1JZ-GTE or RB20/25?? which one wei?!

um ok any more details u can offer me about that?

1stly, is it more powderfoo than the 1jz? 2ndly and i suppose more importantly is it cheaper and easier 2 find than the 1jz?

3rdly where on earth is this engine from? and how well does it fit in old cheapo toyota cars man? how cum never hrd of anyone droppin dis one in eh? but 4.0 v8 sounds hot dude! i'm sure my petrol bills' gonna be hotter 2.

do offer me more details about that k? tq

hi again, i think i forgot 2 neglect 2 mention that i've moved back 2 my hometown of KK sabah already =) have been here a few months edi... but anyways 2day i think God was very kind 2 me hehe! last nite my fren crashed his corona 1jz (manual) and his engine's quite fuct but the manual tranny's still good as they took it apart this morning *fukkin evil laugh!!* :dancing: :dancing: :dancing:

he's gonna donate the manual gearbox (5-spd) 2 me :biggrin: so 2day i got up early and i purchased this at a fren's yard:

DSC00004800x600.jpg

after much nego and greasing i got it for RM5k (and belanja massive beers)... i hope that's not so expensive for this engine. apparently my fren sez it's quite new from a toyota crown, but he oso sed it's not very good 2 mod but it's ok cos they sed they can shove the manual gearbox in and i don't really plan 2 mod much... so now i just need 2 go out n look for a cheapo car. if all goes well and i get a car soon work'll start imediately after cny.

thanks 2 blackie and khoyos i learnt much from u fellas.

oh ya jus wan2ask is RM7k (it's negotiable) expensive for a fully complete auto 2JZ-GTE halfcut? i saw the halfcut today it's a very nice silver toyota aristo... very clean and nice condition with everything complete - twin turbo, big front mount i/c wiring ecu air-con bla bla bla etc etc...

i know it's auto but i'm just wondering is wat i saw 2day the same as the fuckin' legendary supra 2jz-gte big daddy engine? if it's da same and i can nego price more i'll return my 1JZ VVTi and get the 2jz instead and slowly source a manual tranny. this mite sound idiotic but can 1JZ manual g/b be used on an auto 2JZ? cos actually the 1JZ is costing me quite a bomb so if alang alang add a bit more i prefer 2 get the 2JZ lump cos it's nice 4 drift plenty of torque ma.

pls advise toyota sifus. thx!

oh ya jus wan2ask is RM7k (it's negotiable) expensive for a fully complete auto 2JZ-GTE halfcut? i saw the halfcut today it's a very nice silver toyota aristo... very clean and nice condition with everything complete - twin turbo, big front mount i/c wiring ecu air-con bla bla bla etc etc...

i know it's auto but i'm just wondering is wat i saw 2day the same as the fuckin' legendary supra 2jz-gte big daddy engine? if it's da same and i can nego price more i'll return my 1JZ VVTi and get the 2jz instead and slowly source a manual tranny. this mite sound idiotic but can 1JZ manual g/b be used on an auto 2JZ? cos actually the 1JZ is costing me quite a bomb so if alang alang add a bit more i prefer 2 get the 2JZ lump cos it's nice 4 drift plenty of torque ma.

pls advise toyota sifus. thx!

i dont want to mention who , but he bought 2jz auto halfcut for only 3k :D
he will step in one of these days n comment here

Vex: there are 2 models of aristo, mk1 JZS147 (non-vvti) and mk2 JZS161 (with vvti).

if JZS147, rm7k is a bit overpriced, cos if the only extra is front mount intercooler, u can purchase that separately, and have stainless steel intercooler piping done.

wei the discussion got really interesting when some one said aristo......that car is a dream to ride in........anyway back to the topic....since most people prefer to use the toyota engine 1jzgte and 2jzgte....in my opinion is very good...and powerful engine if moded properly but.....i still think it is economically better to use the rb20det and not the rb25det..... for your project because.....you can easily get the results you want for a lower cost...if you have a budget to consider.....it also depends on wat u plan to do with the project car.....maybe,drifting,illegal racing,drag or track racing.....rb20det are stout engines...even though the have a less wow factor when compared to the 1jzgte,2jzgte or rb25det or rb26det...but the rb20det can perform if you push it and you wont be worried if it pops cause a replacement is cheap and easy to source......

thx for ur tips guys.

khoyos, ya i thot so 2. think i'll jus go wit wat i already have la. i think the 2JZ i saw today no vvti... but i saw 2 turbos tho :burnout: ahaha! so what's the proper price of the 2JZ-GTE auto then eh bro?

jeff, ya wei aristo's a nice car. my fren has one recon model from japan 2JZ-GTE powered. but he went more for lowrider style with big rims sound system etc etc. yes bro i really did consider RB20/25 and i know 4 sure they can perform wan especially after mods, but that's da problem, don't wanna mod 2 much. i've alredy purchased my 1JZ-GTE VVTi and now i have a 1JZ manual gearbox donated courtesy of my fren so i think i'll jus go wif tat lor. main purpose 4 this car's basically for daily drive car get from A to B. but i thank u 4 ur advice. reason i'm gettin the 1JZ is cos it seems 2 perform better in STOCK condition compared 2 the RBs. (not talking about RB26DETT ah!). i only plan 2 mount bigger i/c, wastegate, blow-off, other small small shit. i plan 2 spend more on the handling actually (watever car it is that i get) with nice suspension, big rims n super wide tires n shit etc...

all i've left 2 do now's find the smallest lightest car this shit will fit in and move. do u guys think the toyota corona TT141 is an ok choice? i think it's quite nice looking 4 a budget project car, cos it's pretty cheap also la. i plan 2 lighten the car as well with only 1 seat, remove all panels n stuff,

thx for ur tips guys.

khoyos, ya i thot so 2. think i'll jus go wit wat i already have la. i think the 2JZ i saw today no vvti... but i saw 2 turbos tho :burnout: ahaha! so what's the proper price of the 2JZ-GTE auto then eh bro?

jeff, ya wei aristo's a nice car. my fren has one recon model from japan 2JZ-GTE powered. but he went more for lowrider style with big rims sound system etc etc. yes bro i really did consider RB20/25 and i know 4 sure they can perform wan especially after mods, but that's da problem, don't wanna mod 2 much. i've alredy purchased my 1JZ-GTE VVTi and now i have a 1JZ manual gearbox donated courtesy of my fren so i think i'll jus go wif tat lor. main purpose 4 this car's basically for daily drive car get from A to B. but i thank u 4 ur advice. reason i'm gettin the 1JZ is cos it seems 2 perform better in STOCK condition compared 2 the RBs. (not talking about RB26DETT ah!). i only plan 2 mount bigger i/c, wastegate, blow-off, other small small shit. i plan 2 spend more on the handling actually (watever car it is that i get) with nice suspension, big rims n super wide tires n shit etc...

all i've left 2 do now's find the smallest lightest car this shit will fit in and move. do u guys think the toyota corona TT141 is an ok choice? i think it's quite nice looking 4 a budget project car, cos it's pretty cheap also la. i plan 2 lighten the car as well with only 1 seat, remove all panels n stuff,
ok if you using to get to point a to b it will be wiser to use the toyota engine...if you need more info on the technical aspect of the car and engine you can go to drift.com.my in the technical thread....
btw get the toyota mark2 teksi.....

jeff: so toyota engines are only good for 'getting from point a to point b' eh?

vex: check dis out... but it's with 1G though

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2170546

huh the supra enjine looks tidy into the corona.. bro isit possible to put the supra enjine into SEG?? hehe..

jeffblazed: uhh yea when i mentioned getting from point a to b, i tend 2 wake up late for work or functions so i need a car that'll get me there quickly, ahaha! i've always been a nissan man and fan, but truly only when i came back 2 my hometown do i see the power of the toyota JZ engines wei, mainly cos over here in sabah when it comes 2 the 6cyl turbo engines, the sabahan mod crowd is almost all about toyota. many top mechs here favor toyota 2. as u know off-roading is very popular here so i have many frens that dump 1JZ/2JZ into their 4x4 hilux, storm, or land cruiser etc and start whacking the countryside. off-roading is extremely punishing 2 not just the car, but 2 the engine itself as well but all my frens say it has never given way. a true testament 2 the JZ strength. u can find the RB-powered rides (apart from the skylines i mean) 4 sure running around, but very few, mostly all toyota 6cyl engines. but m2 taxi a bit big i'd like something smaller. one of our champion street draggers in KK is driving a crappy old RX7 which is falling 2 pieces, it's powered by a 1JZ-GTE :biggrin: tq for ur info bro it's helpful. even my fren's 1980 200sx (i think it's datsun wei, not even nissan yet) is powered by 1JZ-GTE.. u know da car tat looks a bit like tau fu che bat lok (AE86).. crazy rite?

blackie: nice wei the TT141, but i don't think it's 4 sale ahaha! i think i'll go find some old man willing 2 sell his old junk 2 me rather than someone else's nice TT141 only 2 take it 2 pieces. my fren's mech got one TT141 for sale RM2K only engine kong edi but only problem no engine bonnet and no driver door, and no rear left passenger door. i don't really mind driving without engine bonnet but i'd rather have the doors tho! do halfcuts normally sell doors btw? hehe if they do then i'll probably take that car - road tax still hidup also! HUUHH!

huh the supra enjine looks tidy into the corona.. bro isit possible to put the supra enjine into SEG?? hehe..

the answer is YES bro, it will fit! my cousin got one corolla SEG here in KK (sold last week) powered by modded 1JZ-GTE, super duper duper tight fit and with a LOT of work (and money hehe), got the engine in and running, AND fully converted the car 2 rear wheel drive (FR), runs 350 RWHP and smokes evo 8s on a daily basis. i try get and upload the pics 4 u ok.

so if ur going for 1G-GTE, should be no prob putting that one in. my fren sed the gearbox mounting was the tricky part as well as customising long-shafts wheelbase etc etc. but it's do-able wei. if sabah mechs can do, KL mechs a walk in the park wei!!

vexred: wow that can be bro!!maybe will try to put supra enjin on my next prject.. hehe..

waiting for the pics bro.. hehe..

cyborg: still trying 2 get the pics bro cos the car's sold edi hehe and my fren don't have pics of the engine bay etc... the tricky part wasn't so much getting the engine 2 fit, it was conversion 2 RWD (FR).. tat part's a bitch 2 do la.

khoyos: ahaha yea bro somethin' like tat hehe! at least faster so i don't get screwed up 4 arriving work/functions late man. oil pump problems? u mean nissan RBs commonly got oil-pump problems is it? why's that eh? but yea got all the parts edi just lookin for a nice car 2 dump it all in and fukkin' step on that bitch! :biggrin:

corolla with 1JZ GTE front wheel drive.
1st gear sure the tyre spin for minutes.................
last time saw a corrola with 3sgte running FWD. the owner make the tyre spins for 1 min. hehe...........

corolla with 1JZ GTE front wheel drive.
1st gear sure the tyre spin for minutes.................
last time saw a corrola with 3sgte running FWD. the owner make the tyre spins for 1 min. hehe...........
i believe u need to own a tyre shop b4 upgrade to this monster engine. haha.........

I ve mercedes benz w126 1985 converted to 1 JZ GTE twin turbo from toyota mark II JZX90. Its very-very AWESOME!!! very powerful... i can smoke everythings on the road !!! I can reach 250 km/h !! when i push the overdrive button, it like a bullet projection or having a nos in ur car...

fuel consumption?? Its cheaper than my former MB 280 se engines... testimonial... from shah alam to bukit kayu hitam ( fill up almost full about 55 litres).. i can reach up to gurun, before fill up again there. My speed was average >140-250km. From s alam to kemaman only 2 hours.. not even finish 1 full tank of 65 litres.

the only thing that i ve to upgrade now are the tyre from 16' V spec to at least 17' ZR/ W spec.. to supprt up to 270 km/h. I ve change my tyre once becoz of tyre deformed dt broken inner wire of the tyre dt overspeed ( V tyre support up to 240 km/h)

I highly recommend u 1 JZ GTE and for w 126 MB from the mark II jzx 90 becoz of the silmilar position of the front oil sump. Auto trans is more than enough unless u wanna go for drift.

Frankly, converting a conti car to jap engine is great but to some, u lose the heritage. Jap engine works wonders when it comes to pumping out big horses to propel yr car from knot to 60 but..... like i say, u lose the conti feel. I recently upgraded my E34 to 4 liter V8 but, to be frank, i think any E34 with 1JZ can come smoke me anytime.. :( at least i retained the conti feel.. bwahahhaa (sore loser kinda statement)