Bought my eclipes 3100 today. but......

renxun

havent installed it yet.... and i went thru the spec and i found out that it doest have the 24bit DAC. havent try the sound yet.... but my close buddy who bought his kenwood 6550 only rm700 bucks already got 24bit DAC with alot of xtra function compared to my 3100.. aiyah... dont know whether its my right choice or not... i bought it brand new cash and carry at RM1.1k. Thought of buying used unit but always unsured about the pass history so i opt for the new one instead. price so much differance but how come d function less so much erk? was thinking it might be greater as i see alot of good reviews from forummer regarding this unit...and the button look flimsy to me too.... didnt manage to really have a look on the HU b4 i bought as i was in a rush today as i was "ular" during office hour and secretly went and bought it and return to office after that

Hi bro,
I think Eclipse hu, the high end ones would have 24-bit DAC.
In terms of why the feature set is less but the item is more expensive:
1. the expensive one was probably built better ( I am not saying kenwood is badly built. I have one myself.).
2. Brand name.
3. The cheaper one is an older model?

For the amount of cash, you might be able to get 2nd hand alpine HU that most would say it's better than the eclipse.

But, as someone once said, enjoy your music, not your equipment. :D
As long as you & your ears are happy with the sound, who cares whether the HU got this and that feature right?

eclipse build quality gone down since the takeover by kenwood and made in same kenwood china factory...dissapointing...

yala... the directional button are so soft like it will fall off anytime..

tats whyloh i ask u guys to get a better quality stuff :sleep:

so now u know eclipse = kenwood = button are so soft like it will fall off anytim :biggrin:

btw there is a few months old Alpine 9855 touch panel with 3 pre-out and 24 bit also,going for RM1,400, interested pm me :biggrin:

diu lor... thought of changing it with kenwood.. i thought this model is a good model... i havent install it yet..... maybe still can take back and change another unit

renxun,

after reading ur reviews....im definitely getting an Alpine ler.....at 1st also i thought of getting CD3100.

renxun where u bought it for? izit the guy i rekomen u? How come so expensive at 1100????

because im getting the 3100 and not the 3000.... 3000 is well below 800bucks but 3100 at your guy there is at RM10xx.00 since im staying in sabah here and only got one shop trying his luck to tap the eclipes brand to the market gave me a price of 1.1k .. since not much difference considering i have to spend on courior and risk of losing it somewhere by poslaju i might as well buy it here...

mengz... dont quote me on it as i havent tested how it sounds....hopefully it will be something satisfying for wat had been paid for. my place here nobody selling alpine... and very lack of choices. the kenwood, alpine and sony IMHO had better built quality.. the remote also very simple with around 10buttons only maybe less... din open the box since the day i bought it

macha.... 3000 and 3100 really not much diff except the price!! but anyway u install first... forget the appearance, eclipse sucks at tat... but the sound, sounds good to me :)

Tawau Electrical Centre... dealer for amerion products and sony and eclipes

test out the unit first la renxun.... u never know u might fall in love with eclipse :)

yalo....faster install it and say ur feeling share share wif us la...hehe~

from 830am i sent my car in to strip off everything, do sound dampening, rewire the front speaker and tweets... no more using passive... bought myself a parametric equalizer only for my woofer usage... but not wiring it for the sub output... wiring it to the front output so that i can use the 50hz,125hz knob...cuz if using the sub output i can only switch between either 60hz OR 90hz with sub volume control only.

change all the speaker cable to better quality ones. rewire everything neatly place them nicely ( i curi look at how zenn's jazz was setup in his homepage and i copy exactly the same way) mount the subwoofer on the floor. add voltage regulator. and mount my 3 pieces of amp and my crossover on side by side standing 45degree to save more space..

now my current setup is this way. (eclipes hu front pre-out -- alpine x-over tat i bought from zenn -- 2channel high pass for tweeter ,2 channel high pass for mid -- 4channel amp to power the front speaker set.) , (rear pre-out --direct to 2channel amp for my rear 6" mid and tweeter), (sub pre-out -- parametric equalizer --monoblock--to my sub) my next planning will be taking out the rear speaker from the rear board and place them at the door so that the rear board will have to big hole from the 6" speaker and the tweeter hole and let my bass came up from the trunk thru there..... if im still not satisfied t hen i will redesign the box again

and now is already 12.45am... the guys in accesory shop is still doing my car... haha... they redo all the rear wooden panels and now should be installing back my carpets,seats and doing the mounting... im expecting them to call me in around 1hour time so that i can go and test my sound.. hehe

wow....bro.....hope to see ur review soon....
zenn 's homepage is where? i also hope to see his setting

car was completed the same night... 1:45am i was called to pickup the car back home and the next day is the day i will put my system on a test...my first impression... the button really sucks.. push up or down will accidently "enter" , remote control response- very slow...to increase or decrease volume took forever... i turn the knob instead.. much faster.

here is the interesting part... i borrowed a scope from the guy back home and together with the scope cd.....i set the gain for my monoblock, and then my rear mid and then front 4 channel amp... and i did a very big mistake i forgot to remove the speaker wire.. after attatch to the amp i went to double check the HU volume whether its on the correct volume ... and before i could do that i entered the cd... and the tuuuutt... sound appears la for the scope tuning ... i was so stupid that i din turn down the volume , in fact i went to the back to remove the wire... b4 i sempat to remove the wire i smoke my front tweeters... ouch.... luckily i still got spare for the exact tweeter and i change the tweeters.... after get everything done i try to tune for my liking.... wasted around 4hours..overall i still can get good staging but the tone is abit un-natural. being a fan for soft dome tweeters the sense of naturality is the main aspect for me but the mid frequency cant be set.. its fixed at 700hz.lastly i cannot use the hp for my HU.. i full pass it and set everything from the crossover instead..

overall the performance is ok ok la but i was wondering why it doesnt sound as bright as the previous pioneer that im using... but the build quality and the remote control is a shame... i had decided to exchange this eclipes for the kenwood instead.