Is it safe for us to hand tighten wheel nut?

I bring up this pos is because I notice wheel nut tighten by airgun is slowly damage on my rim.
That why, now plan to hand tigh instead of air gun.

Yeah bro..!
Carefully when tighten the nuts.... Cause it could damage the rims..
Slow.. slow.......
:biggrin:

BTW some pondan very muscular 1 la.. jaga jaga:biggrin:
those are called akua... not pondan adi... shoulder big big... thick mekap... expose half ball....

As you said, only RM 100 mah. Most people spend more than that in one Friday night at Bangsar pub.
actually cost 100 pluss ler... but then, not many people know how to use it and when to use it mah... thats why people spend it on friday n saturday nite lo...

Few years back, one of my aluminum nut snapped and stuck. Took me half a day to slowly drill it out. Over tighten with air gun was the fault. :thefinger:

I prefer hand tightened with a steel tube.:rofl:
unker, still got steel tube ahh??... i looking for 1 leh... my spanar 30cm length only... my pondan strength cannot even undo the nuts....

those are called akua... not pondan adi... shoulder big big... thick mekap... expose half ball....

actually cost 100 pluss ler... but then, not many people know how to use it and when to use it mah... thats why people spend it on friday n saturday nite lo...

unker, still got steel tube ahh??... i looking for 1 leh... my spanar 30cm length only... my pondan strength cannot even undo the nuts....

AKUA..?? Don't get it bro..... Can u explain.....? :hmmmm:

Go drink n mabuk-mabuk session on friday n satarday night lor...... :cheers:

Your PoNdaN...??
:laugh:

Of course it helps to have a torque wrench for tighnening nuts. But then a regular cross wheel socket would be well too. Anyway why is everyone being so phobia about wheel nuts torque level? If u are rebuilding an engine yes it is almost compulsory to use one. But wheels?

Does anyone know the wheel can still work well with only 2 nuts on?
Does anyone know modern cars can still be driven with only 3 wheels?! (Modern car chassis are much much more rigid than 80-early 90s' models.)
Does anyone know over tightening nuts could damage wheels and the bolts? (Why would we need Mr Universe to tighten wheel nuts?)

A 100 buck torque wrench?!! Woi! Are you kidding me? Those things suck (My mechanic ran through 3 of them last year). The one i was eyeing from Germany (Forgot the brand) cost way above RM500!

You look at guys drifting and see how they change the wheels after a few sessions. Do they use torque wrench? Do they use air guns? NO! they keep the wheel balanced only! Which is much more important than nuts holding them!

C'mon don't phobia yourselves with such things. But i would phobia over a set of expensive wheels being stolen.
I've always wanted to have the torque wrench because i wanna DIY change spark plug but pomens always scare me by saying that too much will crack the head and too little..easy to dislodge...scared edy :adore:

I bring up this pos is because I notice wheel nut tighten by airgun is slowly damage on my rim.
That why, now plan to hand tigh instead of air gun.
some shops are very careful wif their guns...some otais i've seen just press the gun until the nut nicely....but some langsi mechanics like to press the gun until its sooo smoooth...stupid :thefinger:

i always use hand to tighten, no airgun...if that fella insist to use airgun, i will do it myself and use the wrench.

but if u wanna go extreme like autoX, drag races or sic, always use air gun.

With air powered socket, its only faster. BTW some shops have fixed torque type. And some uses the more expensive adjustable torque ones. There is this lever to adjust the torque on the gun.

Doesn't mean that we tighten the nuts using a t bar would make it any safer.

A torque wrench is useful for applications that require balanced securing bolts and nuts.

What!!! U buy a troque wrench just for spark plugs? hahaha. Its a waste man. Have u ever put in a spark plug and then take it out back again. Compare the loose washer on the body of the spark plug thread section. A new one is slightly thicker. Once used its compressed and expands. Also look at most NGK packaging there is a simple guide on the installation hand torque strength used. The magic is the washer used. Look porperly, then u will understand why. It concerns heat too.

Look i'm not being a smarty pants. But if u invest in a torque wrench, its best only for engine rebuilds or some machinery u could use it on. Its really overkill to use the wrench for every nuts and bolts on your car. Whats more, i don't think anyone in a sane piece of mind would read through the service manual and adhere to every technicality there.

My mech always say not to use airgun as it will over tighten the nuts and use hand tighten will get to max 80-90Nm only la. try with the torque wrench. unless u use all the hand + body weight at the end of the torque wrench u will get 100 - 140Nm. For spark plug after hand tight. use 3 finger at the end of the wrench and pull it toward your body the torque is enough to lock the spark plug.

Wait, 100++ only for Torque Wrench? So cheap meh?
My engineer said it cost about 800... Don't know what brand...

What!!! U buy a troque wrench just for spark plugs? hahaha. Its a waste man. Have u ever put in a spark plug and then take it out back again. Compare the loose washer on the body of the spark plug thread section. A new one is slightly thicker. Once used its compressed and expands. Also look at most NGK packaging there is a simple guide on the installation hand torque strength used. The magic is the washer used. Look porperly, then u will understand why. It concerns heat too.
For spark plug after hand tight. use 3 finger at the end of the wrench and pull it toward your body the torque is enough to lock the spark plug.
I didn't buy yet la taiko :adore: ...just scared la when ppl says thing like that...

The NGK packaging? the one that have sez twist by hand first than use wrench and twist 1/2 or 3/4 further rotation izzit? might as well try it when change plugs...thanks :biggrin:

papagoines, its not to say cannot buy. But later u spend lets say RM500 or more on 1 and then u only find limited use for it. Probably u have to sell it cheap to some fella who wants it. hahaha. The RM500 could probably be better used for better engine oil. But then its your money. heheh

Anyway i found out why some say the air gun damaged the wheels. After i see properly a few times the wheels being mounted. Its actually the socket that damaged the sides. It could be the socket attachment is loose and scrapes the wheel paint. Is that considered as physical damage?

Also probably the vibration might cause the wheel to crack. But this is just theory, as the wheel is subjected to even more vibration during driving. Much more if anyone using low profile tires.

papagoines, its not to say cannot buy. But later u spend lets say RM500 or more on 1 and then u only find limited use for it. Probably u have to sell it cheap to some fella who wants it. hahaha. The RM500 could probably be better used for better engine oil. But then its your money. heheh

Anyway i found out why some say the air gun damaged the wheels. After i see properly a few times the wheels being mounted. Its actually the socket that damaged the sides. It could be the socket attachment is loose and scrapes the wheel paint. Is that considered as physical damage?

Also probably the vibration might cause the wheel to crack. But this is just theory, as the wheel is subjected to even more vibration during driving. Much more if anyone using low profile tires.
Hahaha...well said...

After the feedback from you and and musang...i think buying a torque wrench is too much...maybe if i wanna built engines...:hmmmm: will consider

about the airgun, i think its depends on the wheel itself, sometime when the paint started to chip, you can see the surface of the wheel where the paint used to be will oso badly damage if we are talking about cheap taiwan knockoffs... well, at least one of the otais tell me la..the "bengkel pokok cherry" type of otais la :biggrin: