Recommendations on upgrading of ECU of ER34

tatomi

Dear skyliners,

I'm looking to upgrade my ECU for my ER34 (manual). Any recomendations on workshops who can do a good job? And based on your experience, which type/brand of ECU works best on this car?

Hope to hear valuable comments from all bros in this forum.

Thanks in advance. Cheers.

What's ur target HP and current mods of your car? Then it's easier to know your road map for tuning it up.

If my mod is je forge piston 87mm,je forge con rod,1.5mm metal gasket, To4r ar70,fmic,650cc injector..can a haltech E6x make 500rwhp?

Recommendations on upgrading of ECU for ER34

My current mod:
1) Blitz front-mounted intercooler
2) HKS Oil cooler
3) HKS EVC 5
4) HKS suction kit
5) HKS racing BOV
6) free flow exhaust system
7) Sard fuel regulator (Big)
8) Nismo LSD

Engine and turbo is stock standard.

I'm looking to get 300-350hp on wheels.

What's ur target HP and current mods of your car? Then it's easier to know your road map for tuning it up.

My current mod:
1) Blitz front-mounted intercooler
2) HKS Oil cooler
3) HKS EVC 5
4) HKS suction kit
5) HKS racing BOV
6) free flow exhaust system
7) Sard fuel regulator (Big)
8) Nismo LSD

Engine and turbo is stock standard.

I'm looking to get 300-350hp on wheels.

i use PFC though, seems ok-ish though it could use a re-tune cause its rich as hell. i like the f-con better, seems smoother but then again some tuners are better at certain ECUs than others and the f-con isnt standalone.

go with whichever tuner you are most comfortable with and then pick the ECU he is best at tuning provided its well supported by a majority of tuners locally.

don't spend megabucks on motec if its only 300rwhp. try to get a good piggyback or if possible a standalone but dont have to spend megabucks on motec or anything of that sort.

bear in mind you might wanna shoot for more power in future so consider something that can be used / potential for upgrading

Get a piggyback Fcon SZ or SAFC Neo to lean out fuel on the top range of your curve. You will get 300 whp no problems, though the Fcon can adjust the timing too. But take not that ER34 SZ Harness is not cheap. The plus side is you can continue using the SZ for future mods upgrades.

The SZ has been replaced with the F-Con iS. I'm running that on my Spec-C with the Valcon V-Pro. Not a bad combo and I'd say much better than the SAFC anyday. If your headunit has video input, can use the screen to display like the GTR does.

thanks all bros for the valuable feedback. hope to hear more views for this thread. cheers.

i would say all aftermarket stand-alone ecu are comparable. yes..hp gain is very much depends on the mods. the most important thing which would be the final thing is WHO will be THE TUNER... if the tuner suxs, even with expensive Motec M800 or F-conVpro also useless.

u can install any ecu but u must approach the tuner who is pro in tuning the particular ecu u purchased.

so may i ask who is the best tuner in town???

n guys... i m wondering y Mine's GTR's are so fast? everything under the hood looks STOCK not even a aftermarket air filter. any1 knows the specs? and Mine's ECU also amazing.. once before my fren bought a piece from halfcut shop n plug into his std evo6..walao! pretty responsive..

MINES is one of the most respectable tuners in Japan which i myself wish they could tune up my car..kekeke. Their current 34GTR has many internal engine work done up and running HKS 2530 turbos, revs to 9000rpm but their demo car look so mild on the outside. Reflect the ZEN look...cool. Anyway they also have Plug & Play ECU for ER34, Sakakida has one on his car which the standard turbo is the limiting factor to boost higher. Great fueling though...