Proton-Volkswagen talks are OFF! Bye bye..

JtuneD

The verdict is out - Proton and Volkswagen are not tying up together in a partnership that involves stake transfer.

Second Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop says the earlier plan for Proton to have a foreign strategic partner was no longer applicable as circumstances have changed.

Proton has shown clear improvement in the recent months, including significantly improved sales figures and a popular new model.

It will also be launching the new BLM soon, the long awaited People’s Car replacement for the ageing Proton Saga, which despite its age has also become a sales success in recent months thanks to the new Merdeka promotion pricing.

The new Proton Saga replacement will come in 2008. There is also an MPV in the works for a 2009 launch.

Consumer confidence in Proton have also been slowly restored, though Proton has a long way to go in that area. Other improvements that the government noted include improving overseas ventures - Proton has had dealings with Iran and China recently.

It exported 5,000 Wajas to Iran with plans for GEN2 assembly there, and negotiated a rebadging deal with China’s Jinhua Youngman for them to sell GEN2 cars there under the Europestar badge.

Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop says Volkswagen did not walk away from the negotiation, and there was no breakdown in talks.

Volkswagen was disappointed in the government (Khazanah)’s decision to pull out of the talks, but respected its decision.

The government does not rule out the possibility of future strategic alliances with foreign partners, but only at a more appropriate time and when Proton is in a stronger negotiating position.

And from what the public can see at least, Proton looks like it is on its way to that position.

Source : Paul Tan's Raves and Rants on the Automotive Industry

they just ruin their reputation, when they in trouble they asked for ppl to help now just slightly get better then change their attitude.

if they run into trouble again in the future, no one will ever dare to offer them. With their current attitude in quality, they may not even able to compete with china cars maker in the near future.

VAG makes good car, their TDI, TSI and turbo engines are very good. not to forget the DSG gearboxs......The SEAT Leon racing cars in WTCC with their TDI engines are giving BMW motorsport some tough challenge....

they just ruin their reputation, when they in trouble they asked for ppl to help now just slightly get better then change their attitude.

if they run into trouble again in the future, no one will ever dare to offer them. With their current attitude in quality, they may not even able to compete with china cars maker in the near future.

VAG makes good car, their TDI, TSI and turbo engines are very good. not to forget the DSG gearboxs......The SEAT Leon racing cars in WTCC with their TDI engines are giving BMW motorsport some tough challenge....

Not to forget the VW Golf GTI W12-650 !!!!:adore:

Ever heard stories of the boy who cries for wolf??? This will come back to haunt Proton......

Who is Jason? Do we have a Freddy here also ar? hehehe There is one uncle Fred here, is he Freddy? Then we can have Jason VS Freddy haha

Ady predicted tis was the outcome when Proton failed to tied up wit Volkswagon.Won't surprise though...

Hey guys,watch wat v r posting.Later got 'SOME' ppl might get offended coz they dislike ppl bashing Proton.Hahaha...

this is the reason if proton didnt sell themselves to GM... I heard GM is interested to buy Proton and also they want to buy proton bcoz to help the sales like what they did to Daewoo.. also they want LOTUS

stupid ninkampoops, lets see down the years they will loose another 500 million worth of RM... then they will start to beg other manufacturers, already got tiny profit now wanna act hidung tinggi!!

:bawling: :bawling:

Malaysia also ends talks over GM - Proton alliance

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 20 (Reuters) - Malaysia's state investment arm, Khazanah, has ended talks with General Motors and Volkswagen over possible alliances with state-controlled auto firm Proton, Khazanah said on Tuesday.

"The government of Malaysia has taken note of the recent positive developments at Proton, in particular the improvement of domestic sales and exports," Khazanah said in a statement.

"The government is, therefore, of the view that Proton's management should be allowed to continue with its plans to further strengthen the company. The issue of strategic alliance, if necessary, can be considered at a later date."

http://in.reuters.com/article/asiaCompanyAndMarkets/idINWNA561820071120

fuyoo, Congrat Proton for killing own future, no one going to savage their ass, with little profit,i wonder how long will their profit last, the old tricks of use "price" to kill other car maker is not working anymore i think, basically consumer nowadays is looking for a better quality car. Look at the market so many choice nowadays, and the best thing is that RM80-90k in today terms mean nothing much, thanks to the fucking government effort to increase price of everything. Don't talk about retirement, i m scare with current economy climate,very soon everyone will be outta cash,some even can't fill up their stomach for 3 meals.

:bawling: :bawling:

Malaysia also ends talks over GM - Proton alliance

KUALA LUMPUR, Nov 20 (Reuters) - Malaysia's state investment arm, Khazanah, has ended talks with General Motors and Volkswagen over possible alliances with state-controlled auto firm Proton, Khazanah said on Tuesday.

"The government of Malaysia has taken note of the recent positive developments at Proton, in particular the improvement of domestic sales and exports," Khazanah said in a statement.

"The government is, therefore, of the view that Proton's management should be allowed to continue with its plans to further strengthen the company. The issue of strategic alliance, if necessary, can be considered at a later date."

http://in.reuters.com/article/asiaCompanyAndMarkets/idINWNA561820071120

Got a lil result edy LCLY....i wonder how it goes in the future!!!:hmmmm:

Becos of the 20000 new orders, Proton think they're off the hook, how arrogant Proton is, fooling around with VW...... Who's gonna trust Proton anymore??? If you think business can be call off while months b4 this you're begging for help, you're just as worse as China toy makers that use lead paint.......

See...only "ORDER" quantity edy make themselves so arrogant....how if suddenly someone cancel the order?:stupid:

Mayb Proton belif their new Proton Islamic cars will boost up their profits leh...:driver:

sohai buggers... to U PROTON TOP MANAGEMENT (if u are looking)!!

VW & GM both are big conglomerate and u turn down their offer, what will others think about you (proton)? How will other european manufacturers look at you??

VW & GM is smart enough to lend u a helping hand by not only providing u with financial assistance but provide you with long term plan to built a better and more creditable national car, but NO! you turn it down, got profit on export market now want to show THAT you can do it??

good, i think i might still live till beyond 2020 i will see what will PROTON be 20 years down the road... (or maybe less?)

yes, this is a proton bashing reply!!!

MALAYSIA'S PROTON EXTEND LOSSES IN BURSA

KUALA LUMPUR (Thomson Financial) :
Shares of Proton Holdings Bhd extended their fall in afternoon trade Wednesday after the government called off
talks with Germany's Volkswagen AG and General Motors Corp on a possible
alliance with the beleaguered Malaysian national car maker.

At 2.56 pm (0656 GMT), Proton was down 92 sen or 18.6 percent at 4.02
ringgit. The Kuala Lumpur Composite Index was down 13 points or 1.0
percent at 1,358.7.

On Tuesday, Second Finance Minister Nor Mohamed Yakcop said the
government has ended talks with VW and GM as the assumption that Proton
will fail without a foreign partner no longer applies after recent
positive developments at the company.

:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: