of things changed from the R32/33/34 series Skylines and with the phenomenal potential already available for the R32/33/34 series GTR's, what will the market response be like towards the GTR?

It could go 2 ways. 1, the car will be so brilliantly awesome when launched that the whole world will crave for 1 and the RB26DETT powered Skyline prices will tumble but still, GTR's are famous for their mod-a-bility and i cant see parts being available so soon?

Or, the car could be a disaster to all the GTR fans and will further anchor the R34's prices in the market and people will continue to enhance their R34's as opposed to dreaming for a new 36 GTR? This will, as unlikely as it may be, i suppose elevate the R34 to a sort of cult car status? Like the AE86? Hehe.

Just curious lar i guess what with the car launch being around the corner and with already most of the vital stats available speculatively online. Not entirely accurate but i suppose would be very close..

So anyhow, just some feedback i guess? :)

Thanks again!

Kenny

New technology.. complain out of the range and not pure skyline anymore
Keep old engine.. complain same engine after 18 year
kekeke

overall expect the car will be hot during launching
after 1-2 year..
the real potential will be truely shown
whether it lemon car or super car

The successor to the AE86 was a major letdown hehe. Let's hope this is not the case with the new GTR. I can see that Nissan is trying to move the GTR to the upmarket sports car segment while keeping the 350Z cheaper and more readily available for the masses.

Performance-wise, Nissan did not appear to cut any corners. Testing the new GTR with the 911 Turbo as the benchmark shows that Nissan is really aiming high. I'm sure the development team is eager to outdo the R34 GTR.

Whether its a R32, 33,34 or 35(or36), a skyline will always be a cult car for the fans out there. Just that we will grow fonder on the newer models but keep the old one until we get the $$$ to buy the latest model we can afford.

For me is just still the 32 & 34 looks that will forever be remembered.

To me the GTR goes further back then just the R32,R33 and R34, maybe its my age (heeheehee) but what about the C10 and C110?

The S20 power plant , though revered in the 70's , it is no match to the RB26 when it came out in the early 90s.Infact the,S20 was even a paler comparison the the FJ20 and even RB20 , which found its home in the lesser GTS-T models of the R30 and R31!! As time progresses, so does the technological advancements and I think it is not out of the ordinary for Nissan to apply whatever available technology and know how to the GTR.One must remember that, though improved, the GTR34's biggest pitfall when it first came out was that it lacked any significant technological advancement when compared to the preceding model, GTR33. So I doubt Nissan would want to repeat this mistake as we can be ensured that the new GTR would incorperate some radical changes !

However, I do foresee that the new V6 engine wouldn't be as easily tuned as the RB26 . Rightfully so ,I think this is due to Nissan redirected target market for the New GTR , which more inclined to the Porsches and Ferraris potential owners, as a majority of them hardly tinkers with the car other than the usual exhaust and filter upgrade.

Being nostalgic is not one of Nissan's strong traits when it comes to the GTR and I think thats what makes the car so special:regular_smile:

One thing for sure, it will be selling from the dealerships in North America and Europe making the car a worldwide Nissan performance car; not like what it is now and what it used to be........

I just dont quite get how come the japanese are losing its uniqueness in their styling. Look at future evo's sti's and the concept s16... pure dissapointment imo. They are all going towards the european market in terms of style with potato like styling ... ie 350z and the new gtr.. lol. I guess they have lost the uniqueness of the stylish japanese sportscar that had advantage over their european counterparts. Japanese sports car were thought to have the styles and offered at a fraction of the price of the euro's. But now it looks like they are going in the same direction. Uglier styling and a higher price tag.

However i agree with nissan's step in taking radical changes to improve their engine and technology as the rb has heaps of problems in terms of maintainence. Unlike manufacturers who produced the same engine over a 10 year period, nissan is good at having radical changes, just that it will be a gamble. I dont like the v6 concept personally but the inline 6 isnt as reliable imo. But i have a feeling the new gtr will be a dissapointment..

I dare not say R36 will be a failure unless i have 700k in my account now..... Inline six is outdated, certain things have to change..... If you drool at Nagata's V35 monster, you won't have problem to like the new GTR.... Don't blame it on Western country, they have the buying power which we don't, probably due to our taxes and Proton......

without the taxes also we dont have the money, just accept it hahaha... the price for gtr 50k+ for normal one 70k+ for sport( i forgot the name), and 90k+ for evo version... and that all in USD not ringgit ok? hehehe

You will surprised that in malaysia a lot of rich people
you can see some bought a used 150k Evo 7 and splash 100k cash modification on it
as well those R34 GTR owner

it just whether the New GTR capable to make them think twice to get Porsche or M3 range

that what Nissan want to do

Hey kenny, considering not selling your veilside GTR izzit? hehehe
Skagee, i think your right, your age is showing there a bit.. haha

With regard to the new GTR, all I can say is if I have the money to own it, I would keep it stock and have an RB skyline to mod.. that would be ideal. Perhaps that would be what Nissan intends? :)

Either way, its about time Nissan had a piece of the supercar pie and considering how long Nissan have taken to develop the new GTR, I have a sneaky suspicion it should be close to perfect *fingers crossed*, but if its a flop, the R34 price should remain strong, so either way, this will be good for R34 GTR owners.. hehe,
What summore u all waiting for?? Sell ur house & kids and buy a R34 GTR!!! :P

Hey kenny, considering not selling your veilside GTR izzit? hehehe
Skagee, i think your right, your age is showing there a bit.. haha

With regard to the new GTR, all I can say is if I have the money to own it, I would keep it stock and have an RB skyline to mod.. that would be ideal. Perhaps that would be what Nissan intends? :)

Either way, its about time Nissan had a piece of the supercar pie and considering how long Nissan have taken to develop the new GTR, I have a sneaky suspicion it should be close to perfect *fingers crossed*, but if its a flop, the R34 price should remain strong, so either way, this will be good for R34 GTR owners.. hehe,
What summore u all waiting for?? Sell ur house & kids and buy a R34 GTR!!! :P
thats y i've sold off my r33, my wife, my parents, my shop n my house... waiting for r36 to launch. errmm if u guys got time come visit me at the cross-bridge between sungai wang n lot10 in the day time or smart tunnel in nite time. btw ta pau something for me to eat b4 u come...

russwestwood: CONFIRM SELL. Last night kena hassle by JPJ officers on Connaught Highway.
Hahaha..

Almost lost my double layer tinting film.. :D

I think the GTR is also one car that you need to have the money to continue improving on.. And in that respect, im dead dry.

No more money to put into her. :)

Wow, Kenny, your car is already over 500bhp, and u still wanna put money into her?? I think if you look up 'Need for Speed' in the dictionary you will find a picture of k3nny.. hahaha. Btw, did the JPJ officers kacau you for anything more than the tinting?

raptorie54: you're a funny guy.. ok you preffer nasi lemak or roti canai? Actually that bridge is kinda uncomfortable, why dont you go to sunway, I can let you sleep in my R34, got semi-comfortable seats but no engine.. :)

russwestwood: You're one to speak.

He just kacau my tinting and threatened to tarik my car back to JPJ cause he suspects that theres alot of things that wont pass inspection and he says he has the right to do so.

:D

russwestwood: You're one to speak.

He just kacau my tinting and threatened to tarik my car back to JPJ cause he suspects that theres alot of things that wont pass inspection and he says he has the right to do so.

:D

Those guys always kacau tinting...better go clear Vkool then all the chicks can admire the driver inside (although your pocket dry) and loved to be ride in one (but mostly guys will be the first to shotgun for that seat!).

Dun sell ur Veilside la...such a nice car man.