2k budget. What amp to get?

bafukie

Hi guys, im currently on the look out for a good amp to replace my current amp. This new amp will be needed to whack my directed cx650 component set. I browse through some ICE web pages and have a basic idea.. but any advice is greatly appreciated.

Here are some that i look at:

(i) Sound stream tratantula series
(ii) Zapco reference series (dunno the price)
(iii) eclipse xa 4000
(iv) Alpine - any idea
(v) Focal- 2k can get ah?
(vi) directed- ?

Im open for suggestion. Thanks guys.

for 2k, should look at....

audio system, steg (older model), alpine V12, phd, helix, abyss, hmm what else....

but better if get 2nd hand high end one, with that budget can get really good amps....coz if buy new, under 2k quality is still so-so...

the brands u mentioned above are nromal sounding amps only...not worth the money for me...

oh except the zapco reference, not bad, but sure can get under 2k?

thanks zenn... was also considering audio system also. zapco reference i simply hentam 1 since the specs not bad when i refer to their website. Still i need to ask around as i dunno the price.

Zenn, if second hand, what kind of model and brand m i looking into?

audio system F4-600 150W x 4 Rm2.2k (probly can nego down to 2k)
http://www.gr8tunes.net/forum/showthread.php?t=8208

zapco reference 350.2 Rm1.6k (he got lobang for all zapco amps)
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=3856

Butler Tube Amp 2150 SGD800 (around Rm1850, but have to get from spore)
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=4014

Helix B2 2ch amplifier RM1300 only
http://www.gr8tunes.net/forum/showthread.php?t=8566

TRU technology 4.65 Rm1500
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/ice-in-car-entertainment/112072-sq-stuff-for-sale.html

Genesis Dual Mono (my fav. amp) Rm1800 only
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=3989

Genesis Series III 4 Ch amp RM2000
gr8Tunes.net - Car Audio Forum - [WTS] Genesis Series III 4 chanel

Steg K12 75W x 2 RM1200
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=3935

Steg QM75.4x (no price but definitely less than 2k)
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=3727

Audison VR404 RM1300
http://www.mycarhifi.com/carhififorum/viewtopic.php?t=3960

Audison LRX4.300 SGD500 only (about RM1150)
http://www.gr8tunes.net/forum/showthread.php?t=8542

Alpine MRV545 (125W x 4) RM1000 only
http://www.gr8tunes.net/forum/showthread.php?t=8378

as u can see quite a few are a lot less than 2k, so u can save some money to upgrade your speakers too...

hey thanks zenn for making the effort... i asked guan to pm me his price for zapco reference series and currently asked my installer to keep an eye for audio system. I think i wanna go for 4 channel as it is more flexible for me to play around (or upgrade) in the future...do u think the shops still sell the alpine mrv 545 and audison vr404 ah?

the alpine yes, should be able to get if some shops got leftover, forgot i have a fren selling his 545 for 1k, the audison harder to get, since youre in jb spore would be best bet..

im currently in kedah/pg but i do travel down to kl to get my ICE stuff. Nvm will go do some searching first

haha i tot u JB ma, see your location up there...

if youre around penang should check out the 2 forums i gave above, got one or 2 sellers there with lot of good 2nd hand stuff, calvin and another guy...

yeah i checked out mycarhifi, gr8tunes and also ice hifi fanatic. List prob down to alpine MRV545, audio system f4-600 & maybe also genesis dual mono as im more into 4 channel. I also saw this amp Phoenix gold M55 & Soundstream MC300. Hows the review like for the above 2 amps?

sound is good & clean, but quite old, have to risk any repair later on and if parts are still available not.

zenn do u know which shop carries audio system and the price for a brand new f4-600?

any shop that sells focal/eton will also be selling audio system. f4-600 new price is anywhere between 2300-2800 depending on shop..

rm2000 just get audio-system is best among range, or Audison SRX also not bad

zapco refrence no rm2k can get,

or may still got others amp, u may check , the AGAKO refrence is a choise too, but u can hardly find,

I have in hand

a/d/s/ PQ40.2 (top of the line) 100w x 4.
http://www.adst.com/products/mobile/ppamp/pq40.asp
http://www.directeddealers.com/manuals/og/ads-mobile/pq40_2.pdf

or TRU Technology T4.100v2 100w x 4.
http://www.trutechnology.com/archive/manuals/tseries_manual.zip

if anyone is interested. Either one for RM2,100 cash or credit card (3%). Used but in excellent condition.

michael

Bafukie

Mike stuff is good,u should consider his good offer.

Thanks tohsan gor. :proud:

Bafukie,
Second hand market price for these amps is @ rm2500 :burnout:My target selling price is RM2300 but since it's merdeka weekend, what the heck!

The amplifiers are as good as new, serviced (does not mean repaired) and verified by our technician.

hey mike thanks for the offer. As im not from kl, it will quite a while before i get any stuff but its good as i can search and find more stuff tat is worth the price. I got ur number (got it from mycarhifi), prob will call u up when im down in kl. See see look look for great stuff from u and also to get advice. Boleh ga? :P

Sure boleh. Come over :nurse: muahahaha!