How to rise the torque of an Auto N16 Sentra ... ??

Mitevo7

Hello to seniors and pros , i'm new here ... My car is 2006 sentra auto tranny, i've been trying to add up some torque to improve the acceleration of my car , so far i've done drop in filter , Voltage Stabilizer (don know if they do help), grounding cables, Pivot ignition spark earth, and finally full exhaust systems with full 1.75" pipings (4-2-1 to center muffler to bullet to rear muffler SFlow) ... But somehow i still feel a bit heavy from 2k to 4k while accelerating on low gear, normally its second gear ... Guys do u have any suggestion that could help to improve more the acceleration in low RPM ???

How about a set of lightweight wheels, remove unwanted items, correct tire pressure, cold air intake, semi/syn engine oils, pump v-power petrol, install SAFC + dynotune and many more. :burnout:

Oh oh ... Thx for the first reply ken sama , i ad put up my precious 15" light weight wheels ( don wanna lose any acceleration power), I'm using Fully syn oil since my third service from Tan Chong ... For Cold Air intake , can it be done on a stock air filter box ?? Cause i'm using drop in only ... Instead of SAFC , how bout Greddy E manage blue ??

good choice.better then afc neo.

Is it ??? Hahah but it will cost me a bomb ... So anymore suggestion ?? How do i make my early RPM more responsive ??

GT auto , by the way i think u didn't notice that i stated that my car is an auto tranny , so i think u r refering to crank pulley ?? CAI possible on stock air box , nice to hear that ...:burnout:

yeap... cai possible on stock airbox as well as open-port air filters...
lightened crankpulley do help abit...
if u wanna improve ur initial torque more, advance ur ignition system until the point before pinging occurs... advanced ignition timing might suffer at high revs, but vr good throttle response and pickup at low rpm...

Ignition timing can it be tune by adding a sub computer which means a piggy back ECU ?

no need piggy back. ask tan chong set for u. they use the palm to set one.
u have done all the basic mod to ur N16, still feel low torque? weird.............
N16 stock airfilter box already got some sort of CAI. for me, i block a few place with hard card to prevent hot air from entering the mouth of the pipe cozs the mouth is just behind the lamp. u open ur bonnet and see then u will understand wat i said.

Off air cond sure ur torque good. hehe................
pump nitrogen into ur tyre can help a bit.
i got 2 N16 at my cousin. the pickup sure slow on stock engine, everything stock. for auto tranny u should use drop in high flow filter, dun use the open pod or else low end torque sucks.

hmm...................... if the basic mod cant help u, then u need hardcore mod like hantam in sr20det but need modify mounting. or hantam in sr16ve or sr20ve also not bad. hehe.......................
my cousins everyday complain his N16 FC high high. he run on auto gb also.

chg ur auto to manual then sure got torque. haha.
or else change to QG18DE, the 1.8 engine for sentra.

how's ur car doing bro?

Hi all, its been a while i'm off ... Well my car is doing fine :) Installed new stuff again ... Open Pod with Heatshield and a Ignition System ... Now i do get better lowend :) Was really hoping to do more for it .

Can this be used ? A 1.8cc Ecu use to manage a 1.6cc engine ?

HahaI think Turbo Kit is not an option to my 2 years old n16 . Thx for the advice anyway. Oh yeah about open pod issue, its best to have it with a heat shield. Orelse the lowend torque, like Northiswara said, really sucks... I tried one be4, believe it ?? Before i have this open pod, my car climb the genting hill slow like bull, now with this open pod, amazing =) i can overtake cars that tried to accelerate faster than me. Well but not so fast lar.

Now my pickup is consider great, i don't feel lag on acceleration, at least for now =). My next mod would be the crankshaft pulley, research says that i'll gain 3-4 hp over all RPM range. Nice =)

yeah lighten crankpulley is good. can free up few HP. but got one disadvantages too. if u always high rev your car better dont use lighten crnakpulley cozs it can crack one. lighten crankpulley not cheap too. last time i saw for B14 it was rm300 around that.

try plug in 4-2-1, sure u wont regret one. haha. can free around 8hp.

wah uve seen a crank pulley crack b4? is it any particular ones on the market now?

Last edited by a moderator:
i dont see any particular crank pulley crack b4 but i got heard it crack and the person didnt mention what brand of it.
if u go for the branded one should be ok lar. if go for those cap ayam i think nobody dare to guarantee it. i saw a cap ayam one nowadays. price around rm300.

better not go for lighten crank pulley that do not have damper, without the damping layer, the pulley will not last long, n it will reduce the belt life expectancy also. rm300 for crank pulley usually do not have dampening components, check for it

bro 1 thing i can tell u is ......re-map your C/O and ECU , u just go to TAN CHONG u say i just change this la that la .....bla bla then u say u want to tune it according this SPEC .because u already change the exhaust system and u already drop in an open pod so the C/O or your ECU can't read it when u are low end .so properly now your is makan minyak and then the respon is very bad .....don't think so much u just RE-tuned your setting don't waste so much money this is a small matter