Rev cut at 5000rpm

tjuantze

Hi all,

I did a manual swap to my D15B recently. All else seems good except the engine rev.
The 5k rev cut used to come in when the car is in "Neutral" with it's original auto gb but will allow free revving when "D" or other lower gears are engaged.

Now with the manual gb, the 'brain' still thinks that the car is in "Neutral". Therefore, I can only rev till 5k.

What's the best way to fix this? I noticed a socket that used to be attached to the auto gb not being attached to anywhere now.

Thanks and appreciate your reply.

the computer is probably the problem, as to how to solve it, I'm not sure if rechipping an auto ECU can fix the problem.

get a d15b manual ecu. or rechipped one. i got it. 012-2826080. or visit http://www.avantech.com.my

Haha...fobs, you're everywhere!

Thanks Shiroitenshi and hattech-V, will look it up. A manual ECU sounds safe. :)

Avantech does not have original manual ECU. Only have re-chipped ones.

Does anyone knows what is the difference between the ori and the re-chipped ones?

Avantech does not have original manual ECU. Only have re-chipped ones.

Does anyone knows what is the difference between the ori and the re-chipped ones?

re-chipped got some diff, maybe no more rev cut & speed cut, fuel map, ignition map, vtec point.... but avantech's stuff u can trust lar

well, if you really want stock, pull out chip, cut of J1. instant stock ECU. but stock ECU for what car, that's the question.

I don't see any reason for not using a chipped ECU, but you need to be sure that the chip is for your engine, as if it is mapped for another engine like the B-series (VTEC disabled) or 1.8 non-vtec (LS) then obviously fuel consumption would suffer.

My City TypeZ (SX8 chasis) is running a 1.5 SOHC VTEC engine. There are parts chopped from Singapore as they import manual models there.
Besides that, I don't really have a lot of info for it.
Called MunLee and they don't have ECUs for D series..sad... D series fading off the scene...
Anyone knows where else to turn to?

not really everywhere,...

dun worry, tjuan,.. here so many sifus will help u,... only thing is they also blurr seeing u with a converted D engine, hehehe!

Any chop shop you know of fobs? Preferbly around our area..

i frequent two chopshops here, but i think they dunno lehhhh,...

area??? u shift back to kl aready or still pgkl???

u hv tokey's number,... i think he keeps lots of ecu/tcu,... u call and ask him whther got any that will ngam to replace ur stock one,...

Maybe P08 with chip disabling vtec would work on your car, then again, price would be an issue.

Yes Fobs, still PGKL. Will give him a call. But would like to understand more first.

Shiroitenshi, don't understand what you meant by a chip disabling VTEC. Since my car comes with VTEC, shouldn't I be looking for one with VTEC enabled?

I am guessing mine is OBD1. Can't determine as car is not with me now. But will find out tomorrow. I've read things like P08, P28 etc.. are they ECU variants? Or is there something those codes/numbers indicate?

why is D series fading aarr?

i thought those EG civic are mostly running D series engine right?

all u sellers out there should invest in providing mod parts for
D series... i support u! i want 220bhp for my d15b .. can make a?

Wah Don, greddy lah u.. What's the point of having many many ponnies when we can't handle the car properly? :)

Have you checked out if our cars are OBD1 or OBD0 or OBD2??

220hp with D series = turbolah. Whether it can last is another story.

Tjuantze, ALL 92-95 EG civics are OBD1, if you are using EK, it's usually OBD2a, unless 98-99 spec, which can be either OBD2a/b.

True OBD2 ECU systems have a 16 pin diagnostic port, and usually dual 02 sensors.

Yes Shiroitenshi, P08 OBD1 for D15 it is.

The car is not an EK. Chasis is SX8, and it's call Honda City TypeZ locally. The model right before the current i-dsi city.
Mine is original auto 1.5 LEV Vti with 4 disc brakes and ABS. The intake/ 'mouth' is not the regular PGI-FM thingy. It looks more like a carburetor. Opening to the 'butterfly' faces up instead of sideways. I've seen those on EK3 from UK.
Now converted to manual (manual gearbox dunno from where..), so hoping to get some fix with the 5k rev cut thing.