Using 'other' brands of engine/GB oils (Q8/Torco/Lubegard/Eneos/Motul/etc)

amdfaisal

has anyone here tested 'other' brands of engine/GB oils (Q8/TORCO/Lubegard) - saw these 3 brands up there... one of the ads up there.

i've been using publicly known brands (esso/shell/honda/etc) all this time. thinking of changing la and since my car is due for an oil change might as well try 'other' brands. trying to find better (read quality-over-price ratio) alternative

So can anyone having used the three brands mentionned above or any other brands (motul/total/fina/eneos/etc) disclose their experience... good/bad/moderate/etc.

i experienced AC Delco in a kancil before... not too good la.

From my experience of coz motul is the best...... been using since merempit lagi..... but nowsday price for motul products keep incresing.....

that's why i'm looking for the best bang-for-buck minyak hehe... better use the money to buy biskut rather than buying expensive oil

just my 2 sen

Can use some cheap2 other brand oil also like Vesawit, knife, Cap Buruh. Sri Murni etc .....kekekee

Pusing2 the answer came from CF4 owner gak..hehehe. Bagi other users answer lak!!

whoaaaa motul so good ah??? my next change i try,... shift from castrol magnatec,... anyway, i used idemitsu before but still prefer the magnatec.

as for atf,... i think better stick to atf-z1,... i heard got additive from q8 lubeguard quite good,.....

Can use some cheap2 other brand oil also like Vesawit, knife, Cap Buruh. Sri Murni etc .....kekekee

Pusing2 the answer came from CF4 owner gak..hehehe. Bagi other users answer lak!!

ok sifu.....

u forgot abt the eagle brand bro,...

haha! what to do,... the cf4ians all "eat full, nothing to do",...

i called the distributor oso (number in ad above)... he said many2 wonderful things la about Q8/Torco/lubegard and the price. normal la since he is selling the stuff...

i suppose u r not one of their distributors. so... idling is better when using Q8. mind sharing the oil u used before switching to Q8?

anyway u r absolutely rite about the bang for buck thingy. relatively cheap compared to other relatively popular brands

started with magnatec,engine response feel bit sluggish on 3000km onawards (maybe oil started to degrade :S)

then tried Q8 semi, at 5000km engine stil performing smooth n no sluggish response

want to try diff. product ~ Eneos semi,quite ok.. but not as smooth as Q8..

motul? heard many good reviews.. but price wise make me stick to Q8 ( 1 bottleof 4L semi = Semi Q8+Filter+workmanship ) :P

daily driving n once in a while rempit.. for me i choose Q8 Semi..

whoaaaa motul so good ah??? my next change i try,... shift from castrol magnatec,... anyway, i used idemitsu before but still prefer the magnatec.

as for atf,... i think better stick to atf-z1,... i heard got additive from q8 lubeguard quite good,.....

try dexron III from motul...

before trying out on Q8, i used all those budget m-oil, elf, castro, syntium, i found that Q8 is the best among those. Idling not switching air con it sound very quiet. But i do flush my engine before every oil change, i used shell 4L flushing oil, u will be amazed how dirty is the engine after u see the flushing oil coming out.

btw, how's the price of torco?

i also enquired about torco yesterday... quite expensive la... not in-line with my goal to reduce the car's operating cost.

Torco engine oil comes only in 1-litre bottles and the cheapest is RM60 (synt). my car needs 4.5L of engine oil... if i use torco... koyak la... RM60 x 5 = RM300 woo on top of that need to add labour + oil filter :(. but the guy said that Torco oil outperforms other major brands. we'll see about that later la

aiyooooo,... torco so expensive,... sure damn good lahhh,... like Redline range,...

sorrylah, me very newbie abt oils,... nowadays never even sapu brylcreem or code10 on my hair pun,...

bro hattech,... dexcron III is the type of oil, rite? what brand woh? this 6th gen triptronic GB very sensitive one,... konk means plonk in h22aR MT, haha!!!

how much price for Q8 semi?i was choose eneos before,it was quite ok though..gonna try Q8 for my next oil chg...

I used Q8 since I converted to B16A in 2001. Good value for money. Engine is smooth and ran efficiently. In 2004 suffered a burnt headgasket, so had to tanggal the head etc etc. Surprised to see the internals so damn clean one. Dunno about other engines, cos Mr. Superfast Avant complained Q8 cepat haus even before the desired oil change period. For my car it's sufficient and never experienced such a thing.

In mid 2005 shifted to Kedah....KNN...no Q8 (Motul got la but the price +RM30 from KL so go and fly kites la)... opted for Caltex instead. After 3 months of daily commuting from Sg. Petani and Alor Star, pistons rings worn out. Overhauled everything and now using Shell.

Still prefer Q8, value for money for a daily driven car. I used to buy Q8 Semi for RM70++ back in the days. Then it came to RM80++. Now I'm not so sure.

If your car is the type that takes part in drag racings etc and often hi rev, better invest in Motul or something simillar.

Just my 2 kupang huhuh

P/S :- izzit just me or do you guys experience "PROBLEM LOADING PAGE" or blank page etc etc whenever surfing ZTH ? Getting fedup of it already hence the recent inactivity