38mm wastegate suitable for 1.5 bar boost?

vick85ong

need advice 38mm wastegate suitable for 1.5 bar boost?

pls advice all bro..izzit suitable to use 38mm china external wastegate on td05h turbine in 1.5 bar boost?need advice on it..thanks..

should be okay

i read in japanese performance, an impreza sti 400bhp+ using Tial 38mm

Big Turbo/Low Boost = Bigger Wastegate
Big Turbo/High Boost = Smaller Wastegate
Small Turbo/High Boost = Smaller Wastegate
Small Turbo/Low Boost = Bigger Wastegate

meaning hi boost=small valve.low boost=big valve.

bro nice explaination but got a bit confuse..y high boost use small wastegate?wont leak?small wastegate to witstand high boost?:hmmmm:

usually big valve can release high volume of exhaust gas while the smaller
1 are more restrictive.the more exhaust gas u can restrict from existing
the w/g,the higher boost u can achieve n vise versa.if ur using big turbo
n u just want to boost around 1.2 bar,u need bigger w/g as the exhaust
gas can escape from the w/g much easier.

not enuff means u go put 2 or 3 or even 4 waste gates la.. ekkeekek

hm.. this spot one of my query.

What happen is recently one of my fren (zth member also) bought a china made 38mm external wastegate with 1 bar spring rate. Thn upon test car, it went overboost 1.2bar. I suspect could be the wastegate connection is wrong or the wastegate tapping from manifold is wrong. coz im noob in wastegate so i dun wan to say much.

but his mech said its because the wastegate too small hence over boost. He is using 3SGTE with stock CT20 turbo. Wats wrong could it be?

hm.. this spot one of my query.

What happen is recently one of my fren (zth member also) bought a china made 38mm external wastegate with 1 bar spring rate. Thn upon test car, it went overboost 1.2bar. I suspect could be the wastegate connection is wrong or the wastegate tapping from manifold is wrong. coz im noob in wastegate so i dun wan to say much.

but his mech said its because the wastegate too small hence over boost. He is using 3SGTE with stock CT20 turbo. Wats wrong could it be?

i don't think 38mm is smaller then the actual stock internal w/gate right.so
it got nothing to do with the size.it's the spring rate.usually i find that most
of this china,taiwan or thailand made w/gate comes with very stiff spring.
even they quote that the spring is 0.8,but u can hardly push it with ur
thumb.after installation,then u will know the actual spring rate of the
w/gate.the most comon way to reduced the spring rate is by open the
top of the w/gate n cut a coil or 2 off the spring.that should do it.

(the most comon way to reduced the spring rate is by open the
top of the w/gate n cut a coil or 2 off the spring.that should do it).bro any pic to show us how to do it?n bro u got any pic that can share wit us where d right place to install/mount d external wastegate?

sorry vick85ong.i don't have pic for the procedure.the most ideal plc
to mount ur w/gate is where all the exhaust gases meet.not on the
1st piston,not on the 4th piston but where all pipe merge into 1.
what engine r u runing on vick???

end of d day, think of this... u r spending an accurate piece of instrument to avoid spikes that could KABOOM.... and end up $$$$$$$$$$$$$$

i dont really think its correct GT AUTO..
"Big Turbo/High Boost = Smaller Wastegate"

using a big turbo, high boost, cant use anything that is smaller than 40mm... it will spike to 1.8 br.. shite...