rx7 FD.. easy or hard to maintain? its about money

mospeda353

hello guys. i wanna know a bit about rx7 fd.. response from people outside,mostly said rx7 is the highest performance car to care and maintain of it.. must have a lot of cash inside ur poket.. is it true? coz for me rx7 is the nice damn sport car and the price not too expensive..

compared to yr waja campro of coz it's so... but have u owned 1 or driven one? or is it, i heard from my fren kinda thingie again?

FC will definitely be high if compared to a waja campro. Never driven one but hoping to testdrive a second hand one soon.

If you love the car, then trust me.. Money not gonna be a problem with you. :P Drive the car properly dont go zoom zoom here and there all day when you're driving the car. Should be alright.

Oh ya. Agreed that it's a nice performance car. :D

compare wit waja of coz la u said expensive..huhuhu.. :thefinger: compare wit other sport car like rb26 gtr, evo4,5,6,7,8,9 or supra.. s15..
erm wat else ar :hmmmm: . . . .

skywalker: err... dude, i donno wat to say, supra = torque monster.. tap on the throttle... sky's the limit...rx7..... handling...control.. precision...

but what the heck... if u really luv it, y not? a few g's for maintenance won't hurt ur judgment... it's a hell of a nice car indeed. with gd power-to-wight ratio, nice chassis, almost perfect weight distribution, rear wheel drive sumore... god damn it! (jealous, never even touched 1 b4, let alone sit in it)

if u can get a gtr, a supra, an evo or an s15 for around rm6xxxx, i wouldn't have dared compare the fuel consumption differences...

cheers!

skywalker: err... dude, i donno wat to say, supra = torque monster.. tap on the throttle... sky's the limit...rx7..... handling...control.. precision...

unker, ur suplar with all the fibre and wide bodykit cannot have good handling, control and precision??....

rotaries do suck petrol
but do u know how smooth and easy this beast revs up ?
do u know how smooth n easy it spools a big turbine ? :D

the cost of maintaining here in malaysia could be a bit more costly
because, how many are familiar with these engines ?
but often r u gonna overhaul ur engine ?

hello guys. i wanna know a bit about rx7 fd.. response from people outside,mostly said rx7 is the highest performance car to care and maintain of it.. must have a lot of cash inside ur poket.. is it true? coz for me rx7 is the nice damn sport car and the price not too expensive..

I drove one regularly when I was living in Australia, back when the model was still newish. Wasn't mine. It belonged to a friend who bought it but, for some reason, did not like it because he got headaches everytime he drove the car for a long stint. Don't know what that was all about....maybe windscreen warped ? I had no problems with it by the way and liked it very much.

I don't think it was all that hard to maintain...most people are quite mechanical minded in Oz and you get some very competent mechanics there, so I didn't have much problems getting it serviced. As for cost of caring/running it, I would say that it is mainly a matter of perspective....which is to say "expensive" compared to what ? Rotaries seem to get a bad rep when it comes to FC. Personally, I always thought many drivers give rotaries a bad rep because of the 'heavy right foot' syndrome. Realisitically, if you are aiming to own a daily-driven sportscar, you ought to be already firmly in a position where you no longer want to be accounting for every cent because, by default, every one of these cars are more expensive to run than your venerable Proton. You buy a sportcar because you want to enjoy the driving, not because of economy. Just my 2 cents

Yes just like when we take beer. We take beer because we want to get drunk not because we are thirsty :P

Fvel: written like a true car enthusiast! :) totally agree with ya

I drove one regularly when I was living in Australia, back when the model was still newish. Wasn't mine. It belonged to a friend who bought it but, for some reason, did not like it because he got headaches everytime he drove the car for a long stint. Don't know what that was all about....maybe windscreen warped ? I had no problems with it by the way and liked it very much.

I don't think it was all that hard to maintain...most people are quite mechanical minded in Oz and you get some very competent mechanics there, so I didn't have much problems getting it serviced. As for cost of caring/running it, I would say that it is mainly a matter of perspective....which is to say "expensive" compared to what ? Rotaries seem to get a bad rep when it comes to FC. Personally, I always thought many drivers give rotaries a bad rep because of the 'heavy right foot' syndrome. Realisitically, if you are aiming to own a daily-driven sportscar, you ought to be already firmly in a position where you no longer want to be accounting for every cent because, by default, every one of these cars are more expensive to run than your venerable Proton. You buy a sportcar because you want to enjoy the driving, not because of economy. Just my 2 cents

my fren drive from johor to kl wit his rx7..he said rm3++ for fuel only.. 1 way..thats crazy lah..less foreman in malaysia know about this rotary engine..many said juz standby engine '0' at home.. ya lah.. if evo,s15,supra can get rm6+k, rx7 will be classics car in malaysia..erm.. if wanna playing sport n performance car dont care about the money,unless u dun have money.. but u can get money wit ur sportcar.. not even money, hotchick oso u can get.. haha

fc is high,new parts don't come cheap n not ez to source.not all mechanic knows about rotary.

my fren drive from johor to kl wit his rx7..he said rm3++ for fuel only.. 1 way..thats crazy lah..less foreman in malaysia know about this rotary engine..many said juz standby engine '0' at home.. ya lah.. if evo,s15,supra can get rm6+k, rx7 will be classics car in malaysia..erm.. if wanna playing sport n performance car dont care about the money,unless u dun have money.. but u can get money wit ur sportcar.. not even money, hotchick oso u can get.. haha

Tell your friend to burn the car lah. I've driven from kl to JB and its less than half tank which equals to about RM60-70 new petrol price. You have to mantain it well which basically means check everything on the weekend. Use the right oils, premix when on track and you'll know. Everytime i get on the track i thank god for not selling it. The car has been regularly driven to Penang, Interior of Perak, JB, East Coast. My round trip was from Penang ~ JB ~Singapore~Teluk Intan~Penang~KL all of this in 5 days. No problems.

lol.. burn the car... what a remark.

I think its more about the condition of the car, which applies to all type or manufacturer. There are even City idsi, known for fuel economical, but some clocking only 300k+ mileague per full tank? Why? find out.... modified.. heavy footed drivers.. poorly maintained.

so.. same goes, probably some rx7s are poorly maintained by less experience mechanics or careless owners, which resulted the wrong preception given to the rx7.

well.. i dont own one... but i thought its rather commonsense in getting a car.

oh come on..... u buy one sports car/performance oriented car.... u gotta burn fuel for power.... simple maths. Besides.. look at the age of the car.. any old car u buy... sufferes the same syndrome... u gotta .... put some afford and faith.. rebuild it.. etc etc....