Highway Ethics: Emergency Lane Not For Stalled Vehicles

keshy

100px-AutobahnCH.svg.png

The Road Safety Department director-general Datuk Suret Singh has reminded motorists that the emergency lane on all major highways are meant for use by authorities such as the Fire and Rescue Department, the police and ambulances.

“It is not intended for drivers to stop at the lane or to carry out repairs on stalled vehicles. It is extremely dangerous when vehicles are parked at emergency lanes, in the lane for traffic” he told reporters yesterday.

He advised that the right thing to do was to move the car to the road shoulder and ensure the vehicle does not obstruct the emergency lane. If there is no road shoulder, the stalled vehicle can be left on the emergency lane but only for a short period pending assistance. A safety triangle must be placed some distance behind the car to warn other motorists.

“Drivers and passengers of the stalled vehicle should stay away from the car. Pick a safe place to wait. Repair work should not be conducted on the emergency lane,” he added.

Suret Singh said if repair works were needed, a tow truck or highway patrol vehicle must be summoned immediately to tow away the vehicle.

He was commenting on an accident last week in which an express bus ploughed into two men who were attending to a car on the emergency lane at the 263rd kilometer of the North South Expressway near Seremban. Both were instantly killed.

Conclusion: Do not repair your vehicle on the emergency lane of a highway.

I don't know much about the full story on how the bus can bang the car in the emergency lane. But as per common sense, if vehicle break down, should put double signal and move to the leftest on the road side. Then put the triangle reflector for about 1/2 - 3/4 tiang away. Don't tell me there is a need to call tow truck if the car over heated and just need to top up the water/coolant and wait for cool down (approx 10 minutes) before the ecu let the car engine start again or tire punctured and need to change wheel.

On the bus case, I can't find any excuse for the bus to get away with the responsibility of banging a car in an emergency lane. The bus should had regular/preventive maintenance and suppose to have 2 drivers to take turns for driving.

Ok, I just read the news report. I think the bus driver thought there is a road block and try to stop to avoid saman. Before he hit the cars, there was a car driver using a florescent stick and gave signal.

logicly. the bus driver use the emergency lane just like most idiotic do when they use that lane to potong or cut line and by the time the bus drive did that he didnt realize theres a stall car ahead and maybe the stall car didnt put his triangle and the bus driver thought that the car is moving so yeah,bang.

saw it happen before at seremban last year.

"do not repair at emergency lane"?? wat the hell is he thinking? if suddenly ur car kaput that time then where to stop? unless the plus can provide many tow truck la, 5min after car stop they pull u away. i dont think so

Guys, this Datuk do not drive, he got his driver, hehehe.....so he doesn't know. What its like when u are in an urgent state - have to stop on the emergency lane because car breakdown or else.

Its easy to lepas tangan when something bad happened. The Law is there, but most drivers just dont care....it is about attitude. Just imagine when the victim happens to be our family members. I WILL BLAME THE SYSTEM.

erm...this question may sound stupid, but i thought road shoulder = emergency lane, which is the outermost lane (the first left lane) on the highway??

Aiyah.. if you see properly, i feel that fellow, Datuk Suret Singh, just wanna make the easy way out by saying that. It's like he's making the victims looks like the culprit instead of the bus drivers.

By saying so, he's like "legalising" people to use the emergency lane... and those people who got their car broke down is at fault.

Bro the term "emergency lane" stand for what, emergency lah, if not people don't want to stop there for no reason.

Don't tell me there is a need to call tow truck if the car over heated and just need to top up the water/coolant and wait for cool down (approx 10 minutes) before the ecu let the car engine start again or tire punctured and need to change wheel.

yes, i find it appalling as well.
i'd understand the emergency lane being used by the ambulance,fire engines and such.
but to ban the rest of us from using it when our cars break down?
just like csl said, wat if we just needed a change of tires?

funny la them...its like changing the purpose of the place to other thing..

ex: toilet is the place to eat..

when moving:
if the emergency lane on all major highways are meant for use by authorities such as the Fire and Rescue Department, the police and ambulances, then make sure they use it! never see they use emergency lane also(only when traffic jam). if not only fast lane. he know the law that if u want to overtake u must overtake to the right hand side not left. aiya this guy funny la...

to stop/emergency:
of course la "emergency lane". and car break down also of course la "emergency lane"..

"He advised that the right thing to do was to move the car to the road shoulder and ensure the vehicle does not obstruct the emergency lane"
-if tyre puncture, how to jack the car on the grass?! lol

"Suret Singh said if repair works were needed, a tow truck [FONT=verdana,geneva,lucida,&quot][/FONT] or highway patrol vehicle must be summoned immediately to tow away the vehicle"
-highway patrol?are they goin to tow? i dont think so. they will call for callman(tow truck) that they know and they will get commission.

then,...if my car rosak..i have no choice but to leave it in the middle of the lane?...or just push it down the cliff or longkang?....after the accident happened then only they say this, saying that laa,..if not,.waa...just keep quite onyy....

ask suret singh go home and sleep
dont talk nonsense here......
road shoulder?he thought lamb shoulder isit?

he must plan with those goverment dept and jabatan lebuhraya dan jalan raya.
they should design a road with safety feature and better hyroplanning.

they use wide space to built 2 to 3 lanes road the rest is to plant grass.
like the one at kampung pandan...
those curves are dangerous...make the car understeers and skid to the side...

i know where to change the tires!!!! park your car inda middle of the road n get it changed there...and cause traffic jam....

let the bus sapu his fam....then we see what else will he say...

"kill the bus driver!!!!"

who want their to break down inda middle?not cheap leh...easy for rich ppl...
its easy to talk dude....y not catch the culprit...
dude who kill , rape n hurt ppl...with money and connection will get away from bars....
like canny ong's case....

this kinda case is SERIOUS...not play play....what if all this happened to your family .... your loved one... will u laugh....hahaha