civic 96 help..

sazleej

dear guys,
my exhaust sudah rosak, got lubang here and there.. i want to rebuild it.. why problem is.. what size of the pipe should i use for maximum performance? what is the different between 4-2-1 and 4-1 extractor? which one is the best? my engine is standet wan.. single cam vtech with auto g/box onli.. can sum1 suggest the best way aaa??? this just used for family, do wan bising2 and my wife used it everyday for work.. she also said no pickup one.. haiiyaaa.. my wife rempit olredi...

suggest u use 4-2-1,and center use 2inch side,rear bullet use s-flow de,like mugen design.i use that layout b4,quite nice.

Ori piping is 1 3/4" right? So is 2" piping really suitable for 1.6 N/A Auto?

By the way, Civic 0.5 BAR bro, do you think 2" piping is suitable for low boosted BOT? What's your current setup?

I'm using 4-2-1 + ori piping + 2" replica twin loop muffler, planning to go for BOT on future, so need opinions to either keep my current muffler or change entire exhaust setup.

Ori piping is 1 3/4" right? So is 2" piping really suitable for 1.6 N/A Auto?

By the way, Civic 0.5 BAR bro, do you think 2" piping is suitable for low boosted BOT? What's your current setup?

I'm using 4-2-1 + ori piping + 2" replica twin loop muffler, planning to go for BOT on future, so need opinions to either keep my current muffler or change entire exhaust setup.

mine just basic setip only...la....
if u wanna bolt on turbo,try to forum force reduction.there have a thread vtec turbo....some monster was there....

sorry for late reply, just finished bending the pipe and welding.. ehehehe.. DIY lorr... but the price of stailess steel got sooo high! cost me more than RM100 for 20 feet one... will welding the mounting tomorrow.. thanks 4 advice, i'm using 2 inches pipe.. dunno whether its nice or not.. will tell later, but guys, my engine got really slow on pickup laaa... soo lembap to go to 60kmh.. did the exhaust cost it? orr the engine dying slowly?? before this i'm using synthiium 5000 but last i service with honda, they change to semi-syn one... does this effect the pick-up? olredi change the plug..

ask more advice from mr.shiro.he very helpful.....

Heh.. don't like that lah.. this one.. I dunno what to say.. single cam auto ler.. possibly 1.5/1.6 non vtec. Engine condition unknown..

But for me, maybe 2" is a bit too big for a stock engine if you want it as a daily driver... some more not bising? Err.. this one.. betul2 tak tau.

B-series auto, with a simple retune with VAFC, probably can get better pickup by running it a little leaner (means the throttle tip in will be leaner, since the closed loop will adjust it back to stoich.)

D-series.. I think stock setup is the best for low end.. mess with bigger exhaust pipes, increase fuel pressure, etc.. will probably sacrifice low end power for power near the higher rev ranges.

Low end power usually means exhaust sizes that are small.. ever wonder why some 2 litre cars have smaller exhaust than most B16A civics, and you probably can see why car manufacturers make them that small.

If the slow pickup is from before you switched the exhaust, I'd have check either the A/C compressor (heh, this one recently, my A/C compressor almost died already.. and can actually feel the car being dragged from behind when I turn on A/C. Now running without A/C belt while I search for a good condition one.

But probably that's not your problem, so maybe it's your engine that's worn that's causing that lack of pickup. Lost compression? Valves dirty? Sludge buildup?

Oh, and another, which was kind of funny because it happened recently (to me! ROFL).
Check your throttle cable... if it's loose.. then you might 'feel' like there's lousy pickup. :P

So many things to consider really.. maybe you should meet a mechanic first, then post here about his views, then maybe other forummers and me can help you better. At least a mechanic that sees your car can narrow the problems down and point out possibilities once he's test driven your car.

thanks boss.. maybe lorr... eheheheee.. my problem is that, here, i mean kudat, i cant find a good mechanic. have to go to kota kinabalu ( around 210km ).. aiiyyyaaaa... better go for a halfcut lorrrr... what is the reasonable price for a 99 halfcut? or, should i go for i-vtech?

halfcut not cheap now.. probably around 8-9K for a B16B EK4.

I-vtec more advanced, but power output is kind of pitiful a bit.

Then if you want advice, get your hands dirty and open some parts, take pictures, in case you're worried you can't put them back together.

And if you get stuck you can post here for answers.

I suggest first things first. check throttle cable. take out the black intake pipe from the throttle body, and look at the throttle plate... does it open the full 90 deg when you go full throttle? (of course, this should be done while the car engine is off and the car is not moving, in case you tried to strap yourself to a moving car to see if the plate opened 100%.) Usually I just observe the TB's wheel to see if it touches the stop that usually gives it 100% TPS opening. (which is why this is first for me, since I don't need to open anything.)

if it does, then take the car out for a run (this one is by feel, during this stage ask a guy to observe the exhaust when you're going full throttle for black or whitish blue smoke. This will give hints on the condition of your engine. check if pickup improves without a/c or not.. if turning on a/c and the car feels very sluggish, it's probably the a/c..), check belts to see if they're too tight (they usually make sound if they are) if not, then come back and check the plugs. How to they look like? Are they corroded? have the insulators turned brown? Is there too much carbon that your plugs come out black? For proper reading, take a pull to the red line, let off the throttle, (slow down to a stop.. don't rev it, or plug reading may not be accurate.) if you don't know how to read plugs, take photoes of the plugs, and the tips, and I can roughly tell how the condition is like.

at this point, you can also write down your findings and ask your mech, or ask here. I can try help you as much as possible, but without looking at the car, I can only guess roughly.

just come bacl from kk.. tested and confirm! ny aircond compressor is dying! already send to service.. and guess what? the main problem is... my engine oil! hantu betul.. when i change back to petronas synthium 5000, fuiyyooo... vtech engage ssoooo smooth and easy... already service the fuel injection.. cost me around rm 200...