Upsizing my rims and tyres

ZoomP

Hey guys,

Thinking of upsizing my rims and tyres on my Lexus IS200. I am currently running on stock Lexus IS200 rims with Potenza G3 tyres. Got around 20,000 clicks on the tyres even though I only got them a few months back. Thinking of changin the tyres so got itchy and thought of upsizing my rims at the meantime.

I believe the stock rims is 5 spokes, 114.3 PCD, tyres 215/45/R17. What is the proper upsize? Looking for recommendations on rims and tyres. Looking to keep cost within 2K if possible. Max 2.5K. I like Enkei, but don't mind going to forged. Anyone heard of SSR rims? My ride is on Cusco Zero1 coilover. Will I need to readjust the settings after chaning the rims?

ssr is indeed good. light weight and proven [by stepwtw especially...]. however, on cost wise [keeping it below 2.5k] might be a challenge as most good rims [especially forged] come with a hole in your wallet. used ones may not be such a challenge provided ur lady luck is always on your side.

Hi hi... Perhaps I've forgotten to mention that I am actually in Singapore, so it's 2.5K SGD.

i've always wondered what the stock size for altezza is..
if i'm not mistaken rims size between IS200 and RS200 is not the same..

anyway always stay within the upsizing rule (plus-1 and plus 2). ultimately u want to keep within the 3% rule..
so by default, the next upgrade size would be 225/40R18 or 235/35R19..

oh ya...do go for forged..or 2-piece or even better 3-piece rims...they are the strongest..

how on earthy u clocked 20k in s'pore bro?? kekekekekeee...

offset and width selection of ur new rims will depend whether u need to change ur suspension settings..hope ur cusco are adjustables...

I am a Malaysian so do travel to the North quite frequent. Thanks for the guide.

Decided to save some cash and go with Work Emotion CR. Got it from Yap Bros. 17" 8JJ. Traded in my Potenza G3 too for a new set of Toyo T1R. Sounds quieter than my G3 but time will tell. Any comment on this tyre? Profile is 225/45/ZR17. Right profile?

Was deciding between Prodrive GC014, GC010 or this. Decided to save up the diff cos' not sure how long I will drive this car.

Here's some pics:
Btw, any comments on this rim??

09102007099.jpg

09102007101.jpg

09102007100.jpg

09102007102.jpg

nice rims...but wud hv gone with 18 inch..
Toyo T1R are great tyres...quite noisy actually but very good performance..i'm on them and feel very confident on wet roads especially..

like urs, i also maintain the gap between the tyres and fender..
lowered car will make the car soo much nicer..but have to compromise hitting bumps etc lah..

nice rims...but wud hv gone with 18 inch..
Toyo T1R are great tyres...quite noisy actually but very good performance..i'm on them and feel very confident on wet roads especially..

like urs, i also maintain the gap between the tyres and fender..
lowered car will make the car soo much nicer..but have to compromise hitting bumps etc lah..

I actually find the toyo much quieter than my potenza G3. Sidewall too soft and feel my handling suffers a bit compared to G3.

18inch? Thought about it, but the rims and tyres are more expensive so no point. 17" is good looking enough.

Yeah... it's chio to have lowered ride but i have my shares of undercarriage scratches etc...

Nice rims and good tire choice...:)
How much did it cost you?. If you like driving in the wet, then The T1R is a good choice for you.

considered the goodyear F-1 too before but based on feedback from other forums, they say these tyres are hard to balance (dont know whether this made sense) and small stones tend spray out from the back due to tyre pattern (come to think of it, who cares right?)..
and also there are significant difference between the germany (too expensive) and thailand made ones..
anyway will consider this again in future if u guys say they are alrite..

Yeah..agree with ryonan..have done a few read ups on the various tires and for Goodyear F1, you must buy those from Germany to actually benefit from the said performance. Those that was made in Thailand seems to have a lot of issues. Even the tire dealers told me the same thing. So in the end decided on the T1R as they are Japaneses made and the price was the lowest I can find...hehehe...I love driving in the wet with the Toyos...:)

I've been using both Goodyear F1 german & thai on my other car. No handling difference, very similar characteristic.. except thai's F1 last longer and RM25 cheaper.