New Rifles For Malaysia Armed Forces!!

JtuneD

LANGKAWI: The armed forces will get 14,000 new Colt M4 Carbines to replace their Steyr AUG rifles starting next month.

The army will get 12,000 of the new assault rifles while the Royal Malaysia Navy and Royal Malaysia Air Force will receive 1,000 each.

The first batch of 7,000 rifles would be delivered next month while the remaining weapons would be handed in June, said a Defence Ministry spokesman.

He said the rifles would be made by Colt Defence United Kingdom and the United States while SME Ordnance Sdn Bhd would supply the weapons to the ministry.
“The contract with SME is worth RM89.6 million.”

The 5.56mm rifle is a versatile weapon with proven combat utility and performance. It is a lightweight weapon, with a high performance fire power, accuracy and range, and can be used in any mission.

Colt M4 is the preferred weapon of the United States Army Special Forces.
“SME is also responsible for supplying the weapon slings, blank firing attachments, cleaning kits and magazines.”

The spokesman said the deal was part of the RM1.29 billion worth of contracts inked with eight local and foreign contractors to maintain, service and supply of spare parts to its aircrafts, jetfighters and procurement of radar system yesterday.

The signing of the contracts was witnessed by Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

The biggest contract, worth RM336mil, was given to Britain based Rolls Royce Ltd for the procurement, repair and overhaul of the Spey 555-15, Viper Mk632-43 and Adour Mk871 aircrafts.

“The procurement consist of supplying and servicing of the aircraft components, spare parts, specialist tools, engine maintenance and other technical aspects of the aircrafts,” said the spokesman.

UK-based BAE Systems (Operation) Ltd was appointed by the ministry to supply, service and provide technical assistance pertaining to the Hawk MK108 and MK208 training aircrafts.

BAE Systems, head of commercial Hawk support, Doug Elliot said the contract was worth RM233.8 million.

UK-based Thales Raytheon System will provide a defence radar system costing RM321 million to be installed at the RMAF Sector Operations Centre in Kuching, Sarawak.

At the same time-->>> http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/12/6/nation/19676615&sec=nation
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/12/6/nation/19676615&sec=nation

carbine....for whom? just for the mech and para or the rest of the line infantry regiment?......i was praying this deal didnt gone through but sadly nobody seeing the ol same mistake going to happen again because the deal involves SME........he Americans are phasing out this model....why in 9 hells we buy something that people phasing out i also dont know.........and i dont understand our army purchasing system....first we used conventional design.....then we change to bulupulp....then.....back to conventional......and for god sake a carbine.....in open terrain these bugger gonna be out range by SAR21......probably will be equal in urban area but definitely out range.......

but the saddest thing is......cant we make our own weapon?......even the Moros and Afghans know how to make their own weapon......if im not mistaken there is a company manufacturing self R&D light arms called Vista Berapi...wonder what happen to them...

again buying old stuffs, jez look at those old fighter jets that suddenly "picah" and fall down fm da sky..

Why are they buying more weapons? Do we really need those weapons? Or is there something nationwide that we don't know about that the govt is planning? Perhaps a plan that'll cause some serious mayhem in the country?

we do need these small arms my friend.........we need to replaced the home made Steyr AUG for our mechanized and para forces....it need to be short because of the operation area it will be used....we found the solutions with the Steyr but the low quality that been produced by SME Ordnances make the weapon not that durable to be used by our forces...imagine if we go to war and we drop our para as the advanced forces...our boys landed and found that his riffle broken into halves.....bummer.....

steyr AUG is hot if use it for long time( in battle ). while this colt b4 the best for close combact ( like steyr AUG also) but steyr AUG not pratical if non stop combat, who said no use? this th rite weapon actually. sar-21 is great but not sure whether can really perform well in combat or not same like steyr the weapon is great, sharp and powerful but too hot man. yeah i like the berapi prototype why the gov dun want our military to use it.

carbine....for whom? just for the mech and para or the rest of the line infantry regiment?......i was praying this deal didnt gone through but sadly nobody seeing the ol same mistake going to happen again because the deal involves SME........he Americans are phasing out this model....why in 9 hells we buy something that people phasing out i also dont know.........and i dont understand our army purchasing system....first we used conventional design.....then we change to bulupulp....then.....back to conventional......and for god sake a carbine.....in open terrain these bugger gonna be out range by SAR21......probably will be equal in urban area but definitely out range.......

but the saddest thing is......cant we make our own weapon?......even the Moros and Afghans know how to make their own weapon......if im not mistaken there is a company manufacturing self R&D light arms called Vista Berapi...wonder what happen to them...

I can't see what's wrong with the Styer ... Can't we just refurbish the guns and use them .... Not like Malaysia is actively engaged is many fronts (or at all). I agree the M-4's been proven in many battle, and changing weapon system not only involve the gun itself but a whole bunch of accesories and system (bayonet, magazines, pouches, scopes etc). My opinion is, the country got to buy something so there would be some transection that may go "dissappears" :mad:

I wouldn't go fight a battle with a local manufactured weapon .... What if it turned out to be like a certain local car manufacturer? Might end up fighting with meriam buluh guns ... :banghead: :banghead: :banghead:

"If it works, it made one hell of a noise. If it doesn't, it still made one hell of a noise, except you'll be screaming for you face and fingers ..."

If there is available....I WANT A GUN WHICH IS DESERT EAGLE!!!!! FOR SELF DEFENCE !!!! :proud:

Would this do?

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c374/eddie_yong/2.jpg

:hmmmm: :hmmmm: :hmmmm:

should give it to the citizen each, only to gun down the mat rempits... lol

Yeah, give me one of these .... I'll send them back to earth .... as worm food.

http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c374/eddie_yong/13.jpg

:mad: :mad: :mad:

I guess you would prefer the .44 more then the .357 instead huh?

"Right on ... Blow 'em all to hell ..."

I think this time govetment made the right decision.

The Colt M4 is a good weapon.

It is versatile and modular design weapon.

THe user of the M4 can plug on custom parts to the main body for specific missions, eg sniping, cqb, crowd control, infantry, para, mechanize, etc.

Whether the price we paid for the M4 and wats going to happen later remains to be seen.

Just look at the no. of armed forces around the wold who use the M4 is eanough to solidify the M4 reputation.

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a119/Joe_Looi/M4A1.jpg

ANyhow, I'm bias towards the M4 because I personall love the design of that weapon.

Just wish our govertment would allow BB toy guns. I'd buy the M4 version for damn sure.